Hoose Library of Philosophy: History, Collections, Art & Architecture and Digital Humanities Projects and Resources: MEDIEVAL MANUSCRIPTS AT USC

Illuminated manuscripts are those that contain extra decoration, such as use of color, borders, pictures, etc.

Click the link below to access the Medieval Studies Research Guide, a comprehensive compilation of information on digital resources provided by USC. The guide was created by Danielle Mihram and Melissa Miller and contains subjects such as an alphabetical listing of incunabula found at USC, published catalogs on manuscripts, medieval atlases and maps, and much more. 

https://libguides.usc.edu/MedRenMSSandRareMatStudies

The USC-Huntington Early Modern Studies Institute focuses on the time period between 1450 and 1850. They strive to "provide a suitable setting for nourishing intellectual achievement, advancing interdisciplinary research, and sharing path-breaking discoveries".

USC Libraries' collection of Illuminated Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts, Incunabula, and Rare books is housed in Doheny Memorial Library in the Special Collections Department. The collection contains 16 medieval manuscripts that are illuminated and 12 other European medieval manuscripts. 

To explore this digital project, click the link in the box to the right side of this page.

This ongoing digital project was created by USC Faculty Librarians Danielle Mihram and Melissa Miller. The project showcases these manuscripts in a digital format so as to make them more widely accessible for use in research using Scalar technology, a free, open source authoring and publishing platform designed for long-form born-digital scholarship.

Click the link below to view a PDF containing a comprehensive listing of the medieval manuscripts at USC Libraries, compiled by Danielle Mihram and Melissa Miller.

This list also includes antiphonaries, breviaries, and psalters. 

For a wealth of resources on illuminated medieval manuscript digital collections, see the list below:

Victoria and Albert Museum

Minneapolis Institute of Art

British Library

Johns Hopkins University

University of Chicago

Beinecke Library Digital Collection, Yale University

J. Paul Getty Museum Digitized Manuscripts

Click the link below to access the USC Illuminated Medieval Manuscripts Digital Collection:

https://scalar.usc.edu/works/usc-illuminated-medieval-manuscripts/index

The USC Center for the Premodern World studies civilizations and cultures from all historical time periods and offers resources, lectures, and seminars providing vital scholarly research. In the future, the Center for the Premodern World plans to collaborate with Doheny Memorial Library's Special Collections department to provide access to early printed books and medieval manuscripts, as well as conduct other "major initiatives in the digital humanities" realm.