Research Guides: Lifespan Development: Databases & Journals

Databases

ERIC (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
The ERIC database is an initiative of the U.S. Department of Education covering journal articles and reports including published and unpublished sources on education with some documents being full-text.
Over 600 journals and other materials are indexed. Allows searching in 3 FirstSearch databases simultaneously. Coverage: 1966 to present
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Child Development & Adolescent Studies includes all issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927 to 2001, previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, and new coverage on child rights and welfare issues. It includes more than 417,000 records with over 18,000 new records added each year.

AGELINE This link opens in a new window
Content focus on social gerontology, which is the study of aging in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts. Includes abstracts of over 200 academic journals, books, book chapters, and dissertations from 1978 to present.

Alexander Street Press Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts Volume I This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a searchable collection containing real transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. The database contains more than 2,000 session transcripts, 44,000 pages of client narratives, and 25,000 pages of secondary reference material
Alexander Street Press Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts Volume II This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume II provides a deep look into the client-therapist office featuring a diverse set of clients, a wide range of issues, and multiple therapeutic approaches.
Alexander Street Press Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Therapy in Video provides a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. .
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Family Studies Database is the world's most comprehensive, systematic, and non-evaluative resource of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, and Human Development. FSD, including FAMILY, provides over 198,000 abstracts and bibliographic records drawn from over a thousand professional journals, books, popular literature, conference papers, government reports, and other sources, many of which are indexed exclusively in FSD. About 9,000 abstracts are added each year.
Access to the database is limited to 5 concurrent users
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Access to MEDLINE database through Ovid. Citations to articles related to clinical and research information in the bio-medical sciences. Coverage ranges from 1946-present.
Oxford Clinical Psychology This link opens in a new window
Oxford Clinical Psychology provides full-text access to over 200 titles in Oxford's global clinical psychology publishing program in an integrated online service covering a broad range of specialty areas, disorders, and treatment modalities.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
USC provides access to Business and Management, Classics, Economics and Finance, History, Linguistics, Music, Political Science and Psychology collections.
ProQuest Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO.
Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycArticles is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
The database includes all material from the print journals. Most of the 72 APA journals included in PsycArticles now go back to volume 1, issue 1. The earliest journal is Psychological Review, which was started in 1894. The database also contains journals that are no longer published. Articles published from 1985 forward are in both PDF and HTML format.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
This collection gives access to: DSM Library (including the DSM 5), self-assessment tools, news, and consumer health information.
A wealth of psychiatric information. Home of the texts, journals, DSM volumes, and DSM cases.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
This collection gives access to: DSM Library (including the DSM 5), self-assessment tools, news, and consumer health information.
A wealth of psychiatric information. Home of the texts, journals, DSM volumes, and DSM cases.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
The Psychotherapy.net streaming video collection provides access to training videos in the field of counseling, psychotherapy, psychology, and addiction.
The majority of the videos show therapists actually conducting therapy and demonstrating clinical skills, along with pre- and post-session discussion. Transcripts of all videos are included and the ability to make clips is available. Most videos come with a downloadable instructorâs manual.
SAGE Knowledge Video - Counseling & Psychotherapy This link opens in a new window
This collection of over 130 hours of video draws upon a vast network of SAGE’s authors and editors. It includes many tutorials, interviews, and demonstrations, along with many more films addressing practitioner issues.
SAGE Knowledge Video - Psychology This link opens in a new window
This collection features 134 hours across 426 videos.
Whole Brain Atlas This link opens in a new window
Good resource for CNS imaging combining clinical data with MR, CT, and nuclear medicine images.
Includes information on the normal brain as well as cerebrovascular, neoplastic, degenerative, inflammatory, and infectious diseases.

Journals

Sampling of journal subscriptions available through USC Libraries

Human Development
Early human development
Journal of human development
International journal of aging and human development
Attachment & human development
Research in human development
Developmental psychology
Journal of applied developmental psychology
Advances in applied developmental psychology
Essentials of developmental psychology
The British journal of developmental psychology
Journal of educational and developmental psychology
Current psychology
Growth, development, and aging
Adult development and aging abstracts
Neuropsychology, development, and cognition
Growth
Mechanisms of ageing and development
Aging, neuropsychology, and cognition
Child development
Advances in child development and behavior
New directions for child development
Infant and child development
Review of child development research
Child psychiatry and human development
Early child development and care: ECDC