Childhood
Advances in Child Development and Behavior by
Volume 48 of Advances in Child Development and Behavior includes chapters that highlight some the most recent research in the field of developmental psychology. Each chapter provides in-depth discussions, and this volume serves as an invaluable resource for developmental or educational psychology researchers, scholars, and students.
ISBN: 9780128021781Publication Date: 2015-03-04
The African American Child by
Praise for the First Edition: This book argues convincingly that children's cultural differences need to be recognized for any accurate understanding of their development. Pointing out the need for additional and more effectively designed research, Harris and Graham provide a valuable foundation for further investigations. This nonpolemic book should be in all libraries, filling an unfortunate gap. Highly recommended. --Choice This is an evenhanded examination of the challenges affecting the lives of African American children that emphasizes their strengths and resiliency rather than deficits. It is the only text to comprehensively consider the biological, emotional, social, and cultural domains of development in this population. The second edition reflects an acceleration of research on the development of racial identity in African American children, a shift from the dictates of "No Child Left Behind" to a more flexible approach to student academic evaluation, and changes in the economic conditions of African American children and their families. The book also reflects the increase in the number of African American children in foster care and those with incarcerated parents. New coverage also includes new information about the mental health of African Americans, and a new chapter on adolescent development. This new edition features updated statistical information on health problems, healthcare access, new diagnostic techniques, new treatment approaches, and the number of children of African origin. It provides an expanded discussion of the value of qualitative methodology, ethical issues in research, and a discussion of the characteristics of middle and upper class African American families. End-of-chapter discussion questions, an "Insider's Voice" in each chapter that highlights important elements, and an "Issues Box" that highlights historic and legal issues also enhance the second edition. New to the Second Edition: New inclusion of information on African American adolescents A discussion of the impact of parental incarceration on the long- and short-term outcomes of African American children Updated statistical information on health, academic performance, language and literacy, and other issues Information about children of African origin and their families Information about middle and upper class African American families Expanded discussion of the value of qualitative methodology and ethical issues in research on African American children New diagnostic techniques and treatment approaches for sickle cell anemia Update on work with AA families and children in therapy and the role of community focused therapy A discussion of the role of self-efficacy on academic competence, the influence of NCLB on academic performance, and current initiatives to improve academic outcomes for African American children The current status of Oakland School Board's Ebonics Resolution New information on Prosocial Behavior and Empathy and Aggressive/Antisocial behavior among African American children Expanded section on how communities affect the lives of African American children including research on African American children and the media End-of-chapter discussion questions Insider's Voice" and "Issues Box" features in each chapter
ISBN: 9780826110190Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Child and Adolescent Psychopathology by
A concise guide to the fundamentals of child psychopathology,complete with the latest developments Essentials of Child and Adolescent Psychopathology, SecondEdition provides a concise, accessible overview of the majortheories, assessment practices, and key issues. This updatedSecond Edition describes the significant changes in the wayDSM(tm)-5 conceptualizes disorders in children and adolescents,and includes a new chapter on child abuse, child maltreatment, andself-injurious behavior. Using practical case examples toillustrate key points, the book addresses specific disorders andproblems prevalent among this age group--including anxiety,mood disorders, and traumatic stress. Each chapter featuresreader-friendly elements like Rapid Reference, Caution, and Don'tForget boxes that call out important information, facilitating easylook-up and quick navigation. This invaluable resource fills the need for an overview of themost current issues and changes in the field, allowing readersto: Review the development, theories, and influences in child andadolescent psychopathology Understand neurodevelopmental disorders including intellectualand developmental disabilities, ADHD, and specific learningdisabilities or disorders Compare and contrast the manifestations of internalized vs.externalized disorders Examine later-onset disorders and special topics includingeating disorders, substance abuse, and trauma-relateddisorders The book also includes appendices on ethical conduct, assessmentinstruments, and IDEA 2004, providing readers the guidance andtools that can help increase positive outcomes. Whether used as asecondary text or as a professional reference, Essentials ofChild and Adolescent Psychopathology, Second Edition providesan authoritative briefing on this evolving area of practice.
ISBN: 9781118840191Publication Date: 2014-12-22
Children's Moral Lives by
Children's Moral Lives makes use of case studies,observation, interviews and questionnaires to offer a fascinating,behind-the-scenes view of children's school lives and thecomplex moral issues and disputes they routinely negotiate The first ethnography of childhood to focus on children'smorality in the peer group Case studies shed light on the psychological, social andcultural processes by which children and adults reach starklydifferent moral judgments of the same situations Combines qualitative insights and quantitative data intorecommendations for practice
ISBN: 9781118326176Publication Date: 2013-06-27
Exploring Emotions by
This practical book from Ros Bayley is designed to enable every practitioner to help children manage their emotions. This title looks at the whole range of emotions that children feel and enable any practitioner to help children recognise these ...
ISBN: 9781909101098Publication Date: 2012-07-30
Friendships in Childhood and Adolescence by
Highly readable and comprehensive, this volume explores the significance of friendship for social, emotional, and cognitive development from early childhood through adolescence. The authors trace how friendships change as children age and what specific functions these relationships play in promoting adjustment and well-being. Compelling topics include the effects of individual differences on friendship quality, how friendship quality can be assessed, and ways in which certain friendships may promote negative outcomes. Examining what clinicians, educators, and parents can do to help children who struggle with making friends, the book reviews available interventions and identifies important directions for future work in the field.
ISBN: 9781609186463Publication Date: 2011-08-01
A Girl's Childhood by
A uniquely detailed study of child development theory and practice in the post-World War II era Sixty years ago, a group of prominent psychoanalysts, developmentalists, pediatricians, and educators at the Yale Child Study Center joined together with the purpose of formulating a general psychoanalytic theory of children's early development. The group's members composed detailed narratives about their work with the study's children, interviewed families regularly and visited them in their homes, and over the course of a decade met monthly for discussion. The contributors to this volume consider the significance of the Child Study Center's landmark study from various perspectives, focusing particularly on one child's unfolding sense of herself, her gender, and her relationships.
ISBN: 9780300117592Publication Date: 2014-10-28
Great Myths of Child Development by
Great Myths of Child Development reveals the latestevidence-based science behind the myths and misconceptions aboutthe developing child. Shatters the most commonly-held child development myths Reveals the science behind such topical issues astwin-telepathy, sex-prediction, and imaginary friends Covers hot-button issues like childhood vaccines, spankings,"time-outs," and breastfeeding of older children Features numerous pop culture references and examples drawnfrom popular TV shows and movies, such as Duck Dynasty,Modern Family and Mad Men Points to a wealth of supplementary resources for interestedparents--from evidence-based treatments and self-help books torelevant websites
ISBN: 9781118521229Publication Date: 2015-02-23
Helping Children Form Healthy Attachments by
Safety, feeling at home, trust, self-confidence, creativity, and comfort in exploring the world, are things all children should have. From an early age, children form attachments that become the foundation of their future relationships. Strong bonds with their world (parents, educators, plants and animals) can only begin with a healthy attachment to themselves. With practical tips and real-life examples from an experienced educator, this insightful book explores how the process of healthy attachment develops in young children (until 6 years old), what conditions are needed for becoming well bonded and how caregivers and educators can help in this important process.
ISBN: 9781782503729Publication Date: 2017-06-15
Inclusion, Play and Empathy by
Contributions from early childhood educators, teachers, psychologists, music therapists, occupational therapists, and psychotherapists highlight the crucial role that early relationships and interactions in group settings play in the development of children's personal, emotional and social skills. The book features the latest research and methods for successfully encouraging the development of these skills in groups of children aged 4-12. It explores how play within children's groups can be facilitated in order to foster emotional and empathic capacities, how to overcome common challenges to inclusion in schools and introduces practical, creative approaches to cultivating a sense of unity and team spirit in children's groups.
ISBN: 9781785920066Publication Date: 2016-09-21
Judgement and Reasoning in the Child by
Over a period of six decades, Jean Piaget conducted a program of naturalistic research that has profoundly affected our understanding of child development.
ISBN: 9780415210034Publication Date: 1999-07-31
Play, Dreams and Imitation in Childhood by
First published in 1999. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
ISBN: 9780415210058Publication Date: 1999-07-31
Theorising Play in the Early Years by
Theorising Play in the Early Years is a theoretical and empirical exploration of the concept of pedagogy and play in early childhood education. The book provides an in-depth examination of classical and contemporary theories of play, with a focus on post-developmental perspectives and Vygotskian theory. In this book, Marilyn Fleer draws on a range of cross-cultural research in order to challenge Western perspectives and to move beyond a universal view of the construct of play. Culture and context are central to the understanding of how play is valued, expressed and used as a pedagogical approach in early childhood education across the international community. Designed as a companion to the textbook Play in the Early Years, but also useful on its own, Theorising Play in the Early Years provides indispensible support to academics and TAFE lecturers in early childhood education in their course development and research.
ISBN: 9781107032293Publication Date: 2013-10-04
Young Child Observation by
Observing young children at play is an everyday and often fascinating and pleasurable experience for many of us. It also has a great pedigree in the development of psychoanalysis from Freud's observation of his grandson's game with the cotton-reel onwards. This book describes the practice of observing young children in home and nursery settings in a systematic and non-intrusive way in order to expand our understanding of their emotional, cognitive, and social development. It uses a psychoanalytic lens to enrich the meaning of what is seen. How do minds and personalities take shape? How can we train people to see what is most relevant in helping children to develop? The chapters range from classic papers by famous practitioners of an older generation to observations completed in recent years in the UK, Europe, and the US. Observation of this sort has also spread to Latin America, India, Australia, Africa, and the Far East. The differences and continuities with Infant Observation are the starting point.
ISBN: 9781782200604Publication Date: 2013-09-25
Adolescence
Adolescence and Beyond by
While the period of transition from adolescence to adulthood has become a recent focus for developmental psychologists and child mental health practitioners, the full role of the family during this period is only beginning to be explored. Many compelling questions, of interest to anyoneinvolved in adolescence research, remain unanswered. To what extent do family experiences influence the way one navigates through emerging adulthood? How do we begin to understand the interplay between adolescents' contexts and their development and well-being? Adolescence and Beyond: Family Processes and Development offers an accessible synthesis of research, theories, and perspectives on the family processes that contribute to development. Chapters from expert researchers cover a wide variety of topics surrounding the link between family processes andindividual development, including adolescent romantic relationships, emotion regulation, resilience in contexts of risk, and socio-cultural and ethnic influences on development. Drawing on diverse research and methodological approaches that include direct family observations, interviews, andnarrative analyses, this volume presents cutting-edge conceptual and empirical work on the key developmental tasks and challenges in the transition between adolescence and adulthood. Researchers, practitioners, and students in social, developmental, and clinical psychology--as well as those insocial work, psychiatry, and pediatrics--will find this book an invaluable summary of important research on the link between family process and individual development.
Call Number: Leavey Library Course Reserves BF724.A253 2012ISBN: 9780199736546Publication Date: 2012-01-04
Adolescent Development and School Achievement in Urban Communities by
This timely volumeexplores essential themes, issues, and challenges related to adolescents' lives and learning in underserviced urban areas. Distinguished scholars provide theoretically grounded, multidisciplinary perspectives on contexts and forces that influence adolescent development and achievement. The emphasis is on what is positive and effective, what can make a real difference in the lives and life chances for urban youths, rather than deficits and negative dysfunction. Going beyond solely traditional psychological theories, a strong conceptual framework addressing four domains for understanding adolescent development undergirds the volume: developmental continuities from childhood primary changes (biological, cognitive, social) contexts of development adolescent outcomes. A major federal government initiative is the development of programs to support underserviced urban areas. Directly relevant to this initiative, this volumecontributes significantly to gaining a realistic understanding of the contexts and institutions within which urban youths live and learn.
ISBN: 9780415894159Publication Date: 2012-12-19
Adolescent Emotions by
Take an in depth look at how emotions relate toadolescents' decision making, reasoning, and behavior inmorally relevant situations. It provides a summary of currentresearch on emotions, morality, and adaptive behaviors.Furthermore, it discusses new approaches to research on emotions,morality, and socially adaptive behavior in adolescence. By doingso, the articles provide new insights into adolescents'emotional and moral development and show how emotions contribute tothe way adolescents negotiate, resolve, and adapt to the moral andsocial conflicts that inevitably occur in their everyday lives. Byintegrating innovative perspectives from developmental,educational, and clinical research, this volume has much to offerfor researchers, youth practitioners, and educators. This is the 136th volume of New Directions for YouthDevelopment, the Jossey-Bass quarterly report seriesdedicated to bringing together everyone concerned with helpingyoung people, including scholars, practitioners, and people fromdifferent disciplines and professions.
ISBN: 9781118580882Publication Date: 2013-02-11
Geographies of Girlhood by
Geographies of Girlhood: Identities In-Betweenexplores how adolescent girls come to understand themselves as female in this culture, particularly during a time when they are learning what it means to be a woman and their identities are in-between that of child and adult, girl and woman. It illuminates the everyday realities of adolescent girls and the real issues that concern them, rather than what adult researchers think is important to adolescent girls. The contributing authors take seriously what girls have to say about themselves and the places and discursive spaces that they inhabit daily. Rather than focusing on girls in the classroom, the book explores adolescent female identity in a myriad of kid-defined spaces both in-between the formal design of schooling, as well as outside its purview--from bedrooms to school hallways to the Internet to discourses of cheerleading, race, sexuality, and ablebodiness. These are the geographies of girlhood, the important sites of identity construction for girls and young women. This book is situated within the fledgling field of Girls Studies. All chapters are based on field research with adolescent girls and young women; hence, the voices of girls themselves are primary in every chapter. All of the authors in the text use the notion of liminality to theorize the in-between spaces and places of schools that are central to how adolescent girls construct a sense of self. The focus of the book on the fluidity of femininity highlights the importance of race, class, sexual orientation, and other salient features of personal identity in discussions of how girls construct gendered identities in different ways. Geographies of Girlhood: Identities In-Betweenchallenges scholars, professionals, and students concerned with gender issues to take seriously the everyday concerns of adolescent girls. It is recommended as a text for education, sociology, and women's studies courses that address these issues.
ISBN: 9780805846737Publication Date: 2005-02-01
Handbook of Adolescent Development Research and Its Impact on Global Policy by
Of the 1.2 billion adolescents in the world today, 90% live in low- and middle-income countries. These adolescents face many challenges in their lives. Enrollment in secondary schools is still low in many parts of the world, with illiteracy rates approaching 30% in the least developedcountries. Further, adolescents not in school are more vulnerable to trafficking, recruitment into armed conflict, and child labor. Many adolescent girls marry and begin bearing children at a young age, contributing to the perpetuation of poverty and health problems. Despite these many challenges, adolescents also represent a resource to be cultivated through educational opportunities and vocational training to move them toward economic independence, through initiatives to improve their reproductive health, and through positive interpersonal relationships tohelp them avoid risky behaviors and make positive decisions about their futures. Edited by Jennifer E. Lansford and Prerna Banati, the Handbook of Adolescent Development Research and its Impact on Global Policy tackles both the challenges and the promise of adolescence by presenting cutting-edge research on social, emotional, behavioral, cognitive, and physical development. Inaddition to providing actionable strategies for policy-makers and practitioners, this volume consciously adopts a positive framing of adolescence, representing young people as opportunities, rather than threats. Throughout the book, readers will find a valuable investment at the individual andsocietal levels as a way to contribute to a positive shift in the public discourse around young people today.
ISBN: 9780190847128Publication Date: 2018-04-02
Reaching Teens by
400+ video clips! Earn up to 65 CME/CEU Credits in medicine, nursing, health education, counseling or social work! This groundbreaking multimedia resource embodies the core belief that identifying, reinforcing, and building on inherent strengths can facilitate positive youth development. Text and video components combine to show how expert-tested, strength-based communication approaches work to engage today's teens. This work synthesizes three foundational frameworks, positive youth development, resilience building, and trauma-informed practices into APPLIED strategies professionals can use with young people. Contritutions from leading practitioners - plus firsthand perspectives from teens - help you refine your communication strategies and skills. Professionals and teens offer hard-won trauma-informed insight on addressing behavioral and emotional issues; crisis management; stress management; sexuality; grief; depression; peer pressure; substance abuse; bullying; youth violence - virtually all the issues you're most likely to encounter. Successful solutions targeting today's foremost youth-development issues Created to benefit all professionals who serve adolescents, Reaching Teens explores and demonstrates communications strategies for diverse healthcare, counseling, youth programming, and educational settings. Reaching Teens is being used throughout the nation by youth serving agencies that use it as a platform to build its skill-sets. It does not add to or replace a program, it enhances staffs' ability to implement all other programs by building our skills as the trusted adults who serve as the foundation of all services. Turn here for actionable advice and counsel spanning the toughest youth communication challenges: How to help teens recognize and build upon their existing strengths How to empower wiser decisions and healthier choices How to foster and build resilience How to work with young people who have endured trauma, toxic stress, or adverse childhood experiences. Three core principles permeate this trauma-informed approach: Knowing "what is about you and what is not about you" as a first step to maintaining empathy even in the face of challenging behaviors Changing your lens from 'What's wrong with you?!?" to "What happened to you?" Giving control back to people from whom control has been taking away. Reaching Teens contains multiple strategies to restoring a sense of control to young people as a first step to them moving towards healthy, wise decisions. How to ally with parents and support effective parenting How to use body language to shift your interactions How to develop and prioritize your interventions How to help with special psychosocial and environmental challenges How to de-escalate crisis situations and lessen shame and stigma How to establish appropriate boundaries How to discourage unhealthy relationships How to serve populations with special healthcare needs How to practice effective self-care that enhances your ability to serve youth . . . and so much more License Reaching Teens for your institution or program! Contact aapsales@aap.org or visit www.aap.org/reachingteens for more information.
ISBN: 9781581107487Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Relationship Pathways by
This book is designed to guide students through the latest developments of theory and research on relationships from adolescence to young adulthood. Unique to this text is a focus on relationship change across middle childhood into adolescence and across late adolescence into early adulthood. Experts on adolescent relationships from across the globe summarize the current state of literature on family and peer relationships, as well as the environmental and genetic factors that influence them. Students will benefit from the comprehensive, rigorous, yet accessible overview of key content; such as what defines the relationship processes, what describes the individual and contextual factors that influence relationships, family relationships, sibling relationships, and parent-child relationships during the transition into adolescence and into young adulthood.
Call Number: Doheny Memorial Library BOOKSTACKS BF724.R393 2012ISBN: 9781412987394Publication Date: 2011-10-04
The Teenage Brain by
Drawing on her research, knowledge, and clinical experience, internationally respected neurologist and mother of two boys Frances E. Jensen, MD, offers a revolutionary look at the adolescent brain, providing remarkable insights that translate into practical advice both for parents and teenagers. Driven by the assumption that brain growth was almost complete by the time a child reached puberty, scientists believed for many years that the adolescent brain was essentially an adult one only with fewer miles on it. Over the last decade, however, neurology and neuroscience have revealed that the teen years encompass vitally important stages of brain development. Motivated by her experience of parenting two teenagers, renowned neurologist Frances E. Jensen, MD, gathers what we've discovered about adolescent brain functioning and wiring, and in this groundbreaking, accessible book, explains how these eye-opening findings not only dispel commonly held myths about teens but also yield practical suggestions for adults and teenagers negotiating the mysterious and magical world of adolescent biology. Interweaving clear summary and analysis of research data with anecdotes drawn from her years as a clinician, researcher, and public speaker, Dr. Jensen explores adolescent brain functioning and development in the context of learning and multitasking, stress and memory, sleep, addiction, and decision making. Examining data connecting substance use to lingering memory issues and, sometimes, a lower adult IQ, The Teenage Brain explains why teenagers are not as resilient to the effects of drugs as we previously thought; reveals how multitasking impacts learning ability and concentration; and examines the consequences of stress on mental health during and beyond adolescence. Rigorous yet accessible, warm yet direct, The Teenage Brain sheds new light on the brains and behaviors of adolescents and young adults, and analyzes this knowledge to share specific ways in which parents, educators, and even the legal system can help them navigate their way more smoothly into adulthood in our ever challenging world.
Call Number: Doheny Memorial Library BOOKSTACKS QP363.5 .J46 2015ISBN: 9780062067845Publication Date: 2015-01-06
Understanding Adolescents for Helping Professionals by
Promotes an in-depth understanding of adolescent development that can be immediately applied to effective treatment Adolescence is a distinct and complex stage of development, and successful interventions with this population require an in-depth understanding of the many forces affecting them. This is a practical, thorough, yet concise survey of adolescent development for early career professionals in psychology, mental health counseling, social work, marriage and family therapy, education, and nursing. Based on in-depth theoretical and empirical understanding of adolescent physical, cognitive, social, and emotional development, the text demonstrates how this knowledge can be applied immediately to treating adolescents in any setting. The only book of its kind, it is a welcome alternative to purely clinical books because its strategic focus is on understanding normal adolescent development and appreciating the crucial difference between adolescent developmental issues versus clinical issues. Comprehending this important difference is an integral aspect of successful interventions with adolescents. The book provides an overview of historical perspectives, major theories and research, and current best practices in the profession. It addresses topics in adolescent development, with a particular emphasis on how physical, cognitive, and socioemotional developments interact in an integrative process. Particularly helpful features include a section in each chapter, "Adolescent Development in the Real World," which highlights interviews with professionals who, in their daily work, apply the concepts discussed in the text. The "In Their Own Words" feature provides interviews with adolescents from various gender and ethnic groups, providing first-person accounts of how specific issues are manifested in life. Other hallmarks of this text include easy-to-understand language, discussion-oriented critical thinking tasks, and suggestions for further reading. Readers will come away with a deep theoretical and empirical understanding of adolescent development, as well as how to apply and implement these concepts in any adolescent or adolescent-related mental health setting. KEY FEATURES: Presents concise yet in-depth coverage of adolescent development with a focus on applying this knowledge in practice Facilitates a deep theoretical and empirical understanding of the key concepts in physical, cognitive, and socioemotional adolescent development Emphasizes the interaction of physical, cognitive, and socioemotional development Includes interviews with professionals who demonstrate how they apply the book's concepts in their work with adolescents Provides first-person accounts from adolescents from different cultural, ethnic, and sexual orientations
ISBN: 9780826125064Publication Date: 2014-10-01
Adulthood
Adult Attachment by
Adult Attachment: A Concise Introduction to Theory and Research is an easy-to-read and highly accessible reference on attachment that deals with many of the key concepts and topics studied within attachment theory. This book is comprised of a series of chapters framed by common questions that are typically asked by novices entering the field of attachment. The content of each chapter focuses on answering this overarching question. Topics on the development of attachment are covered from different levels of analysis, including species, individual, and relationship levels, working models of attachment, attachment functions and hierarchies, attachment stability and change over time and across situations, relationship contexts, the cognitive underpinnings of attachment and its activation of enhancement via priming, the interplay between the attachment behavioral system and other behavioral systems, the effects of context on attachment, the contribution of physiology/neurology and genetics to attachment, the associations/differences between attachment and temperament, the conceptualization and measurement of attachment, and the association between attachment and psychopathology/therapy. TEDx talk: The Power of (Secure) Love by Omri Gillath: https://youtu.be/PgIQv-rTGgA
ISBN: 9780124200203Publication Date: 2016-03-22
Adult Development by
Relationships, especially close relationships, are among the most important aspects of life for most of us. Close relationships reach to the very heart of our happiness - but exactly what processes or skills, over the course of a lifetime, help us learn to relate to one another more and moredeeply, and to grow past the differences and problems that might divide us?Adult Development applies the concept of complex postformal thought in order to explore how certain cognitive processes support individuals' close relationships such that those relationships grow stronger and richer over time. Complex postformal thought allows a person to deal with everyday logicalcontradictions by letting that person understand that "reality" and "meaning" are co-created. In this way, postformal thought enables adults to bridge two contradictory but logical positions and reach an adaptive synthesis of them through a higher-order logic. Taking this inquiry a step further,Sinnott examines the role played by postformal thought in intimate relationships - those between spouses, partners, parents and children, siblings, and close friends. Sinnott argues that postformal thought seems to develop later in life and is somewhat akin to the concept of wisdom. Based on 30 years of research, this book diverges from typical contributions to this field by discussing positive adult development in the context of close relationships. Rather than focusing on the emergence of deficits of adulthood and particularly aging, Sinnott instead explores the cognitiveprocesses that are important in creating and sustaining close ongoing relationships.
Call Number: Doheny Memorial Library BOOKSTACKS HM1106 .S563 2014ISBN: 9780199892815Publication Date: 2014-08-05
Adult Development and Aging by
The fourth edition continues to provide psychologists with a fresh and engaging approach to the field of psychology of adult development and aging. It focuses on three themes: a multidisciplinary approach, positive images of aging, and the newest and most relevant research. Recent articles and updates to the information on demography, economics, and public policy are presented. The Aging in the News feature includes a story of a remarkable achievement by a middle-aged or older adult. The Assess Yourself boxes are also updated with new questions. Psychologists appreciate this mix of examples and discussions that make the material come to life.
Call Number: Doheny Memorial Library BOOKSTACKS HQ1061.W48 2011ISBN: 9780470646977Publication Date: 2010-12-14
The Developing Mind by
This bestselling book put the field of interpersonal neurobiology on the map for many tens of thousands of readers. Daniel J. Siegel goes beyond the nature and nurture divisions that traditionally have constrained much of our thinking about development, exploring the role of interpersonal relationships in forging key connections in the brain. He presents a groundbreaking new way of thinking about the emergence of the human mind and the process by which each of us becomes a feeling, thinking, remembering individual. Illuminating how and why neurobiology matters, this book is essential reading for clinicians, educators, researchers, and students interested in promoting healthy development and resilience. Professors praise the book's utility in courses from developmental psychology and child development to neuroscience and counseling. New to This Edition *Incorporates significant scientific and technical advances. *Expanded discussions of cutting-edge topics, including neuroplasticity, epigenetics, mindfulness, and the neural correlates of consciousness. *Useful pedagogical features: pull-outs, diagrams, and a glossary. *Epilogue on domains of integration--specific pathways to well-being and therapeutic change.
ISBN: 9781462503902Publication Date: 2012-02-27
Emerging Adulthood by
In recent decades, the lives of people in their late teens and twenties have changed so dramatically that a new stage of life has developed. In his provocative work, Jeffrey Jensen Arnett has identified the period of emerging adulthood as distinct from both the adolescence that precedes it andthe young adulthood that comes in its wake. Arnett's new paradigm has received a surge of scholarly attention due to his book that launched the field, Emerging Adulthood.On the 10th Anniversary of the publication of his groundbreaking work, the second edition of Emerging Adulthood fully updates and expands Arnett's findings and includes brand new chapters on media use, social class issues, and the distinctive problems of this life stage. In spite of the challengesthey face, Arnett explains that emerging adults are particularly skilled at maintaining contradictory emotions - they are confident while being wary, and optimistic in the face of large degrees of uncertainty. Merging stories from the lives of emerging adults themselves with decades of research,Arnett covers a wide range of topics, including love and sex, relationships with parents, experiences at college and work, and views of what it means to be an adult. He also refutes many of the negative stereotypes about emerging adults today, finding that they are not "lazy" but remarkablyhard-working in most cases, and not "selfish" but rather concerned with making a contribution to improving the world. As the nature of American youth and the meaning of adulthood further evolve, Emerging Adulthood will continue to be essential reading for understanding the face of modernAmerica.
ISBN: 0199929386Publication Date: 2014-09-25
Flourishing in Emerging Adulthood by
Flourishing in Emerging Adulthood highlights the third decade of life as a time in which individuals have diverse opportunities for positive development. There is mounting evidence that this time period, at least for a significant majority, is a unique developmental period in which positivedevelopment is fostered. Dr. Lene Arnett Jensen highlights the importance of this work in an engaging foreword, and chapters are written by leading scholars in diverse disciplines who address various aspects of flourishing. They discuss multiple aspects of positive development including how youngpeople flourish in key areas of emerging adulthood (e.g., identity, love, work, worldviews), the various unique opportunities afforded to young people to flourish, how flourishing might look different around the world, and how flourishing can occur in the face of challenge. Most chapters are accompanied by first-person essays written by a range of emerging adults who exemplify the aspect of flourishing denoted in that chapter and make note of how choices and experiences have helped them transition to adulthood. Taken together, this innovative collection provides richevidence and examples of how young people are flourishing as a group and as individuals in a variety of settings and circumstances. This unique resource will be useful to students, faculty, professionals, clinicians, and university personnel who work with young adults or who study development duringemerging adulthood.
ISBN: 0190260637Publication Date: 2017-04-28
Identity Flexibility During Adulthood by
This volume seeks to explore the idea of identity as a flexible center of events around which aspects of the self and events in the outside world are organized. Historically, in much of the literature, identity was conceptualized as a somewhat fixed, unchanging construct. Scholars now have a greater awareness of more nuanced theories about identity and there is a greater willingness to accept that identity is not fixed, concrete, and permanent, but rather evolving and fluid. Although this volume discusses a wide variety of aspects of identity as it flexibly changes during adulthood in the face of numerous experiences, it is really addressing one key question. How adaptive and fluid is identity and how can we know ourselves as both continuing and changing? Exploring these ideas raises the importance of future research on adult identity. With a firm grounding in the historical and theoretical background of identity research, this volume begins by defining identity and the psychological "self" as a center around which the person's behaviors and self-concepts revolve. The following chapters gather the wisdom of many writers who all accepted the challenge of talking about creating a flexible adult self and identity during adulthood. They come at this challenging question from many different perspectives using different tools. Some survey existing literature and theory, then summarize prior work in a meaningful way. Some discuss their own research; some reflect on personal experiences that have demanded a flexible identity. Also included in the coverage are discussions of methodology and validity issues for studies and scales of identity. With its dual focus on research and applied fields ranging across social and personality psychology, industrial/occupational psychology, cross-cultural psychology, mental health, existential issues, relationships, and demographic categories, Identity Flexibility During Adulthood: Perspectives on Adult Development is a fascinating and complex resource for psychologists, sociologists, anthropologists, gerontologists, and all those interested in our changing identities.
ISBN: 3319556568Publication Date: 2017-09-22
The Oxford Handbook of Emotion, Social Cognition, and Problem Solving in Adulthood by
Over the last decade, the field of socio-emotional development and aging has rapidly expanded, with many new theories and empirical findings emerging. This trend is consistent with the broader movement in psychology to consider social, motivational, and emotional influences on cognition andbehavior.The Oxford Handbook of Emotion, Social Cognition, and Problem Solving in Adulthood provides the first overview of a new field of adult development that has emerged out of conceptualizations and research at the intersections between socioemotional development, social cognition, emotion, coping, andeveryday problem solving. This field roundly rejects a universal deficit model of aging, highlighting instead the dynamic nature of socio-emotional development and the differentiation of individual trajectories of development as a function of variation in contextual and experiential influences. Itemphasizes the need for a cross-level examination (from biology and neuroscience to cognitive and social psychology) of the determinants of emotional and socio-emotional behavior. This volume also serves as a tribute to the late Fredda Blanchard-Fields, whose thinking and empirical research contributed extensively to a life-span developmental view of emotion, problem solving, and social cognition. Its chapters cover multiple aspects of adulthood and aging, presentingdevelopmental perspectives on emotion; antecedents and consequences of emotion in context; everyday problem solving; social cognition; goals and goal-related behaviors; and wisdom. The landmark volume in this new field, The Oxford Handbook of Emotion, Social Cognition, and Problem Solving inAdulthood is an important resource for cognitive, developmental, and social psychologists, as well as researchers and graduate students in the field of aging, emotion studies, and social psychology.
ISBN: 9780199899463Publication Date: 2014-04-17
Positive Psychology by
Positive Psychology and Adult Motivation examines the cognitions, traits, and contexts of behavior that are associated with optimal development and resilience through the entire life course. The book investigates the personal psychological development through the stages of emerging adulthood, full adulthood, middle age, and old age as individuals and how they respond positively to them. It explores which traits are needed and which aspects of the environment help a person to truly flourish, thrive and grow. The volume describes the development of resilience as well as other characteristics that will assist individuals in overcoming challenges through adult development.
ISBN: 1461472822Publication Date: 2013-06-04
Grief and Loss Across the Lifespan by
This unique text for undergraduate and master's-level social work and counseling courses on loss, grief, and bereavement is distinguished by its biopsychosocial perspective and developmental framework. The book addresses grieving patterns and intervention strategies according to the life trajectory and provides clinical intervention tools and strategies for coping according to the developmental stage of an individual. It incorporates losses beyond death loss, with special focus on losses related to maturational development. The second edition reflects new research that has clarified and underscored the value of theories examined in the first edition√>=particularly in the areas of continued bonds, disenfranchised grief, and ambiguous grief. It describes how grieving is influenced by biological responses to stress, psychological responses to loss, and social norms and support networks. The second edition includes significant new information on trauma and resilience and addresses the use of mindfulness practices with grief and loss. It focuses on the changing role of technology including expressions of grief and loss in social media and public forums. Updated information is provided regarding hospice and palliative care as well as housing issues in aging. A completely new chapter examines grief and loss counseling with emerging adults, and updates regarding changes in the DSM-5 are included. Additional new features include chapter objectives, discussion questions, and updated resources, and an Instructor's Manual and PowerPoint slides are available for download. New to the Second Edition: New information on trauma and resilience Using mindfulness practices with grief and loss Updated theory and empirical findings The changing role of technology in grief Expressions of grief and loss in social media and public forums Transitions due to economic and health changes Changes in the DSM-5 New chapter on emerging adults (ages 18√ 25) New information on hospice, palliative care, and aging Housing issues in aging and disability New information on issues facing young and older U.S. veterans and families Updated resources Chapter objectives and discussion questions Instructor's Manual and PowerPoint slides Key Features: Uses a developmental framework for grief and loss Incorporates notions of loss beyond death, including unique maturational losses Integrates new grief theories with empirical findings and intervention techniques Utilizes neurobiological and biological information within a counseling text Focuses on nonpathologizing approaches to sadness, loss, and grief
ISBN: 9780826120281Publication Date: 2015-08-01
Older Adults
Ageism and Mistreatment of Older Workers by
This book promotes an understanding of ageism, discrimination and mistreatment of older adult workers, incorporating an international human rights perspective. The impact of ageism on the mistreatment of older adult workers has not to date been examined in depth through the lens of international human rights instruments, nor has discrimination against older adults in the workplace been framed as a form of elder abuse for research and policy making purposes. This book presents a multi-disciplinary exploration of these themes as they affect work and retirement of older adults. It reflects the view that older people who choose to work into old age should be able to do so in enabling work environments that promote dignity and are free of abuse. The contributing authors come from many disciplines, including law, psychology, social work, business, and international affairs. Many are members of the International Network for the Prevention of Elder Abuse (INPEA), a non-governmental organization with consultative status at the United Nations, and have devoted their professional careers to increase awareness and understanding of elder abuse in order to prevent it. The editors hope that broadening the framework within which elder abuse in the workplace is understood will stimulate further research, policy and program development to address this troubling social problem.
ISBN: 9400796390Publication Date: 2015-01-29
Aging and Mental Health by
Fully updated and revised, this new edition of a highly successful text provides students, clinicians, and academics with a thorough introduction to aging and mental health. The third edition of Aging and Mental Health is filled with new updates and features, including the impact of the DSM-5 on diagnosis and treatment of older adults. Like its predecessors, it uses case examples to introduce readers to the field of aging and mental health. It also provides both a synopsis of basic gerontology needed for clinical work with older adults and an analysis of several facets of aging well. Introductory chapters are followed by a series of chapters that describe the major theoretical models used to understand mental health and mental disorders among older adults. Following entries are devoted to the major forms of mental disorders in later life, with a focus on diagnosis, assessment, and treatment issues. Finally, the book focuses on the settings and contexts of professional mental health practice and on emerging policy issues that affect research and practice. This combination of theory and practice helps readers conceptualize mental health problems in later life and negotiate the complex decisions involved with the assessment and treatment of those problems. Features new material on important topics including positive mental health, hoarding disorder, chronic pain, housing, caregiving, and ethical and legal concerns Substantially revised and updated throughout, including reference to the DSM-5 Offers chapter-end recommendations of websites for further information Includes discussion questions and critical thinking questions at the end of each chapter Aging and Mental Health, Third Edition is an ideal text for advanced undergraduate and graduate students in psychology, for service providers in psychology, psychiatry, social work, and counseling, and for clinicians who are experienced mental health service providers but who have not had much experience working specifically with older adults and their families.
ISBN: 9781119133162Publication Date: 2017-10-31
Baby Boomers of Color by
Because researchers often treat baby boomers of color as belonging to one group, quality data on the individual status of specific racial populations is lacking, leading to insufficiently designed programs, policies, and services. The absence of data is a testament to the invisibility of baby boomers of color in society and deeply affects the practice of social work and other helping professions that require culturally sensitive approaches. Melvin Delgado rectifies this injustice by providing a comprehensive portrait of the status and unique assets of boomers of color. Using specific data, he grounds an understanding of boomers'financial, medical, and emotional needs within a historical, socioeconomic, cultural, and political context, resulting in tailored recommendations for meeting the challenges of a growing population. His research focuses on African American, Hispanic, Asian/Pacific Islander, and Native American older adults and addresses issues of financial security, employment stability, housing, and health care, which are often complicated by linguistic and cultural differences. Rather than treat baby boomers of color as a financial burden on society and its resources, Delgado recognizes their strengths and positive contributions to families and communities, resulting in an affirming and empowering approach to service.
ISBN: 9780231538428Publication Date: 2014-12-09
The Collective Spirit of Aging Across Cultures by
The collective, inclusive, and intersectional framework used in this book speaks to the significance of understanding aging across diverse cultures from multiple perspectives, but still as a shared human experience.nbsp;The underlying message of the book is that although we are unique and different in our aging processes, we are ultimately connected through this physical, mental and spiritual experience of aging.nbsp;Thus, regardless of whether we are service providers, service recipients, educators or merely fellow human beings, it is important that we approach the aging experience through a collective lens for discovering and sharing resources as we age; honoring the past while simultaneously accepting that the future is here. A few select examples of key findings from this collaborative work are as follows.nbsp;First, despite progress in the field, certain issues remain to be addressed including the challenges of racism and sexism, mistreatment, the digital divide, poverty, and other social and economic crises in urban and rural communities as they relate to our aging population.nbsp;Second, the need for sustaining a sense of independence among the aged and interdependence among supportive systems is warranted.nbsp;Third, our elders continue to benefit from culturally competent services community-based health interventions and social services that addresses normative and emerging challenges for them.nbsp;Fourth, spirituality in both indigenous and contemporary perspectives remains important for our elders' development and quality of life.
ISBN: 9401785945Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Early Life Conditions and Rapid Demographic Changes in the Developing World by
This book examines the long term consequences of improvements in life expectancy in the mid 20th century which are partly responsible for the growth of the elderly population in the developing world. Rapid demographic changes in child and infant mortality due to the reduction in and better treatment of disease were not often accompanied by parallel increases in standard of living. Lower mortality led to greater survival by those who had suffered poor early life conditions. As a consequence, the early life of these survivors may explain older adult health and in particular the projected increase in adult health disease and diabetes. Recent dietary changes may only compound such early life effects. This study presents findings from historical and survey data on nearly 147,000 older adults in 20 low-, middle- and high-income countries which suggest that the survivors of poor early life conditions born during the 1930s-1960s are susceptible to disease later in life, specifically diabetes and heart disease. As the evidence that the aging process is shaped throughout the entire life course increases, this book adds to the knowledge regarding early life events and older adult health.
ISBN: 9400769792Publication Date: 2013-11-04
Family Caregiving in Aging Populations by
Family members are increasingly likely to provide caregiving for older adults as the US population ages. This book summarizes what we know about caregiving by spouses and other intimate partners, adult children, siblings, grandchildren, friends, and other relatives, as well as by members of racial, ethnic, and sexual minority groups.
ISBN: 1349506567Publication Date: 2015-11-08
Foods and Dietary Supplements in the Prevention and Treatment of Disease in Older Adults by
Foods and Dietary Supplements in the Prevention and Treatment of Disease in Older Adults focuses on the ways in which food and dietary supplements affect the major health problems of aging adults. Researchers in nutrition, diet, epidemiology, and aging studies, as well as healthcare providers who work with elderly patients will use this comprehensive resource as a tool in their long-term goal of preventing and treating chronic disease within the elderly. This book brings together a broad range of experts working on the different aspects of foods and dietary supplements (vitamins, herbs, plant extracts, etc.) in health promotion and disease prevention. They have contributed chapters which define a range of ways in which foods, nutriceuticals, and dietary supplements prevent disease and promote health in older adults. They begin by reviewing the medicinal role of foods, herbal, and dietary supplements in health promotion in older adults, as well as some of the most commonly used supplements in elder "self-medication." They review the most recent studies of how foods, herbal, and dietary supplements are effective in the prevention and treatment of cancer, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and other obesity associated diseases in older adults. Then they consider alcohol, other drugs, and plant based drugs of abuse which can adversely affect the health of older adults. Lastly, they consider foods and dietary supplements in gene regulation in older adults.
ISBN: 9780124186804Publication Date: 2015-01-27
Great Myths of Aging by
Great Myths of Aging looks at the generalizations andstereotypes associated with older people and, with a blend of humorand cutting-edge research, dispels those common myths. Reader-friendly structure breaks myths down into categoriessuch as Body, Mind, and Living Contexts; and looks at myths from"Older people lose interest in sex" to "Olderpeople are stingy" Explains the origins of myths and misconceptions aboutaging Looks at the unfortunate consequences of anti-aging stereotypesfor both the reader and older adults in society
ISBN: 1118521455Publication Date: 2014-10-20
Handbook of Minority Aging by
The array of topics covered is amazing, making this book a valuable, significant resource for many disciplines...This multidisciplinary review of the literature on minority aging presents the scholarship related to public health and 'social, behavioral, and biological concerns' of aged minorities like no other publication. Graduate students will certainly be well-served by this book, as would faculty teaching aging at both undergraduate and graduate levels...Highly recommended."--Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries √ while practitioners of gerontology, family medicine, and any professional involved in the care of the elderly will find some practical guidance in the second part of the book, it will really earn a place on the bookshelf of anyone and everyone with an interest in US sociology and the development of public policy for the elderly. With the general aging of the population and the book's accentuation of current issues, this outstanding review will become an indispensable tool.Healthy Aging Research This text provides up-to-date, multidisciplinary, and comprehensive information about aging among diverse racial and ethnic populations in the United States. It is the only book to focus on paramount public health issues as they relate to older minority Americans, and addresses social, behavioral, and biological concerns for this population. The text distills the most important advances in the science of minority aging and incorporates the evidence of scholars in gerontology, anthropology, psychology, public health, sociology, social work, biology, medicine, and nursing. Additionally, the book incorporates the work of both established and emerging scholars to provide the broadest possible knowledge base on the needs of and concerns for this rapidly growing population. Chapters focus on subject areas that are recognized as being critical in understanding the well being of minority elders. These include sociology (Medicare, SES, work and retirement, social networks, context/neighborhood, ethnography, gender, demographics), psychology (cognition, stress, mental health, personality, sexuality, religion, neuroscience, discrimination), medicine/nursing/public health (mortality and morbidity, disability, health disparities, long-term care, genetics, dietary issues, health interventions, physical functioning), social work (caregiving, housing, social services, end-of-life care), and many other topics. The book focuses on the needs of four major ethnic groups: Asian/Pacific Islander, Hispanic/Latino, African American, and Native American. Key Features: Provides current, comprehensive information about minority aging through a multidisciplinary lens Integrates information from scholars in gerontology, anthropology, psychology, public health, sociology, social work, biology, medicine, and nursing Emphasizes the principal public health issues concerning minority elders Offers "one-stop shopping" regarding the development of a substantial knowledge base about minority aging Includes recent progressive research pertaining to the social, cultural, psychological and health needs of elderly minority adults in the US
ISBN: 9780826109637Publication Date: 2013-06-01
Introduction to Aging by
This new textbook creates a paradigm shift with a very practical approach to problem solving. Aging is an asset. Its focus on well care rather than just sick care by understanding physical fitness, sexual fitness, consumer fitness, nutritional fitness and social fitness among others, all point to aging as an asset leading to civic fitness and the potential for intergenerational support. This text may help springboard Gerontology into the 21st Century as the field creating excitement and hope for students and teachers alike. Cullen T. Hayashida, Ph.D. Director, Kupuna (Elder) Education Center Kapi'olani Community College University of Hawaii This research-based yet highly engaging textbook for undergraduate and masters-level college students ushers in a new paradigm of aging-that of aging as a positive stage of life. It offers an interdisciplinary perspective on the broad range of topics that comprise gerontology, using theoretical and research-based information while providing engrossing narratives and real examples of new trends, surprising findings, and controversial topics. The volume dispels many of the myths about aging through careful reporting of facts, issues, and trends. It sheds a positive light on getting older by viewing the elderly and near old as a diverse, capable subset of our population. A discussion of roles in the family, workplace, and greater society along with physical changes, health, sexuality, living environment, work, retirement, and cultural considerations reveal the challenges and opportunities faced by our rapidly aging population. This text comes with access to PowerPoint slides and an instructor's manual including learning objectives, key terms, test questions, suggested topics for essays and discussion, and suggested classroom activities and homework assignments. Key Features: Conceptualizes aging in America as a positive social revolution with far-reaching consequences Dispels negative myths about aging Engages the reader with vivid narratives Includes practical applications of knowledge throughout the text Includes instructor's manual, PowerPoint slides, and resources for additional learning opportunities Targeted to the needs of undergraduate and masters-level gerontology students
Call Number: Doheny Memorial Library BOOKSTACKS HQ1061 .S848 2014ISBN: 9780826108807Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Aging by
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Aging brings together cutting-edge research, practical information, and innovative thinking regarding the characteristics and processes of aging among lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals. Written by experts in the field, the book covers a range of subjects and provides a comprehensive knowledge base for practitioners, students, and researchers. Contributors address topics such as sexuality, relationships, legal issues, retirement planning, physical and mental health, substance abuse, community needs, gay and lesbian grandparents, and a model agency dedicated to delivering services to the senior LGBT population. Their writing takes a gay-affirmative approach that focuses on resilience, coping, and successful adaptation to aging and is sensitive to the importance of historical oppression in the lives of older members of sexual minorities. The authors also pay close attention to ethnic and cultural issues and identify where further research is needed. Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Aging is a groundbreaking collection of some of the most significant voices in this area of research today. Gerontologists and those who serve the LGBT community are in great need of the information contained in this singular and definitive resource.
ISBN: 9780231136181Publication Date: 2006-05-09
The Lives of LGBT Older Adults by
Lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgendered (LGBT) older adults have unique and varying physical and mental health needs. Yet their experiences have often been ignored in gerontological and LGBT studies. In this important and timely volume, Orel and Fruhauf bring together crucial research from leading experts in the field to shed light on the unique challenges facing this oft-overlooked but growing population. This book uses a life course perspective to investigate how LGBT older adults have been shaped by social stigma and systematic discrimination. Although many of their experiences are similar to those of younger LGBT individuals, LGBT elders grew up in a particularly oppressive time, which continues to impact their well-being. However, these individuals have also developed coping mechanisms to adapt to stigma, discrimination, and the challenges of aging. Thus, the book explores not only the challenges and needs of this population but also their strengths and resilience. The intersection of cultural factors and personal attributes is highlighted.
Call Number: Doheny Memorial Library BOOKSTACKS HQ76.27.O44 L58 2015ISBN: 9781433817632Publication Date: 2014-08-01
Queer Aging by
As the first generation of gay men enters its autumn years, these men's responses to the physical and emotional tolls of aging promise to be as revolutionary as their advances in AIDS and civil rights activism. Older gay men's approaches to friendship, caregiving, romantic and sexualrelationships, illness, and bereavement is upending conventional wisdom regarding the aging process, LGBTQ communities, and the entire field of gerontology. Queer Aging comprises scholar Jesus Ramirez-Valles's probing conversations with 11 racially and economically diverse representatives of this pioneering generation of gay men - the gayby boomers. Through candid, first-person narratives, Ramirez-Valles's subjects reflect on their varied experiences aslate career professionals, retirees, AIDS survivors, caregivers for ailing partners, and witnesses to profound social and cultural change. Framed within a larger introduction to both Queer Theory and its history, these reflections provide context for understanding the aging arc and experience ofolder gay men.Spanning sociology, history, cultural studies, and social work, Queer Aging will be a vital resource for students as well as health professionals who serve the gay community and communities of color.
Call Number: Doheny Memorial Library, BOOKSTACKS HQ76.27.O44 R36 2016ISBN: 9780190276348Publication Date: 2016-08-15
Retirement and the Hidden Epidemic by
Evidence from both local and national surveys suggests that substance misuse and abuse among older adults in the United States is a "hidden epidemic" that poses a major threat to the welfare and quality of life of older drinkers and their families, and has significant public healthimplications. Based on their findings from a 10-year, NIH-funded study of retirement, aging, and substance misuse, Peter Bamberger and Samuel Bacharach examine the complex web of factors contributing to the precipitation and exacerbation of substance problems among older adults. They discuss theindividual and public health implications of such problems, as well as some of the evidence-based steps that may be taken to prevent their emergence and help those in need of assistance for policy-makers and health practitioners. This book provides a single-source review of the latest research assessing the magnitude and costs of older-adult substance abuse, as well as detailed analysis of the epidemiology of older-adult substance abuse. The authors provide an analysis of the efficacy of alternative prevention and treatmentstrategies, and present scientific evidence in a user-friendly format, highlighting extensive interview data to accompany their statistical results. The illustrations offered by these real life cases not only provide a sense of richness and understanding to a complex issue, but also offer a fittingreminder to the reader that this is an issue affecting people we know and families like our own.
ISBN: 9780199374120Publication Date: 2014-06-04
Spiritual Well-Being of Chinese Older Adults by
There are several unique features of this book on the spiritual well-being of Chinese older adults. First, based on qualitative methodology, a conceptual model of spiritual well-being was proposed. Besides, through a Delphi study, different dimensions of spiritual well-being were identified. Conceptually, such effort is important because there is a general lack of well-articulated models of spiritual well-being for Chinese people. Although Western models can be "transplanted" to Chinese contexts, indigenous concepts are needed. As such, this is a pioneer conceptual contribution. Second, the author developed and validated the Spiritual Scale for Chinese Elders. In view of the lack of related measurement tools in the field, this is a pioneer attempt which is important for social work education, research and practice. Third, a Spiritual Enhancement Group for Chinese Elders was developed and its effectiveness was evaluated. In contrast to ordinary elderly programs, this program was based on solid theoretical grounds. In addition, process evaluation and outcome evaluation were conducted. The intervention program is a beautiful link between theory and practice whereas the evaluation is a good outgrowth of practice. The present project is especially valuable because evidence-based practice is at its infancy in different Chinese communities.
ISBN: 3662463032Publication Date: 2015-02-04
