Databases with broad-ranging engineering coverage:
- Engineering Village 2
Simultaneous searching with links to fulltext, when available for Compendex and Inspec. Compendex provides over 10 million citations to journals and conference proceedings across all engineering disciplines from 1884 - to the present.
Inspec includes citations and indexed abstracts for electrical engineering, computer science, information technology, mechanical engineering, materials science and physics with coverage from 1896 - to the present. Updated weekly.
- Web of Science
Provides Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports, and Essential Science Indicators databases. Searches citations in major journals across scientific disciplines. Tracks the number of times articles and authors are cited by others
- IEEE Xplore
Full text IEEE publications (journals and conference proceedings) and over 900 IEEE standards; from 1988 to present (some content back to 1950's)
- ACM Digital Library
Full-text primary literature of computing and computer science published by Association for Computing Machinery (ACM); from 1954 to present
- ASTM Standards and Engineering Library
a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Databases with a more specific focus:
- Aerospace & High Technology Database (Full archive)
Primary literature (journals, reports issued by NASA, and other U.S. government agencies) in aeronautics, astronautics, space sciences, chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics; approximately from 1962 to present; updated monthly
- American Institute for Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)
USC subscribes to all publications, books, meeting papers, and standards from AIAA. Please use the black navigation boxes at the top of the webpage to search for specific items.
- ASCE Civil Engineering Database
Abstracts of publications from America Society of Civil Engineering; from 1970 to present
- Begell House Digital Library
References, e-books, and journals in medicine and science, particularly focused on biological sciences and engineering.
Access is provide to the engineering and biomedical collections, plus several databases including Thermopedia.
- BIOSIS Previews
World's most comprehensive database for life sciences from 1950 to date.
- CERN Document Server (CDS)
Abstracts (and fulltext) of literature in particle physics and related areas
- Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
Abstracts and citations of literature in earthquake engineering and earthquake hazards mitigation; from 1971 to present; updated monthly
- Energy Citations Database
Indexes energy-related literature sponsored by the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessors, the Energy Research and Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC); relates to the print equivalent Nuclear Science Abstracts
- ICONDA (International Construction Database, via silverplatter)
Indexes of mathematical research literature published in the Mathematical Reviews; from 1940 to present
- MEDLINE (Ovid)
Literature in health science, biological and biomedical fields produced by National Library Medicine; from 1960 to present
- NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) Abstract Service
The Digital Library for physics and astronomy funded by NASA and supported by Stanford University; search primary literature in Astronomy and Astrophysics , Physics and Geophysics, arXiv Preprints, Science Education
- Norris Medical Library Resources
Databases covering biomedical engineering and health-related research
Access information in health science and medical fields from MEDLINE, and PreMEDLINE; from 1950 to present
Information on earthquakes, earthquake engineering, natural hazard mitigation, and related topics; from 1987 to present
- Reaxys (Beilstein & Gmelin, Patent Chemistry Database)
Organic chemistry database from Beilstein, and Inorganic Chemistry from Gmelin (required download a local file to access); organic synthesis, material science, biomedical engineering
- SPIE Digital Library
Optical engineering and science (optics and photonics); full-text technical reports, SPIE journals and conference proceedings; from 1990 to the present.
A-to-Z guide on thermodynamics, heat and mass transfer, and fluids engineering.
- TRIS Online
Transportation research bibliographic database funded by sponsors of the Transportation Research Board (TRB); from 1960's to present (or varies)