Skip to main content

POSC 323/420: Civic Engagement and Leadership / Penny Harvest Practicum: Community Background

A guide that provides descriptive lists of resources related to conducting research for the POSC323/POSC420 courses.

Databases

The following databases provide access to magazines and scholarly journals and research reports that may provide information about current issues facing a specific community. Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

  • Ethnic NewsWatch -- includes current and archival coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic and minority presses.
  • ProQuest -- a multi-disciplinary index suitable for both undergraduates and graduate students. It simultaneously searches dozens of subject areas, indexes thousands of general and scholarly titles, and provides full-text for a significant number of the articles included from a variety of contemporary research databases
  • Social Services Abstracts -- provides coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related social support areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.
  • Urban Studies Abstracts -- provides access to critical developments on all aspects of urban studies. Topics covered include trends in urbanization, urban history, housing and real estate, land use, transportation, urban fiscal and budgetary policy, and general theory and research.

Databases covering newspapers:

  • Access World News -- comprehensive news collection for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
  • Los Angeles Times  -- offers full-text access from 1985 to the present with extensive coverage of national, international, and local news.

Government Information and Statistics

The following sites provide access to local goverment information and data. Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

DATABASES

  • LEXIS/NEXIS State Capital -- provides comprehensive access to state bills and laws, constitutions, proposed and enacted, regulations, newspapers of record articles about legislative issues affecting the states

DIRECTORIES

  • League of California Cities -- an association of California city officials who work together to enhance their knowledge and skills, exchange information, and combine resources so that they may influence policy decisions that affect cities.
  • State and Local Government on the Web -- provides one-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments, including local and regional planning agencies.