Skip to main content
Document Collections and Digital Archives
The American Presidency Project
-- an online archive that contain more than 75,700 documents related to
the study of the Presidency. Maintained by the University of California
at Santa Barbara, the searchable database includes the Messages and
Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913); the Public
Papers of the Presidents: Hoover to Bush (1929-1993); the Weekly
Compilation of Presidential Documents: Clinton - G.W. Bush (1993-2007).
as well as Executive Orders and Proclamations, State of the Union
Addresses, Inaugural Addresses, press conferences, and much more.
Library Of Unified Information Sources (LOUIS)
-- a comprehensive, completely indexed and cross-referenced depository
of federal documents from the executive and legislative branches of
government. Currently contains, in fully searchable format, seven sets
of federal documents: Congressional Reports, Congressional Record,
Congressional Hearings, the Federal Register, Presidential Documents,
GAO Reports, and Bills and Resolutions.
- Open CRS Network
-- A project of the Center for Democracy and Technology, Open CRS
provides access to the full-text of Congressional Research Services
Reports that are in the public domain.
-- a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United
States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source
for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a
recording system in October 1955. The Project also provides
authoritative information on all justices and offers a virtual reality
'tour' of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the
chambers of some of the justices.
United States Congressional Serial Set
-- commonly referred to as the Serial Set, this collection contains the
House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports. The
reports are usually from congressional committees dealing with proposed
legislation and issues under investigation. The documents include all
other papers ordered printed by the House or Senate. Documents cover a
wide variety of topics and may include reports of executive departments
and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made
for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations.
During the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries,
executive-branch materials were also published in the Serial Set.