NOTE TO OFF-CAMPUS USERS: If you are asked for a username and password when accessing our databases, enter the same username and password as your USC email address and this should authenticate your access to the database and its full-text contents.
Databases and Electronic Resources
Below are links to databases and electronic resources that support access to government information:
This database searches the full-text of CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher, CQ Historic Documents, contact directories, a variety of reference books, and selected datasets focused on issues in U.S. politics and areas of public policy, such as, health care, education, economics, bioethics, environment, and society. Contents are created by more than 125 Capitol Hill reporters, editors, and researchers to provide non-partisan coverage and detailed analysis of issues facing Congress on a daily basis. Coverage is from 1972 to the present.
This is the fourth edition of Historical Statistics of the United States. The U.S. Bureau of the Census published the prior editions in 1949, 1960, and 1975, the last known as the Bicentennial Edition. Cambridge University Press publishes this, the Millennial Edition, with the permission of the Census Bureau. Some of the data and table documentation presented here are used without explicit quotation, but with permission, from the earlier editions. The Census Bureau takes no responsibility for the design of this edition or the accuracy of its content, which rests solely with the contributors, the editors, and Cambridge University Press.
With the focus on the public law, ProQuest Legislative Insight will make available approximately 18,000 legislative histories covering laws from 1929 to the present. 9,000 of these are brand new and 4,000 (from 1969-1983) include new research. PDF documents included with the public laws include bills (all versions), legislative reports, documents, CRS reports, committee prints, speeches in the Congressional Record and presidential signing statements.
The service provides access to: state bills and laws; constitutions; proposed and enacted regulations; newspapers of record; articles about legislative issues affecting the states; legislature membership. Users can search for information about one state, any combination of states, or all 50 states from a single source.
The system provides selective subjects and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Materials are in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish with English language abstracts and subject headings. The database contains more than 480,000 records, each with bibliographic information and brief, descriptive abstracts and includses coverage from 1915 to the present.