Gerontology *: Find Articles

Available electronic collections, books and journals

Searching Tips

The USC Libraries' Developing Keywords tutorial can help you practice using effective search terms so a database can find what you seek. Additionally, many databases index their records (e.g. PsycINFO and PubMed/MEDLINE). In these cases, it is important to add to your search strategies those subject terms that are related to your key words. These can be found in a Subject Index or Thesaurus. Visit the Searching Solutions Research Guide for more information and tips.

More under an item offers links to tutorials.

Citation Databases

Subject indexes in ProQuest are available under Advanced Search. An available thesaurus or index is listed with the database. In EBSCO, an available thesaurus will be in the upper navigation bar.

And For Items Not Available in Full Text?

To receive articles or books that the library that are not in full text:

  • Use the USC Libraries' USC Libraries Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery (IDD) service
  • Fill out the form for the type of item you're requesting
    • Borrow: book, thesis, microfilm, etc.
    • Scan and Deliver: article, book chapter, conference paper
  • Hard copies of materials (books and DVDs) will be mailed to your house (distance-based users) or can be picked up at the Leavey library on campus; Electronic materials (book chapters or articles) will be emailed to you as a PDF

For additional information: visit IDD and Home Delivery.

Multidisciplinary Databases

PubMed/MEDLINE Searching Tips

PubMed / MEDLINE uses the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to index citations. Updated annually, MeSH terms applied to journal articles are then retrieved in other search engines.MEDLINE is a subset of PubMed.

  • MeSH: Geriatrics (or Gerontology) - applied to articles ABOUT this branch of medicine
  • MeSH: Geriatric assessment, geriatric psychiatry, geriatric nursing geriatric dentistry - subject terms focusing ON these specific area of research.
  • Both MeSH and search limiter: Aged - can be used as a subject term or to limit articles to a those focusing on humans older than 65

Managing Your Resources

Managing all the materials you find and review is a key to success. Citation management programs allow you to import references from various databases and organize them to meet your needs. For more information, visit the USC Libraries Citation Guide and Library Tips: Choosing a Citation Manager.
Find additional Resource guides under More.

Automatic Citation Generators

Type in your information and have a citation compiled for you. Note that these are not foolproof systems so it is important that you verify that your citation is correct and check your spelling, capitalization, etc. However, they can be useful in creating basic types of citations, particularly for online sources.

  • BibMe -- APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian styles
  • DocsCite -- for citing government publications in APA or MLA formats
  • EasyBib -- APA, MLA, and Chicago styles
  • KnightCite -- APA, MLA, and Chicago styles
  • Scholar Space -- APA, MLA, and Chicago styles including citing uncommon sources
  • Son of Citation Machine -- APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian styles