1865 to PresentAmerican West & CaliforniaThrough Civil War
Statistics & Data Services 
University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
Admin Sign In 

* African American Studies 

Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/africanamericanstudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Of Special Note ...

Selected New Acquisitions

  • African American Newspapers, 1827-1998  This Readex database provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers, from more than 35 states, chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience
  • American Civil War Research Database The definitive online resource for researching the individuals, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War
  • Images of the American Civil War Provides over 1400 images, including photographs, posters, and ephemera from the fields of battle, politics, and general society
  • ProQuest Civil War Era  Provides access to the full run of eight newspapers from 1840-1865 and nearly 2000 pamphlets from the Slavery and Anti-Slavery Pamphlets and Civil War Pamphlets collections

Reparations Chronicles
by Susan D. Anderson
This award-winning blog, written by historian, writer, and curator Susan D. Anderson, invites a broad and provocative discussion of reparations, racism, culture, and politics. Join the discussion!

 

USC Libraries News


Loading RSS Feed...
 
 

Welcome Students and Faculty!

Welcome to the African American Studies Research Guide!

Browse through the tabs to find books, articles, online resources, primary sources, professional and career resources, and more

Getting Started: Key databases to use

Black Studies Center  A fully cross-searchable gateway to African American Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, key literatue indexes, historical newspaper articles (from core publications such as Chicago Defender), and bibliographical resources

America: History and Life Key database for the study of US History, featuring journal articles, dissertations, book reviews, review articles, and CLIO Notes

History Cooperative  The History Cooperative is a pioneering nonprofit humanities resource provided by the University of Illinois Press, the Organization of American Historians, and JSTOR offering top-level online history scholarship

JSTOR Multidisciplinary database providing access to scholarly journal articles and book reviews

HOMER USC's library catalog, for books, films, journals, microfilm, and print journals

WorldCat  This database contains more than 32 million records providing records from libraries worldwide concerning journals and journal articles; musical scores; magazines;newspapers; sound recordings; films; and manuscripts

Reference resources for background reading

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Credo Reference

 

Related Research Guides

Here are some selected research guides also of interest to researchers in US and Canadian History:

American Studies and Ethnicity

Asian American Studies

Chicano and Latino Studies

History (Historiography)

History, British

History, US &  Canada

Los Angeles and Southern California

Native American Studies

 

 
 

Getting Help

Chat with me  Coming soon: Chat office hours for African American Studies.

Email me  Just go to styson@usc.edu

Use our Ask A Librarian service to chat with librarians live, 24 hours a day, seven days a week!

Contact other USC subject librarians for help from librarians in related fields

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait