Images
Death of Captain Ferrer, the Captain of the Amistad, July 1839.
NYPL Digital Collections
March 28, 1945.
National Archives: Pictures of African Americans During World War II
Freedom riders and National Guardsmen on board a bus, Alabama,1961
from Black Studies Center
African American Image & Photo Collections
- American Civil War Research Database This link opens in a new windowContains information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, as well as regimental rosters, officer profiles and military records.
Includes over 15,000 photographs.
- Slavery Images: A Visual Record of the African Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Early African DiasporaThis website is a digital archive for hundreds of historical images, paintings, lithographs, and photographs illustrating enslaved Africans and their descendants before c. 1900. (Formerly known as The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas : a Visual Record)
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowThe Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience collection, contained within this database, contains close to 3000 images related to African American history as well as dozens of video clips
- The Face of Slavery & Other Early Images of African AmericansFrom the American Photography Museum
- The Holsinger Studio CollectionThis collection consists of nearly 9,000 dry-plate glass negatives and 500 celluloid negatives from the studio of Rufus W. Holsinger. Two-thirds of the collection are studio portraits, and among these are nearly 500 portraits of African-American citizens of Charlottesville, VA and the surrounding area.
- Image Archive of the American Eugenics MovementPresents primary source material from the Eugenics Record Office at Cold Spring Harbor, "the center of American eugenics research from 1910-1940."
- Images of the American Civil War This link opens in a new windowContains over 10,000 images (photographs, posters, cartoon, maps, advertisements, ephemera, etc.) from the fields of battle, politics, and general society, enabling researchers to experience the events, both monumental and mundane, of the Civil war.
- Jackson Davis African American Educational PhotographsJackson Davis, an educational reformer and amateur photographer, took nearly 6,000 photographs of African American schools, teachers and students throughout the Southeastern United States.
- Library Company of Philadelphia Print & Photograph CollectionsSpecializing in works by Philadelphia photographers and printmakers, and images that document the city of Philadelphia, the collection visually records the history of the Philadelphia area from the late 17th to the mid 20th century. In addition to Philadelphia area materials, the graphics collections include historical and commemorative prints, portraits, and political cartoons documenting American history at the national level from the 18th through the early 20th century.
- North Carolina Civil War Image PortfolioThis collection, from the University of North Carolina, presents images from woodcuts, engravings, lithographs, and photographs--most of these were made by people accompanying Union forces, or were made from sketches and other information they provided
- NYPL Digital CollectionsProvides access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
- Pictures of African Americans During World War IIIncludes over 250 photographs illustrating African American participation in World War II. From the National Archives and Records Administration
- Sources for Images on African American HistoryLibrary of Congress - Includes photographs, prints, posters, and drawings relating to the history of blacks in America from the slavery through the civil rights.
- Take Stock - Images of ChangePhotographs taken during the Civil Rights movement, categorized according to major events.
- Through the Lens of TimeIncludes over 250 digital images of African Americans dating from the 19th and early 20th century, selected from the George and Huestis Cook Photograph Collection at the Valentine Richmond History Center. The Cook Collection consists of over 10,000 negatives taken from the 1860s to the 1930s in Virginia and the Carolinas.
Large image collections
- American Periodicals 1740-1940 This link opens in a new windowIncludes digitized images of over 1,800 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the 20th century.
- Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) This link opens in a new windowIndexes to journals, newspapers, books, documents, artwork, and images primarily from the 12th century through 1960. Includes multidisciplinary coverage of primary materials in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Engineering, History of Science, Law, Economics, Religion, Psychology, Government Documents, Visual Arts, Music, and the Physical Sciences.
- C19: Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new windowDraws on indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.4 million books and official publications, 64,891 archival collections and 15.6 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. C19 Index now provides integrated access to 10 bibliographic indexes, including over 300,000 records from the ongoing digitization of British Periodicals Collection.
- U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over nearly 5,000 primary documents, as well as 185,000+ reference articles, over 613,000 periodical articles, and more than 73,000 images. This database covers themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes citations from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index, as well as the entire "American Journey Online" series.