Do you have a research project but you don’t know how to get started? Do you feel overwhelmed by the USC Libraries website? Do you find promising articles on Google Scholar only to get blocked by paywalls? This workshop will teach you how to search smarter and not harder. Learn your way around the USC Library website and gain basic and advanced search skills so you can spend more time learning instead of getting stuck at the starting line.
After participating in this workshop, you will be able to:
Facilitators: Bridgid Fennell & Kelsey Vukic
Did you just complete a research paper, but you’re struggling to format your citations and references following APA style? Do you need a refresher on APA Style citation and reference components? This hands-on workshop will equip you with essential skills for using APA (American Psychological Association) Style 7th ed. in academic writing. Focusing on citations and references, participants will learn to properly credit sources and create a reference list.
Learning Outcomes: By the end of this workshop, participants will:
Through practical exercises and examples, students will gain confidence in applying APA Style to their academic papers. This workshop is ideal for undergraduates and graduate students across the sciences and social sciences using APA Style 7th Ed. who want to improve their citation skills and avoid common formatting errors.
Facilitator: Kelsey Vukic
Are you struggling to keep your citations in order? Join our online workshop and take control of your research with RefWorks. Whether you're new to citation management or looking to streamline your research process, this workshop will equip you with the skills you need to stay organized.
Learning Objectives:
Facilitators: Clarissa Moreno & Bridgid Fennell
Is searching the behavioral science literature a new adventure for you? Are you new to using PsycINFO on the PsycNET platform? Not even sure what PsycINFO is? APA PsycINFO is a major database for psychology information used for research in psychology and/or related disciplines, such as medicine, education, social work, social science, and organizational behavior. This workshop will teach you time-saving tips to get the best results on PsycINFO by using search tools such as controlled language, field searches, and filters. This workshop will further demonstrate how you can create publication alerts or access past searches.
After participating in this workshop, you will be able to:
Facilitator: Kelsey Vukic
Workshop Recording Workshop SlidesAre you new to APA style, or are you an APA pro but you struggle to keep track of the growing list of articles you use for your research? If you answered yes to either question, then a citation manager like Zotero could be a game changer for your academic work. Join us for this webinar where you will learn how Zotero can enhance your productivity, organization, and cognition.
After this session, you will be able to:
Facilitator: Bridgid Fennell
Workshop Slides Workshop Recording Passcode:Do you have a research project but you don’t know how to get started? Do you feel overwhelmed by the USC Libraries website? This workshop will teach you how to search smarter and not harder. Learn your way around the USC Library website and gain basic and advanced search skills so you can spend more time learning and writing instead of getting stuck at the starting line.
Objectives: After participating in this workshop, you will be able to:
Facilitators: Bridgid Fennell & Kelsey Vukic
This workshop will introduce you to the features of RefWorks and Zotero - citation management tools available at no cost to all current USC students, staff and faculty. By the end of this workshop, you will be able to:
Facilitators: Clarissa Moreno & Bridgid Fennell
This workshop is an advanced overview of APA's PscyINFO database. Instructor will provide an overview on advanced search techniques and filters, how to utilize tools and features unique to PsycINFO in order to conduct keyword searches.
Learning outcomes:
Facilitators: Kelsey Vukic & Bridgid Fennell
Workshop Recording coming soon
Workshop Slides coming soon
ERIC is one of the top education databases for students, researchers, education policy makers, and practicing teachers because it offers peer-reviewed articles, research reports, conference proceedings, and more. Learn basic and advanced search techniques that you can use in graduate school and beyond.
After this workshop, you will be able to:
Facilitators: Bridgid Fennell & Kelsey Vukic
| Title | Description |
|
Literature Reviews |
This workshop will introduce attendees to the literature review. We will cover how to prepare for literature reviews, including:
Facilitator: Clarissa Moreno |
|
Social Science Data: The Basics |
This workshop will describe the social science data landscape and give you tools to learn how to efficiently find data sources and statistics to suit your research needs. We will review census surveys and the census tool: data.census.gov. In addition, participants will explore the library database, Simply Analytics. Learning Objective: Participants will understand how to access resources through the USC Libraries and publicly available social science data and statistics. Keywords: data, open access, datasets, statistics, social sciences Facilitator: Eimmy Solis |
|
Search Strategies: Part 1 |
This workshop will introduce attendees to academic search strategies using USC Libraries research platforms. We will use keyword searching and search techniques to manipulate our search results. Learning outcomes:
Facilitator: Clarissa Moreno |
Access recordings from past workshops.
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
|
Research Methods Overview |
This workshop will provide an overview to research methods and methodologies.
Facilitators: Kelsey Vukic & Alyssa Brissett |
|
Annotated Bibliographies Workshop
|
Annotated bibliographies are lists of cited sources that include a brief summary. They allow you to explore how different types of sources contribute to the scholarly conversation and understanding of a research problem. They help to strengthen your analytical and evaluative skills. After this online workshop, you will be able to:
Facilitators: Alyssa Brissett
|
|
Organize Your Research with RefWorks |
This workshop will introduce you to the features of RefWorks, a citation manager available at no cost to all current USC students, staff and faculty. By the end of this workshop, you will be able to:
Facilitators: Alyssa Brissett & Kelsey Vukic |
|
APA In-Text Citations 7th Ed. |
This workshop will focus on how to format in-text citations as outlined in the APA Style Guide 7th edition. Attendees will have the opportunity to engage with a hands-on activity to practice the material covered and ask questions. After this workshop, you will:
Facilitator: Kelsey Vukic & Alyssa Brissett |
|
Search Strategies: Part 1 Access Recording
|
This workshop will introduce attendees to academic search strategies using USC Libraries research platforms. We will use keyword searching and search techniques to manipulate our search results. Learning outcomes:
Facilitator: Kelsey Vukic & Clarissa Moreno |
|
APA References 7th Ed. |
This workshop will focus on how to format common reference types as outlined in the APA Style Guide 7th edition. Attendees will have the opportunity to engage with a hands-on activity to practice the material covered and ask questions. After this workshop, you will:
Facilitators: Kelsey Vukic & Alyssa Brissett |
|
APA: Avoiding Bias in Language |
This workshop will address bias-free language, as outlined in ch. 5 of the APA Manual, 7th edition. This workshop will provide best practice information on representing different identities and groups in your research papers. Facilitators: Kelsey Vukic & Alyssa Brissett |
|
Search Strategies: Part 2 |
This workshop will introduce attendees how to search by specific methodology, building on the search strategies introduced during Search Strategies Part 1. We will also search by citations for known research sources as a technique to expand searching. Learning outcomes:
Facilitator: Alyssa Brissett & Melanee Vicedo & Kelsey Vukic |
|
Advanced Searching: PsycINFO Access Recording
|
This workshop is an advanced overview of APA's PsycINFO database. The instructor will provide an overview on advanced search techniques and filters, how to utilize tools and features unique to PsycINFO in order to conduct keyword searches. Learning outcomes:
Facilitators: Kelsey Vukic & Alyssa Brissett |
|
Literature Reviews |
This workshop will introduce attendees to the literature review. We will cover how to prepare for literature reviews, including:
Facilitator: Alyssa Brissett |
|
Industry Research for Social and Behavioral Sciences |
This workshop will introduce attendees to the basics of conducting industry research using USC’s resources and databases, for the purpose of market research, understanding trends in consumer behavior and gathering statistics. By the end of this workshop you will:
Facilitators: Christy Kane & Kelsey Vukic |
Access recordings from past workshops.
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
|
Recognizing Plagiarism and How to Avoid It
|
This workshop will clarify plagiarism, look at USC’s policy on academic integrity, identify various types of plagiarism and strategies to prevent it. Avoiding plagiarism is important to effectively join the scholarly conversation, building on existing research, and incorporate our own ideas. Learning Outcomes:
Facilitators: Alyssa Brissett & Kelsey Vukic |
|
Annotated Bibliographies Workshop
|
Annotated bibliographies are lists of cited sources that include a brief summary. They allow you to explore how different types of sources contribute to the scholarly conversation and understanding of a research problem. They help to strengthen your analytical and evaluative skills. After this online workshop, you will be able to:
Facilitators: Alyssa Brissett & Melanee Vicedo
|
|
Organize Your Research with RefWorks |
This workshop will introduce you to the features of RefWorks, a citation manager available at no cost to all current USC students, staff and faculty. By the end of this workshop, you will be able to:
Facilitators: Melanee Vicedo & Alyssa Brissett |
|
APA In-Text Citations 7th Ed. |
This workshop will focus on how to format in-text citations as outlined in the APA Style Guide 7th edition. Attendees will have the opportunity to engage with a hands-on activity to practice the material covered and ask questions. After this workshop, you will:
Facilitator: Kelsey Vukic & Alyssa Brissett |
|
Search Strategies: Part 1 Access Recording
|
This workshop will introduce attendees to academic search strategies using USC Libraries research platforms. We will use keyword searching and search techniques to manipulate our search results. Learning outcomes:
Facilitator: Kelsey Vukic & Melanee Vicedo |
|
APA References 7th Ed. |
This workshop will focus on how to format common reference types as outlined in the APA Style Guide 7th edition. Attendees will have the opportunity to engage with a hands-on activity to practice the material covered and ask questions. After this workshop, you will:
Facilitators: Kelsey Vukic & Alyssa Brissett |
|
Get to Know ERIC (Education Information Resources Center) |
This session is useful for anyone conducting research in the area of education. By the end of the workshop, participants will be able to:
Facilitators: Melanee Vicedo & Alyssa Brissett |
|
Search Strategies: Part 2 |
This workshop will introduce attendees how to search by specific methodology, building on the search strategies introduced during Search Strategies Part 1. We will also search by citations for known research sources as a technique to expand searching. Learning outcomes:
Facilitator: Alyssa Brissett & Melanee Vicedo & Kelsey Vukic |
|
Advanced Searching: PsycINFO Access Recording
|
This workshop is an advanced overview of APA's PsycINFO database. Instructor will provide an overview on advanced search techniques and filters, how to utilize tools and features unique to PsycINFO in order to conduct keyword searches. Learning outcomes:
Facilitators: Kelsey Vukic & Alyssa Brissett |
Access recordings from past workshops.
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
|
Organize Your Research with Citation Managers (RefWorks & Zotero)
|
Citation managers, also called reference managers, help you keep track of your research, organize citations and create bibliographies. This workshop will introduce you to the basic features of most citation managers and will highlight two widely-used tools, RefWorks and Zotero. By the end of this workshop, you will be able to:
Facilitators: Melanee Vicedo & Kelsey Vukic |
|
Tracking Research Impact with Bibliometrics
|
Overview of how you can use citation counts to track research impact for individual authors and institutions. Participants will be able to use bibiliometric tools to find and track research impact and identify emerging trends in research.
Facilitators: Alyssa Brissett & Kelsey Vukic |
|
Organize your Research with EndNote Online |
EndNote Online, a web-based citation manager, helps you collect all your citations in one place, store PDFs and stay organized throughout the research and writing process. Facilitator: Hannah Schilperoort |
|
Organize Your Research with RefWorks |
Refworks, a web-based citation manager allows you to collect all your citations, store PDFs of articles and stay organized throughout the research and writing process. Facilitator: Melanee Vicedo |
|
APA 6th ed.: Citation and Reference Formatting |
Overview on how to format varying in-text citations and reference sources. Students attending the workshop will be given the opportunity to engage a with hands-on activity to practice the material covered and ask questions. Facilitator: Kelsey Vukic |