Research Guides: Inclusive and Responsible Dataset Usage: Datasets

Individual Datasets of Interest

ArtEmis: Affective Language for Visual Art
"a novel large-scale dataset and accompanying machine learning models aimed at providing a detailed understanding of the interplay between visual content, its emotional effect, and explanations for the latter in language"
DBpedia
Towards a Public Data Infrastructure for a Large, Multilingual, Semantic Knowledge Graph
PASS: An ImageNet replacement for self-supervised pretraining without humans
"PASS is a large-scale image dataset that does not include any humans and which can be used for high-quality pretraining while significantly reducing privacy concerns."

arXiv.org
Started in August 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles in the areas of physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology and statistics.arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library.

Dataverse
An open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data from all different disciplines. Allows individuals to set up their own data repository. Good for satisfying funder requirements for data management.

Open Access Directory (OAD) Data Repositories
A listing of open access data repositories in all subject areas with a concentration on the sciences. Good for identifying data repositories for your own data or finding raw datasets.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog
A large online library of free eBooks which are generally classic works out of copyright protection. You will find the classic books from the start of the 20th century and previous centuries, from authors like Shakespeare, Poe, Dante, as well as well-loved favorites like the Sherlock Holmes stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, the Tarzan and Mars books of Edgar Rice Burroughs, Alice’s adventures in Wonderland as told by Lewis Carroll, and thousands of others. Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks.
re3data - Registry of Research Data Repositories
A global registry of research data repositories and contents. This registry can be used to search for a data repository or datasets. Good for identifying data repositories for your own data or finding raw datasets.
PubMed Central
Free digital repository of publicly available full-text scholary journal articles in biomedical and life sciences. Articles are free to read without a subscription.

A-Z Databases
Wide collection of databases available though USC Libraries
Data Foundry
Data collections from the National Library of Scotland
Google Datasets Search
A search engine for datasets operated by Google
Harvard Dataverse
Hugging Face Datasets
A repository for users to share datasets publicly, operated by Hugging Face
Kaggle
A repository of public datasets operated by Kaggle, which also runs competitions related to machine learning.
MIT Lincoln Laboratory Datasets
A collection of datasets from the MIT Lincoln Laboratory, which researches and develops advanced technologies to meet critical national security needs.
Papers with Code
A resource for machine learning papers, code, datasets, methods and evaluation tables, operated by Meta AI.
RIsources: Research Infrastructure Portal
A portal and catalog operated by the German Research Foundation containing information about scientific research infrastructures which provide researchers with resources and services for planning and implementing research projects. This is a catalog of other catalogs and collections, including datasets.
UC Irvine Machine Learning Repository
The UCI Machine Learning Repository is a collection of databases, domain theories, and data generators that are used by the machine learning community for the empirical analysis of machine learning algorithms.