Find It @ USC
Unless a journal is open access, you will not be able to use the links provided directly from the publisher, or any other source found on the web, to obtain the full-text of articles. This is because those links are not customized with the required "fair use" copyright permissions provided through the Libraries' subscriptions to journals and databases [i.e., scholarly search engines].
- To facilitate access to full-text articles from the databases listed in this research guide, go to the USC Libraries main page and in the column of links above the search box, click on Sign In using your USC Net ID and password and the DUO authentication.
Signing in before you begin your review of the literature ensures that, when you search any of the Libraries' databases, full-text content that is not directly linked in the database can still be accessed. In these cases, look for the
button next to the item record. Clicking on this button should take you directly to the article.
Using the LibKey Noman Browser App
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that facilitates access to the Libraries' full text resources as you find research on the web. LibKey provides easy, one-click access to full text journal articles and other sources linked from websites like PubMed, Wikipedia, and publisher pages. For example, when you land on a journal publisher's website, either from a link embedded in another source or from sources found using a general search engine, Libkey Nomad will authenticate you as a student at USC with the privileges required to access the full text of materials currently provided by the Libraries.
Note that installation does not require you to create an account. For more information about LibKey's usage policy, visit the company's privacy policy page.
Installing LibKey Nomad
1. Download
- Click on the LibKey Nomad website.
- Download the LibKey Nomad application by selecting the browser(s) used on your computer or laptop. Follow all of the installation prompts from your browser.
- Currently, LibKey Nomad is available for the following browsers: Brave, Google Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Safari, and Vivaldi.
2. Configure
- Once installed, LibKey Nomad will prompt you to select your institution. Select the University of Southern California from the drop-down menu.
3. Service Details
Look for the LibKey Nomad button on websites with article information. The following options will appear when linking to a source:
- Download PDF: The USC Libraries has this item and you can download the full-text PDF with one click.
- Article Link: The USC Libraries has this item and you'll be directed to the article page where you can download the full text.
- Access Options: The USC Libraries does not have access to this item, but you will be directed to the Libraries' search engine where you can request it from our Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery service.