Research Guides: Medical Education: Resources

Journals

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database contains information on published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics. Updated monthly.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Locate measurement instruments such as surveys, questionnaires, tests, surveys, coding schemes, checklists, rating scales, vignettes, etc. Scope includes medicine, nursing, public health , psychology, social work, communication, sociology, etc.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Psychological, social, behavioral, health sciences database
PubMed@USC This link opens in a new window
Biomedical database
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Education database (including administration, teaching methods, and curriculum)

CLIPP (Computer-Assisted Learning in Pediatrics Programs)
more...less...
Approximately 70% of all medical students in the US are now using CLIPP with an average of 3,000-4,000 CLIPP cases completed each week.
NEJM Clinical Cases

ACGME - Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education
The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) is an independent, 501(c)(3), not-for-profit organization that sets and monitors voluntary professional educational standards essential in preparing physicians to deliver safe, high-quality medical care to all Americans. Graduate medical education (GME) refers to the period of education in a particular specialty (residency) or subspecialty (fellowship) following medical school; the ACGME oversees the accreditation of residency and fellowship programs in the US.
Association of American Medical Colleges
The AAMC leads and serves the academic medicine community to improve the health of people everywhere. Founded in 1876 and based in Washington, D.C., the AAMC is a not-for-profit association dedicated to transforming health through medical education, health care, medical research, and community collaborations.
Western Group on Educational Affairs (WGEA) (AAMC)
The WGEA is one of four regional groups of the AAMC Group on Educational Affairs (GEA).

HEAL, the Health Education Assets Library
This resource is a freely accessible, national library of high-quality digital multimedia to support all levels of health sciences education.
more...less...
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) was formed to facilitate sharing of multimedia resources in a freely accessible, highly searchable digital library. HEAL's mission is to provide free digital resources of the highest quality that meet the needs of today's health sciences educators and learners, and the librarians who serve them. The HEAL collection currently contains a number of collections of multimedia resources for health sciences undergraduate and professional education, as well as resources for patient and consumer health.

Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) This link opens in a new window
Collection of discipline specific learning materials and Content Builder webpages.
Find peer reviewed online teaching and learning materials. Share advice and expertise about education with expert colleagues.

MedEd Portal
Free peer-reviewed publication and repository produced by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) with teaching materials, assessment tools, and faculty development resources. Good for finding new lesson plans and inspiration for teaching.