Business & Accounting Libraries
This guide is part of a series that aims to provide resources for business-related topics and courses at Marshall and USC.
For additional research help, please contact us:
Databases at USC
For a complete list of USC Marshall Electronic Resources go to the Gaughan & Tiberti Electronic Resources web page.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowAcademic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
- Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth information on public and private US businesses. Especially useful for finding lists of smaller or regional companies.
- EBSCO Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database provides articles from business journals, magazines and newspapers including the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly and many others.
- EStatement Studies This link opens in a new windoweStatement Studies is the online version of the Annual Statement Studies produced by the Risk Management Association (RMA).
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowUse to find up-to-date information about companies and industries. Includes articles from newspapers and trade magazines, press releases, blogs, and business forecasters.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIndustry Market Research reports and Industry Risk Ratings. Focuses on United States, but has some data on global markets.
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new windowFind lengthy, detailed market reports or brief white papers describing all types of businesses. Covers international and US markets.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowProvides data about companies, including financials, exeutives, reports, filings, news, and comparisons with competitors. Build your own report to find exactly the data you need.
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowMintel Reports and Mintel Trends provide comprehensive, in-depth consumer and market analysis and trends. Mintel Global New Product Database includes detailed product data on new products in the food, drink, beauty and personal care, health and hygiene, home care and pet markets..
- Orbis This link opens in a new windowUS and international company information from Bureau van Dijk including Datamonitor market research and company reports (same content as Mint Global with a different interface).
- Passport This link opens in a new windowThe Passport/GMID (Global Market Information Database) by Euromonitor provides a wide range of consumer market and industry information in more than 80 countries around the world.
- ProQuest Business This link opens in a new windowProQuest Business provides full text access to articles, reports and other resources in nine databases including ABI/Inform, the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Business Dissertations, Historical Annual Reports and more. An excellent starting point for business research.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is one of the first statistic portals in the world to integrate data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single professional platform and providing companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Online Videos
Access to these video resources is provided by USC Libraries (USC credentials required to view these).
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKeyword search "entrepreneurship" or "start up", or a specific business function (marketing; communication), to find descriptive "how-to" videos.
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new windowLook under the 'Library' tab to find videos for Business, Marketing and IT software "how-tos".
- Films on Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowContains episodes of the PBS series Start-Up USA which profiles entrepreneurs throughout the U.S.
Books / Reference in Business Library
Search USC Libraries Catalog for books and periodicals using the following words and phrases:
- Entrepreneur(ship)
- Small Business
- New Business Enterprise
- Start Ups
- Business Plans
The Startup Playbook: founder-to-founder advice from two startup veterans by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2020
The Smart Start Up: fundamental strategies for beating the odds when starting a business by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2018
The Scale-Up Manual: handbook for innovators, entrepreneurs, teams & firms by Call Number: Business HD62.5 .P5185 2019Publication Date: 2018
Starting a Business All-In-One for Dummies by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2019Distilled from 10 bestselling For Dummies business titles.
Scaling Your Startup: mastering the four stages from idea to $10 billion by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2019
The Entrepreneur's Playbook: more than 100 proven strategies, tips & techniques to build a radically successful business by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2017
Heart, Smarts, Guts, and Luck: what it takes to be an entrepreneur and build a great business by Call Number: Doheny HB615 .T535 2012Publication Date: 2012
Get Backed: craft your story, build the perfect pitch deck, launch the venture of your dreams by Call Number: Doheny HG4027.6 B24 2015Publication Date: 2015
From Science to Startup: the inside track to technology entrepreneurship by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2016
Burn the Business Plan: what great entrepreneurs really do by Call Number: Doheny HB615 S367 2018Publication Date: 2018
The GuruBook: insights from 45 pioneering entrepreneurs and leaders on business strategy and innovation by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2018
Life Is a Startup: what founders can teach us about making choices and managing change by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2018Written by a Marshall faculty member
Find more books
Click her to find more books and ebooks on "entrepreneurship".
Entrepreneurship: TIPS FOR SEARCHING ARTICLE DATABASES AT USC
Search ARTICLE databases using terms like ENTREPRENEURSHIP, SMALL BUSINESS, SMALL ENTERPRISE, NEW BUSINESS, START-UPS (START UPS), PRIVATE ENTERPRISE.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowUse 'Advanced Search' to search keywords/phrases like: new business enterprise; entrepreneur; entrepreneurship; small business owners/ownership. Search 'Publications' for "entrepreneur" (or other titles like Wall Street Journal) to access related periodical titles.
- EBSCO Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database provides articles from business journals and magazines including the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Entrepreneur magazine, and Entrepreneurial Executive.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles with a more global focus, primarily European. Additional search filters include Industries, Regions, and Date.
Looking up Industry Codes - NAICS & SIC's
- Standard Industrial Classification Manual - 1987Call Number: Business Library Circulation Desk HF1042.A55 1987
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)Call Number: Business Library Circulation Desk HF1042.N678 2012
US Census - North American Industry Classification System: the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Standard Industrialization Codes (SIC) were originally developed in the mid-1980s and have been supplanted by NAICS codes, but are still used as indexing identifiers for businesses.
Industry Norms & Ratios
- EStatement Studies This link opens in a new windowSearch by NAICS industry code or keyword identifier.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowUse to find up-to-date information about companies and industries. Includes articles from newspapers and trade magazines, press releases, blogs, and business forecasters.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowReports for larger U.S. industries contain financial ratios for the last four years broken down by company size (Key Statistics sections).
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowContains financials and ratios going back 15 years for publicly traded companies only.
- Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowEach industry report has a Comparative Company Analysis section with profit/balance sheet/equity ratios for S&P 500 companies operating in that industry;
The Value Chain
The value chain is the set of activities contributing to the production, distribution and marketing of goods and services. The following resources will provide some information on the value chain or parts of the value chain.
Handbook of Manufacturing Processes: How Products, Components & Materials are MadeCall Number: Doheny TS183.B73 2007Publication Date: 2007- How Products are Made: An Illustrated Guide to Product ManufacturingCall Number: Business Reference: TS146.H697-volume set is available online
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowContains reports on hundreds of U.S., Global, and Chinese industries. Keyword search by industry name or company. Each industry report includes a section on COST Structure.
- Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowUnder the 'Markets' tab, search Industry Surveys to find reports on top industries in the U.S. Each report contains a "How the Industry Operates" section for value chain analysis.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowWithin each company's profile, click on the 'Supply Chain' tab to find Suppliers, Partners, and Customers.
Community Resources
- Governor's Office for Business & Economic Development (CA)Index to local government websites for economic development and enterprise zones.
- SCORE Los AngelesA regional branch of a national non-profit organization which offers counseling, legal advice and workshops for small business owners at a minimal cost.
- Entrepreneur MeetupsSanta Monica Young Entrepreneur Society Mastermind Forum
- Spark SCStudent organization dedicated to inspiring the entrepreneurial spirit at USC
- TroyLabsUSC student-run entrepreneurship organization
- USC Viterbi Startup GarageIncubator for early-stage technology startups
- Kairos SocietyOrganization for young entrepreneurs; USC operates a West Coast chapter.
- Ecosystem of Los Angeles StartupsRankings, Top Industries, Notable Startups, and start-up profiles for Los Angeles (managed by Startup Blink).
- Office of Women's Business OwnershipOperates under the auspices of the Small Business Administration
Public Resources
- E/O Global Entrepreneur IndicatorPublishes data and reports on the economic impact entrepreneurial ventures contribute to the global economy.
- GOOGLE for StartupsPrograms, Events and Resources for entrepreneurs and Start-ups. Also available via Google+
- Harvard Business School - Social EnterpriseScroll down the page to see lists of free articles and other publications.
- Harvard Business School Working Knowledge - EntrepreneurshipArticles and features on Entrepreneurship, some available at no cost.
- Babson College - Arthur M. Blank Center for EntrepreneurshipSearch for their annual Entrepreneurship Monitor reports
- Ewing Marion Kauffman FoundationDevoted to entrepreneurship, they publish their annual 'Kauffman Index of Entrepreneurial Activity" report (search under 'Research & Policy').
- State Business Tax Climate Index, 2023Best to Worst State Tax Systems for Entrepreneurship and Small Business; published annually by the Tax Foundation
- SBDCNet"This is the official National Information Clearinghouse of the U.S. Small Business Administration." Find free links to small business snapshots, market research resources, and help topics.
- OECD - Entrepreneurship & StatisticsA compilation of reports and data including the annual report "Entrepreneurship at a Glance" measuring the state of entrepreneurship globally.
Patents, Trademarks & Copyrights
- TrademarkiaSponsored by LegalForce; search for patents, trademarks, domain names, logos, and more.
Business Plans
There are a number of resources to help entrepreneurs create a business plan. The Gaughan & Tiberti Business Library has subscription access to the Business Plans Handbook (available in Gale Virtual Library database) a multi-volume set containing business plans of actual businesses. ProQuest also contains business plans (Browse / Business / Start-up Tools). These are other online resources for free business plans:
- How to Write a Business PlanFrom Entrepreneurship magazine
- MoreBusiness.comLook under the 'Templates' tab for "Business Plans"
- Write Your Business PlanGuidelines and templates from the Small Business Administration
Trade Journals
- Journal of Small Business & Enterprise Developmentavailable through various USC databases
- Small Businss Economicsvia SpringerLink
- StartupDigestfree online magazine
Industry Associations & Organizations
- CEO - Collegiate Entrepreneurs OrganizationCEO’s mission is to inform, support and inspire college students to be entrepreneurial and seek opportunity through enterprise creation.
- National Association for the Self-Employed/NASEMembership offers financial, legal and business advice for start-up companies.
- National Business AssociationNot-for-profit association offering resource materials to small businesses.
- TIE GlobalFostering enterpreneurship
- VentureWellFormerly NCIIA/National Collegiate Inventors & Innovators Alliance; Supports technology innovation and entrepreneurship in universities and colleges to create experiential learning opportunities for students and successful, socially beneficial businesses.
Trade Shows, Exhibitions, Events Calendars
Use these websites to find upcoming trade shows, exhibitions, or business networking events in your industry. Also, search for local "convention centers" (Los Angeles, Anahein, Long Beach, Las Vegas) and view their Calendars. Additionally, search for a specific industry association and see if they are sponsoring any upcoming events.
- Events in AmericaNorth America trade show & conference directory
General Internet Resources
- eCornerStanford University's website with links to videos and podcasts featuring interviews and lectures with notable entrepreneurs
- Self Made: NASE blogA business blog for self-employed and micro-businesses operated by NASE/National Association for the Self-Employed
- Entreprenuer.com Business Idea CenterFind basic start-up information for businesses in a number of different industries
- SpringWiseReports on new business ideas being developed globally by entrepreneurs
- StartUp America PartnershipA national network of startup communities
- TheLeapTVOne-on-one interviews (via YouTube) with successful entrepreneurs conducted by Prof. David Belasco of the Lloyd Greif Center for Entrepreneurial Studies.
- StartUp USAA public television show that interviews entrepreneurs and showcases their business, hosted by Gary Bredow.
- The Founder HourA bi-weekly podcast interviewing "the untold stories of the humans behind LA's hottest startups, businesses, and movements" hosted by USC alumni.
- FitSmallBusinessA digital resource for small businesses offering advice on marketing, financing, HR, and other business operations.
- StartUpBlinkSubscription based resource but plenty of content is free to view, including the Global Startup map listing "hundreds of thousands of registered startups and accelerators."