Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Day of the Dead - El Dia de los Muertos

Resources about Day of the Dead - El Dia de los Muertos.

Celebrate Day of the Dead with Leavey Library! Oct. 25-Nov. 2

Learn more about Day of the Dead (Día de los Muertos), a cultural celebration of life, death, and family originating in Mexico. Use the USC Libraries resources to explore:

 - View Exhibits in Leavey Library, 1st floor elevator lobby:  Día de los Muertos Around the World; José Guadalupe Posada's prints of calaveras (skulls)

- Use Online library research guide to find library collections and resources:  libguides.usc.edu/dayofthedead

- Take one of our calaveras buttons, 1st floor circulation desk:  a limited supply of buttons of Posada's calaveras will be released every day, Oct. 25-Nov. 2

- Make a paper marigold (Cempasúchil):  by the study rooms and print stations

- Explore calaveras with online jigsaw puzzles

José Guadalupe Posada, the famed Mexican printmaker, is perhaps best known for La Calavera Catrina -- a nearly ubiquitous symbol of the Day of the Dead. Contact the USC Libraries Special Collections to learn more about our José Guadalupe Posada collection. Visit our library resource guide at libguides.usc.edu/dayofthedead for more information about Día de los Muertos / Day of the Dead and José Guadalupe Posada

 

A collaboration of USC Libraries Leavey Library, Special Collections, and Dornsife College Department of Latin American and Iberian Cultures

Books and ebooks -- Day of the Dead | El Día de los Muertos

Databases -- full-text scholarly articles

Images

Videos and Streaming Media

Do Your Own Research: Helpful Search Terms to Get Started

Take the Virtual Library Orientation to learn how to search for resources in the USC Libraries:

bit.ly/uscliborientation

Here are some search terms to get you started in your research:

All Soul’s Day, or Day of the Dead, or Dia de los Muertos (celebrated from Oct. 31-Nov. 2)

Calaveras (skeletons/skulls; and reference to Posada’s Day of the Dead broadsides)

Jose Guadalupe Posada (Notable Mexican graphic artist/printmaker of Calaveras broadsides)

Pan de Muerto (bread for the Day of the Dead)

Papel picado (decorative paper cutouts)

See more terms:  https://www.tripsavvy.com/day-of-the-dead-vocabulary-1588706

View Posada's Calaveras

Original prints in the Boeckmann Center's Jose Guadalupe Posada Collection: Inquire at the Special Collection Reference Desk, Doheny Library, 2nd floor.  https://archives.usc.edu/repositories/3/resources/513

On the Web: Jose Guadalupe Posada Collection, Harry Ransom Center, Univ. of Texas, Austin.  http://hrc.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/landingpage/collection/p15878coll44#nav_top

Library of Congress:  calaveras arroyo - https://www.loc.gov/pictures/search/?q=calaveras%20arroyo&loclr=blogflt

Day of the Dead Events

 

Día de los Muertos | Hollywood Forever

Day of the Dead on Olvera Street

Día de los Muertos | Self Help Graphics & Arts

dia de los muertos los angeles

Past Events

Video Montage - Día de los Muertos, USC Leavey Library, October 31-November 1, 2018

El Día de los Muertos, Leavey Library, USC Libraries, Oct. 30 and 31, 2019, 1-4 p.m., Leavey Reflection Pool

DIA DE LOS MUERTOS AT USC 2019 - Dia de Los Muertos programming happening at USC, compiled by La CASA

Día De Los Muertos Festival, USC Sol Price School of Public Policy, Price Latino Student Association, Nov. 1, 2019, 5-7pm, RGL Courtyard