PubMed is a common starting database for health sciences literature reviews, and for some projects, will provide enough journal articles.
Databases index journals and no database includes all journals in all subject areas. If you are unable to find relevant materials in PubMed or, your question focuses on specific aspects of health sciences, you may want to use another database in addition to PubMed. See common sources for health sciences-related questions below; review the A-Z list of databases to see more; or ask a librarian.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowSimilar to PubMed; includes conference proceedings and more European journals.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowNursing and allied health literature. Good for questions about patient care, preferences, and behaviors.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPsychology. Good for questions about how people think and learn.
- Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new windowAll areas of biology; useful for questions on basic sciences.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowDatabase with coverage of all sciences. Good for questions about medical devices and technology.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes all areas of sciences. Good for multidisciplinary questions.
