Communication Research Databases
Here are a few databases to begin your research:
- Communication SourceCommunication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
- ABI/INFORM CompleteArticles from leading business journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers including the Wall Street Journal. Available through ProQuest Articles from leading business journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers including the Wall Street Journal. Available through ProQuest
- ProQuest Research -Multiple DatabaseProQuest Multiple Databases is a multi-disciplinary index. It simultaneously searches dozens of subject areas, indexes thousands of general and scholarly titles. It is an excellent starting place for research for a paper, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin their research.
- LexisNexis AcademicDatabase of full text online news, business, financial, legal, medical, biographical, government and domestic and international newspaper resources.
- GenderWatchGenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Subjects covered include: business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology, gender and women's studies and more
- FactivaArticles from leading business journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers with a broad selection of international content plus company and market data.
- ProQuest Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new windowLooking for the latest news on technology or market penetration of new technologies.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database for sports & sports medicine literature. Includes international literature, conference proceedings, audiovisuals and more. Coverage dates back to 1985.
Corporate Social Responsibility
The Business Librarians have created a Research Guide for Corporate Social Responsibility. There is a wealth of information for your topics.
Databases
- Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Business Abstracts with Full Text™ offers a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals: this comprehensive database contains the full text of articles from more than 510 key publications.
- EBSCO Business Source CompleteThis database provides articles from business journals, magazines and newspapers including the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly and many others.
- PsycINFOJournal articles, chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields.
- Sociological AbstractsSociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- LGBT Life with Full TextLGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Transsexual issues. Comprehensive coverage includes traditional academic, lifestyle, and regional publications and more...
- PAIS InternationalPublic affairs database.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals and books.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and much full-text coverage for music periodicals since 1874.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and much full-text coverage for performing arts periodicals since 1864.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus This link opens in a new windowThis essential tool for film studies, created by the International Federation of Film Archives, indexes more than 300,000 articles from 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFilm & Television Literature Index with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research.
- ERIC (ProQuest)The ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEducation database (including administration, teaching methods, and curriculum)
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science (a.k.a. Web of Knowledge): Provides citations covering over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings.
- IEEE XploreA comprehensive database deliving full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
- RDS Business SuiteA database of articles, statistics and tables drawn from a wide range of trade publications and business news sources. Search results are reported from Business & Industry, Business & Management Practices and TableBase.
search tips
Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords, or concepts related to your topic.
Keywords
travel, tourism, e-commerce, "mobile devices", smartphones, United States,vacations, digital travel, etc....
Use AND, OR, NOT to connect your phrases/keywords
to locate both smartphones AND travel
to locate either word U.S. OR United States
to locate (the first word) vacation NOT trip
* truncation symbol
travel* travels, travelers, traveling, traveled
Case Studies
Here are a few databases to locate Case Studies:
- EmeraldTo search for Case Studies, under Resources select Teaching Zone, then, Case studies Collection.
- WARCWARC provides a wide range of information on advertising and marketing trends around the world including expenditure data, case studies, industry trends and consumer insight.
- ProQuest Research LibrarySelect Advance Search and for Document type: select Case Study
Types of resources
peer-reviewed
scholarly articles
interviews
surveys
ethnography
case studies
books
government reports
book chapters
reports