Research Services at Norris Medical Library
The researcher's portal includes general resources for all types of researchers at USC. For help on specific subjects, visit our Subject Guides.
USC-affiliated researchers can also find assistance with all aspects of research projects at the USC Research website.
Research Navigator
- Biostatistics Core – SC CTSIThe Southern California Clinical and Translational Science Institute (SC CTSI) Biostatistics Core offers investigators a range of research resources, from funding opportunities and clinical trials units to mentorship and career development. Some services are free and others have a nominal cost.
- USC Optical Imaging FacilityThe Optical Imaging Facility specializes in cellular and subcellular fixed or dynamic imaging and analysis of biological material. The facility provides access to powerful microscopes that enable scientists to take high-resolution pictures of stem cells. These include still images and time-lapse videos. Cells or parts of cells can be labeled with fluorescent dyes, which enable better identification of molecules and structures within cells, or to trace the fate of cells as they migrate, divide and differentiate within tissues.
- USC Genomics CoreOffers high-throughput next-generation sequencing on various Illumina platforms, as well as an Ion Torrent PGM instrument. Our services also include library preparation and sample QC. If you are new to NGS, the experienced Core personnel can also help by offering guidance and advice on experimental design and data analysis.
- USC Transgenic/Knockout Rodent Core FacilityThe USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center Transgenic/Knockout Core Facility provides high-quality embryo and stem cell manipulation, microinjection and related services to the USC community, as well as non-USC researchers.
- USC Shared ServicesHere are over 60 research laboratories and services located at the University of Southern California main campus (UPC), Health Science Campus (HSC), and Children’s Hospital Los Angeles (CHLA), offering researchers access to state-of-the-art facilities, technologies, resources and expertise across academic disciplines and clinical specialties.
- AmiGOThis is a searchable database of gene and gene product attributes.
- BioGRIDThis is an online repository with data compiled through comprehensive curation efforts containing protein and genetic interactions from major model organism species.
- Biological Magnetic Resonance Data Bank (BMRB)BMRB is a repository for data from NMR spectroscopy on proteins, peptides, nucleic acids, and other biomolecules.
- ChemSpiderThis searchable database links together compound information across the web, providing free text and structure search access of millions of chemical structures.
- Comparative Toxicogenomics Database (CTD)CTD describes chemical interactions with genes and proteins, and associations between diseases and chemicals, and diseases and genes/proteins.
- ConsensusPathDB-humanThis searchable database integrates interaction networks in Homo sapiens including binary and complex protein-protein, genetic, metabolic, signaling, gene regulatory and drug-target interactions, as well as biochemical pathways.
- Crystallography Open Database (COD)COD gathers all available inorganic, metal–organic and small organic molecule structural data in one database.
- Database of Interacting Proteins (DIP)The DIP database catalogs experimentally determined interactions between proteins.
- European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI/EMBL)EMBL-EBI provides freely available data from life science experiments, performs basic research in computational biology and offers an extensive user training programme, supporting researchers in academia and industry.
- EMDataBankThis database allows deposition and retrieval of 3DEM density maps, atomic models, and associated metadata, as well as a resource for news, events, software tools, data standards, validation methods for the 3DEM community.
- GeneCardsThis is a searchable, integrated database of human genes that provides comprehensive, updated, and user-friendly information on all known and predicted human genes.
- GenomeRNAiThis database contains phenotypes from RNA interference (RNAi) screens in Drosophila and Homo sapiens. It also provides an updated resource of RNAi reagents and their predicted quality.
- Human Metabolome Database (HMDB)TheHMDB is a database containing detailed information about small molecule metabolites found in the human body.
- Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)This database provides authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes.
- Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes (KEGG)KEGG is an integrated database resource consisting of seventeen main databases that are broadly categorized into systems information, genomic information, chemical information, and health information.
- MetaboLightsThis is a database of information derived from metabolomics experiments which is cross-species, and cross-technique. It covers metabolite structures, reference spectra and their biological roles, locations and concentrations, as well as experimental data.
- miRBaseThis database contains published miRNA sequences and annotation. It also provides unique names for novel miRNA genes prior to publication of results.
- MorphoBankThis web application provides an online database and work-space for evolutionary research.
- National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)NCBI advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
- NMRShiftDBThis is a database of organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra.
- Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)OMIM is a database cataloging human genes and genetic disorders which contains textual information, links to sequences, and references.
- Pathway CommonsThis network biology resource allows access to biological pathway information collected from public pathway databases which can be searched, visualized, and downloaded.
- PeptideAtlasThis is a multi-organism database of peptides identified in a large set of tandem mass spectrometry proteomics experiments.
- Protein Circular Dichroism Data Bank (PCDDB)This data-bank is a repository for circular dichroism spectral and metadata.
- Protein DataBank (PDB)This provides access to experimentally determined structures for macromolecules (protein and nucleic acids) and includes search and visualization tools.
- ProteomeXchangeThis resource allows the submission and access of MS proteomics data to the main existing proteomics repositories. It also encourages optimal data dissemination.
- PRoteomics IDEntifications database (PRIDE)PRIDE is a centralized, standards compliant, public data repository for proteomics data, including protein and peptide identifications, post-translational modifications and supporting spectral evidence.
- Worldwide Protein Data Bank (wwPDB)This is a repository of information about the 3D structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.
- USC Transgenic/Knockout Rodent Core FacilityThe USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center Transgenic/Knockout Core Facility provides high-quality embryo and stem cell manipulation, microinjection and related services to the USC community, as well as non-USC researchers.
- WormBaseThis database provides information concerning the genetics, genomics and biology of C. elegans and related nematodes.
- Zebrafish Model Organism Database (ZFIN)ZFIN provides information on zebrafish. It includes a BLAST feature, gene information, anatomy resources, transgenic, mutant, and knockout data.
- European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI/EMBL)EMBL-EBI provides freely available data from life science experiments, performs basic research in computational biology and offers an extensive user training programme, supporting researchers in academia and industry.
- miRBaseThe miRBase database is a searchable database of published miRNA sequences and annotation and provides miRNA gene hunters with unique names for novel miRNA genes prior to publication of results.
- National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
- Biological Magnetic Resonance Data Bank (BMRB)Biological Magnetic Resonance Data Bank (BMRB) is a repository for data from NMR spectroscopy on proteins, peptides, nucleic acids, and other biomolecules.
- Coherent X-ray Imaging Data Bank (CXIDB)Coherent X-ray Imaging Data Bank (CXIDB) is a database which offers scientists from all over the world a unique opportunity to access data from Coherent X-ray Imaging (CXI) experiments.
- European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI/EMBL)EMBL-EBI provides freely available data from life science experiments, performs basic research in computational biology and offers an extensive user training programme, supporting researchers in academia and industry.
- MetaboLightsMetaboLights is a database for metabolomics experiments and derived information.
- NMRShiftDBNMRShiftDB is a NMR database for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra.
- Protein Circular Dichroism Data Bank (PCDDB)The protein circular dichroism data bank, a repository for circular dichroism spectral and metadata.
- PRoteomics IDEntifications database (PRIDE)PRIDE is a centralized, standards compliant, public data repository for proteomics data, including protein and peptide identifications, post-translational modifications and supporting spectral evidence.
- Worldwide Protein Data Bank (wwPDB)This is a repository of information about the 3D structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.
- WorldWideMolecularMatrix (WWMM)The WorldWideMolecularMatrix, an open collection of information on small molecules.
- Bioinformatics Resource Centers (BRCs)The Bioinformatics Resource Centers (BRCs) for Infectious Diseases program, a continuation and expansion of a program initiated in 2004, consists of five centers, each specializing in a different group of pathogens.
- BioPortalBioPortal is a repository of biomedical ontologies.
- Comparative Toxicogenomics Database (CTD)CTD describes chemical interactions with genes and proteins, and associations between diseases and chemicals, and diseases and genes/proteins.
- ConsensusPathDBConsensusPathDB-human integrates interaction networks in Homo sapiens including binary and complex protein-protein, genetic, metabolic, signaling, gene regulatory and drug-target interactions, as well as biochemical pathways.
- Health Records and StatisticsThe California Dept. of Health maintains comprehensive records about many aspects of Californian health.
- Human Metabolome Database (HMDB)The Human Metabolome Database (HMDB) is a freely available electronic database containing detailed information about small molecule metabolites found in the human body.
- Human Microbiome Project (HMP)The Human Microbiome Project characterizes microbial communities found at multiple human body sites and to look for correlations between changes in the microbiome and human health.
- Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)OMIM is a database cataloging human genes and genetic disorders which contains textual information, links to sequences, and references.
