Research Guides: Spanish (for Health Sciences): Spanish for Consumer Health

Spanish for consumers and consumer health

These resources provide information about conditions, diseases, diagnostic tests, and treatments, in English and Spanish. All resources have made an effort to create materials which can be read and understood by someone without advanced education in the health sciences; however, we recommend reviewing any material and making your own decision about its relevance and understandability before providing it to a patient.

AAFP (American Association of Family Physicians) Conditions A-Z
This textbook in the Stat!Ref collection provides brief, consumer-level descriptions of 1000+ common diseases, conditions, and medications. About half of these summaries are also available in Spanish.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
The patient education section provides ~3,000 handouts in Spanish (over 10,000 in English) covering common medical procedures, medications, and lab tests. The Specialties area pulls together handouts relating to a specific body system or specialty.
UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new window
Click on "patient education" to find 1000+ handouts for patients in English and Spanish covering common conditions, medical procedures, and RX and OTC medications. As this is a drug information resource, the medication section is very robust.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information. This US-government-produced website provides free medical information and is written for a non-professional audience. Also available entirely in Spanish.
MedlinePlus en Espanol This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information. This US-government-produced website provides free medical information and is written for a non-professional audience. Also available entirely in English.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Click on "CareNotes" to access 1500+ patient handouts in English and Spanish. This drug information resource has thorough coverage of OTC and RX medications; its focus on hospital settings means handouts cover acute care, inpatient care, and post-ER followup care. Unique coverage includes information about 100+ common laboratory tests.