Research Guides: Hospital Medicine: Databases

Databases

GIDEON This link opens in a new window
Database for diagnosing infectious diseases. Includes differential diagnosis tool, current information on disease outbreaks, and epidemiological data.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Access to MEDLINE database through Ovid. Citations to articles related to clinical and research information in the bio-medical sciences. Coverage ranges from 1946-present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
PubMed@USC This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstract database of sociology and social and behavioral sciences literature from 1952 to present. Includes journal articles, conference papers, books, and dissertations.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window
Clinical information tool with emphasis on dermatological and opthalmological disorders. Thousands of images of diseases and disorders on different locations and skin tones. Search by diagnosis or build a differential diagnosis.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.

Journal Club

The following resources critically appraise journal articles.

ACP Journal Club (Annals of Internal Medicine )
Previously a stand-alone journal, the ACP Journal Club has been incorporated as a section of Annals of Internal Medicine. It publishes critical reviews of other articles written by experts in the field- it's like having a journal club meeting.
Holdings: May 2008-present

Clinical Information Tools

Databases designed to provide information for clinicians at the point of care.

BMJ Clinical Evidence
Evidence-based evaluations of interventions for common clinical conditions. Developed in collaboration with the American College of Physicians and the American Society of Internal Medicine. Published by BMJ.
Updated monthly.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based resource covering multiple medical specialties. Includes topic monographs, patient education, practice updates, drug interactions, guidelines, and medical calculators. To obtain CME, create a personal profile and log in.

Mobile Resources

Check out our Mobile Resources Library Guide to see which resources are available on your smart phone!

Syntheses

Syntheses resources include the publication types: Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews provides access to full-text systematic reviews.

PubMed@USC This link opens in a new window
Limit search to publication types: Systematic Review or Meta-Analysis
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Limit search to publication types: Systematic Review or Meta-Analysis

Drug Information

UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new window
Monographs, ebooks and interactive tools covering over the counter and prescription drugs.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Brief and detailed monographs for prescription and over the counter drugs; The Red Book for drug pricing; interactive tools for interactions and compatibility; additional references on drug names, toxicology, patient education,and diseases.