Pharmacy Students: Year 2

Includes a pronunciation guide and basics of the language (nouns and genders, regular and irregular verb conjugation). Chapters named for health care settings-- "at the pharmacy," "at urgent care"-- provide common phrases and words used in these settings, and chapters with basic titles-- the family, the colors-- provide general vocabulary. Activities to test your knowledge are included.

Chapters are organized by system -- cardiology, gastrointestinal, etc.-- and include all needed vocabulary to conduct a patient history, order tests, and provide treatment, for a disorder of this system.
Includes common patient teaching needs-- how to use an inhaler, how to administer an ointment.
English-language puns are used as chapter and section titles. This makes retrieval of specific information in a chapter somewhat difficult.

After an introduction to pronunciation, several chapters follow 3 members of a fictional family-- a child, a teen, and an older adult-- as they receive health care for various ailments, including an ER visit and surgery. Unique features include vocabulary for interactions with social workers, dentists, optometrists, and herbalists.

Includes basic pronunciation and grammar, and vocabulary for medical personnel. Also includes vocabulary for making appointments, billing, referrals, and patient education.

Includes a pronunciation guide and basics of Spanish language. Later chapters cover nursing-specific vocabulary for patient assessment, intake, care, and discharge, in all nursing settings and for all groups. Includes practice exercises.

Includes CD-ROM (available on reserve)
Despite the name, this guide assumes you know the basics of pronunciation and verb conjugation. It includes basic medical vocabulary needed to take patient history, and additionally provides vocabulary for giving directions, food/nutrition, and other non-medical scenarios. Includes exercises and quizzes.

This guide provides layman's translations-- "abdomen" is translated as "estomago." Chapters focus on specific health care settings and include lists of questions to use to take patient history. All questions are phrased to provide yes/no answers. Unique features include chapters focusing on taking economic and social history, patient instructions, and tables of contrasting adjectives.

Focused on emergency and urgent care, each chapter provides 1-4 case studies focusing on one anatomical region. Unique features include detailed anatomical drawings with translations, and the inclusion of formal and informal grammar.
NOTE: Publisher’s license prohibits lending of CD-ROMs. Available for use in library only.

Section IV; "Translations" includes tables of common phrases and questions used in health care settings, translated and provided phonetically in Spanish, English, Korean, Cantonese, and Mandarin.

Each chapter focuses on a patient care setting and provides phrases and questions for a provider to use to gather history, and explain a diagnosis or treatment. Includes dental and psychologist settings in addition to home care, preventative visit, and hospital settings.

Vocabulary and grammar are presented in the medical history-taking scenarios. The cultural competencies content is quite unique-- formal vs. informal verb construction, typical cultural backgrounds of Spanish speakers, and guidance for when health care workers should find a licensed interpreter to assist with patient care.
NOTE: Publisher's license prohibits lending of DVD. Available for use in library only.

Includes a glossary and brief pronunciation guide. Each chapter is focused on a location or type of inpatient interaction (in the ER; in the maternity ward) and provides questions and answers usually needed in this situation.

In addition to specialized vocabulary for the pharmacy, this book includes many sample conversations between a pharmacist and patient; also provides some cultural contexts for Spanish speakers from Central America.
In Print & Electronic.

Structured questions to use in a variety of health care settings. All questions can be answered with Yes or No, making it easier for non-Spanish-speakers to ensure they understand patient responses. Includes patient instructions.

This book provides 5 chapters focusing on a different settings (clinic, emergency care), body systems, ages, and special issues, such as screening for child abuse and lead toxicity. Each chapter consists of 5-20 tables listing English phrases/words and their Spanish equivalents. This online book allows you to print or download an unlimited number of pages.

This book focuses on building rich and varied vocabulary. Sections focus on body systems and provide words for structures, abnormalities, and diseases/conditions.

This book provides 5 chapters focusing on a different settings (clinic, emergency care), body systems, ages, and special issues, such as screening for child abuse and lead toxicity. This online book allows you to download only 15 pages per day.

This book includes phrases, keywords, questionnaires, and pictograms to guide a Spanish-based conversation with a patient. It is best used by someone who has a basic understanding of the language and needs more guidance for pharmacy and medical-specific vocabulary.

Detailed illustrations of each body system, including Spanish and English names for body parts.