For Patients
Self-education materials for patients. Other languages are noted.
- Healthcare.gov This link opens in a new windowThis US government website uses plain language to explain current laws and regulations relating to health insurance and health care in the United States.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new windowConsumer health information. This US-government-produced website provides free medical information and is written for a non-professional audience. Also available entirely in Spanish.
- MedlinePlus en Espanol This link opens in a new windowConsumer health information. This US-government-produced website provides free medical information and is written for a non-professional audience. Also available entirely in English.
- Healthfinder This link opens in a new windowConsumer health website from the Office of Diesease Prevention and Health Promotion with over 1,400 health topics linking to government and non-profit organizations.
- National Institute on Aging - Health Information This link opens in a new windowHealth resource for older adults and their caretakers. Includes videos and health topics for older adults, and training resources for information providers.
- Physician Data Query (PDQ) from National Cancer Institute This link opens in a new windowComprehensive source of cancer information. Contains: PDQ Cancer Information Summaries, Editorial Boards, Levels of Evidence, NCI Drug Information Summaries; NCI Dictionaries, Cancer Genetics Services. Selected content available in Spanish, Chinese, Japanese, and Arabic.
- UpToDate - Patient Education This link opens in a new windowFreely available patient education materials about common medical conditions and procedures.
- The Jed FoundationThe Jed Foundation (JED) is a nonprofit that protects emotional health and prevents suicide for our nation’s teens and young adults, giving them the skills and support they need to thrive.
- KidsHealthNemours® KidsHealth® was founded in 1995 for sharing knowledge, advice, perspective, and comfort with families everywhere. All content is available in English & Spanish.
- Medical Board of CaliforniaIts mission is to protect health care consumers through the proper licensing and regulation of physicians and surgeon, and to promote access to quality medical care.
- National Alliance on Mental Health (NAMI)NAMI provides advocacy, education, support and public awareness so that all individuals and families affected by mental illness can build better lives. All content is available in English & Spanish.
- Pubmed Patient Education HandoutsSearch a condition or topic, then see Article Type filter on the left of results. Choose Additional filters button. Find and tick box next to Patient Education Handouts.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Service Administration (SAMSHA)SAMSHA is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation.
For Health Professionals - USC Resources
Resources intended for use by health care professionals to educate patients.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of medical textbooks, board review books and clinical support books. In addition, there are self-assessment modules with case studies and multiple choice questions. Good for study and review of basic medical topics.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowOnline collection of ebooks, journals, guidelines, patient education handouts, drug monographs, images, and videos focusing on clinical health care. Includes MEDLINE full-text.
- UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new windowMonographs, ebooks and interactive tools covering over the counter and prescription drugs.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowBrief and detailed monographs for prescription and over the counter drugs; The Red Book for drug pricing; interactive tools for interactions and compatibility; additional references on drug names, toxicology, patient education,and diseases.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based resource covering multiple medical specialties. Includes topic monographs, patient education, practice updates, drug interactions, guidelines, and medical calculators. To obtain CME, create a personal profile and log in.
- Health Misinformation Resources from the National Network of Libraries of MedicineThis guide aims to provide libraries, medical professionals, and others with tools and knowledge to address health misinformation effectively.
For Health Professionals - USC eBooks and eJournals
Resources intended for use by health care professionals to educate patients.
- AAFP (American Association of Family Physicians) Conditions A-ZThis textbook in the Stat!Ref collection provides brief, consumer-level descriptions of 1000+ common diseases, conditions, and medications. About half of these summaries are also available in Spanish.
American Diabetes Association Guide to Nutrition Therapy for Diabetes by ISBN: 1580406483Publication Date: 2017Topics covered include: Macronutrients and micronutrients, Nutrition therapy for pregnant women, youth, older adults, and people with prediabetes, Nutrition therapy for hospitalized and long-term care patients, Celiac disease, eating disorders, and diabetes complications, Cost-effectiveness of nutrition therapy, health literacy and numeracy, and community-based diabetes prevention programs.
What Your Patients Need to Know about Psychiatric Medications by ISBN: 9781585625086Publication Date: 2016A resource for clinical social workers, clinical psychiatrists, psychiatric nurses and residents, and community and psychiatric pharmacists. It is also a source of accessible, jargon-free guidance for patients, who can leave the physician's office with tangible material about their specific medication, which they can retain and refer to later.
