Clinical Information Tools
Databases designed to provide information for clinicians at the point of care.
- BMJ Clinical EvidenceEvidence-based evaluations of interventions for common clinical conditions. Developed in collaboration with the American College of Physicians and the American Society of Internal Medicine. Published by BMJ.
Updated monthly.
Websites
- Medscape Drugs and Diseases This link opens in a new windowA free point of care tool with evidence based and physician reviewed articles on diseases and drug monographs for both prescription and over the counter medications. Also, has a pill identifier, drug interaction checker and calculators. Useful for easy to understand information.
- FacultyOpinions This link opens in a new windowCreate a free account in this free resources, which identifies and evaluates the most important, interesting, or novel articles in biology and medical research publications. Read article recommendations from leading scientists and clinicians.
Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM)
Databases
- FacultyOpinions This link opens in a new windowCreate a free account in this free resources, which identifies and evaluates the most important, interesting, or novel articles in biology and medical research publications. Read article recommendations from leading scientists and clinicians.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowObtain USC full-text by setting Scholar Preferences to USC. Go to Scholar Preferences; type in “University of Southern California” in Library Links; select “ University of Southern California - Find it @ USC”.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowAccess to MEDLINE database through Ovid. Citations to articles related to clinical and research information in the bio-medical sciences. Coverage ranges from 1946-present.
- PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new windowThis collection gives access to: DSM Library (including the DSM 5), self-assessment tools, news, and consumer health information.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology Online This link opens in a new windowE-book platform including Stahl's Illustrated series, Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology, Prescribers Guide: Drug Interactions.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
