Holocaust & Genocide Studies - Primary Source Materials at USC: Holocaust & Genocide Studies Related Databases

“German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is a comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery. The materials are presented in ten sections, which have been compiled by leading scholars. All of the materials can be used free of charge for teaching, research, and related purposes; the site is strictly intended for individual, non-commercial use.”

"The Museum’s Collections document the fate of Holocaust victims, survivors, rescuers, liberators, and others through artifacts, documents, photos, films, books, personal stories, and more. Search [the collections] to view digital records and find material that you can access at our library and at the Shapell Center."

"Testaments to the Holocaust is the online publication of the archives of the Wiener Library, London, the first archive to collect evidence of the Holocaust and the anti-semitic activities of the German Nazi Party."

Yad Vashem's Digital Collections contain many databases of information pertaining to the Holocaust, including bibliographical information about victims, a photo archive, a film database, and an extensive online documents archive.

"The purpose of oral history testimony is not only to gather facts, but also to gain a deeper understanding of events as they were lived and filtered through personal reflection. Unlike most documentation from this period - written by the perpetrators – oral testimony gives a voice to the survivors and other witnesses, allowing them to speak directly about their personal experiences. The USC Shoah Foundation testimonies are unedited, primary sources of information. Each interview consists of a single survivor or other witness speaking about his or her life before, during, and after the war, guided by questions from a trained interviewer. The interviews average two and a half hours in length."

"Since its founding in 2014, the USC Dornsife Center for Advanced Genocide Research (previously USC Shoah Foundation Center for Advanced Genocide Research) has been dedicated to advancing innovative interdisciplinary research on genocide, focusing on transforming the way we understand the origins, dynamics, and consequences of mass violence, as well as the conditions and dimensions of resistance."

"National Socialism, Holocaust, Resistance and Exile, 1933-1945 and Daily Reports of the Gestapo Headquarters Vienna, 1938-1945."

"A growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals. Some backfiles date back to the early 1800s. Fields covered include: anthropology, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, literature, biology."

"Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 5,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Periodicals Index Online is unique in combining a broad subject base with deep chronological coverage going back over 300 years. It covers 37 key subject areas in the humanities and social sciences and offers vast variety within these subject areas."

"Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE, launched in January 2012, offer top quality book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content."

"WorldCat is an online union catalog of materials held by OCLC member libraries. OCLC, Online Computer Library Center, is a nonprofit, membership, library computer service and research organization. WorldCat contains millions of bibliographic records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Item records provide information about individual library holdings. Types of materials include books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, sound recordings, films and slides, maps, videotapes, and manuscripts written as early as the 12th century. Updated daily."