Research Guides: Chem 105a/107a: General Chemistry: Reference Sources

Chemistry Dictionaries/References

This is a short list of available chemical dictionaries and reference sources available here at USC. These sources are important for finding reliable and authoritative chemical information. HINT: When searching Merck Index Online, search for chemical formulas in [brackets]. Sort your search results by molecular weight to find the original compound you are looking for. The Merck Index will search for the original compound as well as derivatives, so you will see several results.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Please note:
-If you receive an error message when attempting to access, please try opening the link in an incognito or private browser window. Clear browser cache and cookies as well.
-If you are warned about a security risk, you can accept the risk and continue onto the site. For more information, see this FAQ: https://libanswers.usc.edu/faq/21489
-USC provides *10 seats* to access this resource.

Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window
The Merck Index Online is a fully-searchable database with over 11,500 monographs on chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. In addition, the Merck Index includes a reference of over 500 named organic reactions and reference tables that include common abbreviations, chemical structures, constants, and conversions.
The new online edition also includes historical records not available in the print edition. In addition, the Merck Index includes a reference of over 500 named organic reactions and reference tables that include common abbreviations, chemical structures, constants, and conversions.
CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
CHEMnetBASE is a collection of chemistry databases from CRC Press, which can be subscribed to individually or collectively. USC provides *10 seats* to access this resource.
CHEMnetBASE includes: Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, Combined Chemical Dictionary, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Marine Natural Products, Dictionary of Food Compounds, Dictionary of Carbohydrates, Polymers: A Property Database, Properties of Organic Compounds.
PubChem This link opens in a new window
Repository of chemical data focusing on biological activities of small molecules. Find physical, biological, and chemical properties, and relationships to health and disease.
ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
This free chemical database collates structure and property information from both experiments and predictions. Also includes curated list of literature and datasets relating to a chemical.

General Science and Engineering Database

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Chemistry Specific Databases

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
The web-version of MDL CrossFire, with additional valuable information:
* three databases: CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database
* organic, inorganic, and organometallic structures and reactions.
* synthesis planner: plans and proposes optimum synthesis route
* Multi-step reactions to identify precursor reactions underlying synthesis of target compounds
* Additional search capabilities such as the ability to generate structure query from names or phrases

SciFinder
Registration is required. Please see https://libguides.usc.edu/chem/scifinder for more information.