Quick Start - Maps and Data
The USC Library resources listed below will get you started in finding GIS and spatial data.
- PolicyMapAn interactive map viewer allows you to look at data that is focused on various issues around policy, including data on demographics, income and spending, housing, lending, quality of life, economy, education, health, and more.
- Social ExplorerAllows users to visually display demographic data in theU.S. from 1790 through the present at a variety of geographic levels, createreports, maps and animations that can be downloaded.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowA web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census and American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Points-of-Interest business file providing access to over 5 million US business profiles. Includes MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories, and the MOSAIC consumer lifestyle segmentation system. Data is available down to the Census Block Group level.
- SAGE Data This link opens in a new windowSage Data (formerly Data-Planet) is an interactive database that allows users to create tables, maps, and figures from a variety data sources covering banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is one of the first statistic portals in the world to integrate data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single professional platform and providing companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Quick Start - Articles
The resources listed below will get you started in finding GIS and spatial related literature.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary collection that features collections in Earth and Environmental sciences as well as Architecture and Planning. This database also provides access to "Transactions in GIS" a key journal for spatial and GIS research
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals and books.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowDatabases of resources for arts, business, humanities, social sciences, science and newspaper resources.
- SAGE Research Methods Online and Cases This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods includes books, articles, encyclopedias, and videos covering social science research design and methods including the complete Little Green Book series of Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences and the Little Blue Book series of qualitative research. Also includes case studies outlining the research methods used in real research projects.
