Research Guides: Chem 105b/107b: General Chemistry: Reference Sources

Chemistry Reference Sources

This is a short list of available chemical dictionaries and reference sources available here at USC. These sources are important for finding reliable and authoritative chemical information.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
CHEMnetBASE is a collection of chemistry databases from CRC Press, which can be subscribed to individually or collectively. USC provides *10 seats* to access this resource.
CHEMnetBASE includes: Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, Combined Chemical Dictionary, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Marine Natural Products, Dictionary of Food Compounds, Dictionary of Carbohydrates, Polymers: A Property Database, Properties of Organic Compounds.
Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window
The Merck Index Online is a fully-searchable database with over 11,500 monographs on chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. In addition, the Merck Index includes a reference of over 500 named organic reactions and reference tables that include common abbreviations, chemical structures, constants, and conversions.
The new online edition also includes historical records not available in the print edition. In addition, the Merck Index includes a reference of over 500 named organic reactions and reference tables that include common abbreviations, chemical structures, constants, and conversions.

Sigma-Aldrich
One of the leading chemical production companies in the world. They provide free information on all chemicals they produce.

PubChem This link opens in a new window
Repository of chemical data focusing on biological activities of small molecules. Find physical, biological, and chemical properties, and relationships to health and disease.
ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
This free chemical database collates structure and property information from both experiments and predictions. Also includes curated list of literature and datasets relating to a chemical.