JOUR 200w: The Power and Responsibility of the Press: Historical Newspapers

A complete listing of all Newspaper Databases!

Newspapers from the 1800's to 2007. Text of the news article only.

America's Historical Newspapers Part of Readex's Archive of Americana, this resource includes Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and selected historical newspapers

The Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to African American Studies that includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), key historical African American newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.

Newspapers from 22 U.S. states published from 1808-1980.

Over 24,000 pages from twenty-five titles of relocation camp newspapers, from 1942-1945.

Covers 1960-1989.

Covers 18th and 19th century newspapers, including African American Newspapers: The 19th Century, The Liberator (1831-1865), Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), Charleston Mercury, NY Herald, Richmond Enquirer, South Carolina Gazette.

Covers 1685-1815 and serves as a portal to mostly British newspapers and periodicals.

Covers 1970-1991.

Papers from CA, FL, KY, NY, UT, NA, and DC published between 1900-1910.

Complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

The HarpWeek Database contains scanned images of Harper's Weekly, a prominent 19th- and 20th-century American magazine that began publication in 1857.

American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.

This database provides access to the full runs of eight newspapers from 1840-1865 and nearly 2000 pamphlets focusing on the entire Civil War era, from Manifest Destiny through the end of the Civil War. Materials were specifically selected for regional and diverse perspectives they offer; newspapers

19th Century Masterfile brings together over 60 subject indexes to: Periodicals; Newspapers; Books; US Congressional Record; US and UK Government Documents;US Patents.

The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

The archive provides searchable full-text access to articles, as well as images of covers, from 1923 to the present.

Covering the years 1929-1991 the archive features the complete 62-year run of, the BBC periodical published from 1929-1991. The Listener was a weekly magazine established by the BBC in 1929 under its Director-General Lord Reith. It was the intellectual counterpart to the BBC listings magazine, Radio Times.

The Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957 consists of the complete, fully searchable facsimile archive of The Picture Post, the iconic newspaper published in Britain from 1938-1957 that defined the style of photojournalism in the 20th century. The Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957 provides students and researchers with online access to a unique visual record of the 1930s to 1950s - from the humorous and light-hearted snapshots of daily life to the serious and history defining moments of domestic and international affairs.

People Weekly 1974 to present in Freely Accessible Arts & Humanities Journals.

A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement has been digitized to the highest standard, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by designer and brand names.

The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.Covers 1868 - 1945.

Atlanta Daily World offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue, beginning December 1931.Covers 1931-2003.

The Boston Globe offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (March 4, 1872). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Robert Sengstacke Abbott founded the Defender in May 1905, and by the outbreak of the First World War it had become the most widely-read African American newspaper in the country, with more than two thirds of its readership based outside Chicago. When Abbott died in 1940, his nephew John Sengstacke became editor and publisher of the Defender, which began publishing on a daily basis in 1956.Covers 1910-1975.

The Chicago Tribune offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (April 23, 1849). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.Covers 1849-1986.

The Christian Science Monitor offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (Nov. 25, 1908). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

The Hartford Courant offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (May 24, 1764). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

The Historic Los Angeles Sentinel provides full-text access to the most important African-American newspaper published in Los Angeles, from its founding in 1934 through 2005.

The Los Angeles Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (Dec. 4, 1881). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.Covers 1922-1993.

Covers 1851-2000.

https://libproxy.usc.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com.libproxy.usc.edu/hnppittsburghcourier/news/fromDatabasesLayer?accountid=14749Covers 1911-2002.

The Wall Street Journal offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (July 8, 1889). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.Covers 1889-1988.

Covers 1877-1990.

Variety (Archive: 1905-2000)