It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tip 1. Examples of subjects and key words to use when searching databases and online library catalogs recommended in this LibGuide:
Ethnic Press--United States,
Hispanic American newspapers,
Hispanic American journalists,
Journalism--Mexican-American border region,
Mexican American and mass media
Tip 2. When searching in special subject databases such as the Chicano Database and the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI Online), use only words in English or Spanish such as
Welcome to the guide to Latino and Spanish language newspapers published in the United States!
This guide is designed to help you learn more about the history and role of the Latino and Spanish-language press in the daily life and political struggles of communities in Los Angeles and throughout the United States.
It provide assistance in locating books, articles, Web, microform and printed primary sources.
The resources in this guide cover a wealth of information about the often "forgotten pages" of U.S. Latino and Spanish-language newspapers from 1808 to the present.
From Readex Newsbank, this collection contains many Fulltext Spanish language newspapers from 22 states in the United States. Searchable by dates and "eras", article types, languages, place of publication, and newspaper title.
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
Provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch, with over 300,000 full-text articles dating from 1959-1989. Pivotal events in these decades are covered - the civil rights struggle, Vietnam War protests, dramatic changes in immigration law and more.
US Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English. All of the content in ProQuest US Hispanic Newsstream is available on the ProQuest platform and is cross searchable with other ProQuest databases.
US Latino Newspapers: Microfilm and Hardcopy
Most of these primary resources, with two exceptions, are located in the Boeckmann Center for Iberian and Latin American Studies. To view them inquire at the Special Collections Reference Desk, on the second floor of Doheny Library, or send email to firstname.lastname@example.org make an appointment with the Librarian.
A large collection of mainly Chicano journals, newspapers, newsletters, etc from the 1970s to present. The complete collection of the microfilm is available in the Boeckmann Center for Iberian and Latin American Studies, Special Collections Dept.
De Norte a Sur (New York) [microfilm]
Uruguayan and Argentine immigrant weekly. Distributed on the West Coast. Some hardcopy issues available.
Holdings from 1926 to 1993. Page from Grand Library.
See also the article by Francine Medeiros, "La Opinion, a Mexican exile newspaper: a content analysis of its first years, 1926-1929" In the journal Aztlan, v.11, no. 1 (Spring, 1980), pgs. 65-87. Also available online at USC.