Astronomy *: Research Databases

The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project which maintains four bibliographic databases containing more than 3.6 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and preprints in Astronomy.

Comprehensive database of engineering literature, including subjects like Computers & Data Processing and Electronics & Communication. Searches Compendex, Inpsec, and Knovel.

An archive and distribution server in areas, such as: physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. arXiv is a repository of electronic preprints approved for posting after moderation, but not full peer review.

Searches citations in major journals across scientific disciplines. Tracks the number of times articles and authors are cited by others.

Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.

The ACM Digital Library is the world’s most comprehensive database of full-text articles and bibliographic literature covering computing and information technology.

Created through a partnership between NASA and the Internet Archive, NASA imagines offers public access to NASA's image, video, and audio collections in a single, searchable resource.

Maintained by the Centre de Donnes astronomiques de Strasbourg (CDS), France, it provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system.

The SPIRES-HEP database has been run by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center(SLAC) since the late 1960's as a database of particle physics literature. SLAC also collaborates with other physics institutions around the world on SPIRES.

The SPIE Digital Library contains the world's largest collection of optics and photonics applied research. With more than 445,000 papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging, the SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive research database available on optics and photonics research.