History, Western Europe *: Historical Statistics

DATA AND STATISTICS--COMPREHENSIVE

• Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive – database provides internationally comparable observations on government expenditure, population, territorial size, per capita GDP, trade, infrastructure, conflict events, elections, legislative process and international status indicators for over 200 countries and territories since 1815 with continual updates.
• Google Dataset Search -- facilitates searching approximately 25 million datasets provided by government, public, and private groups. Users can filter results based on the type of data desired [e.g., images or text]. Data availability is based on the original source being formatted using schema.org standards, an open discovery standard for data on the web.
• National Statistical Offices -- a directory of country-specific statistical agencies maintained and updated by the United Nations Statistics Division. Also included is a list of countries and organizations which includes a brief history of the country's statistical system, legal basis, the statistical program and much more.
• Statista – a portal that integrates data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources from more than 22,500 sources in over 150 countries onto a single search platform, providing direct access to quantitative data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
• UNData -- searchable statistical database provided by the United Nations Statistics Division that provides access to current statistics. The database covers a number of different areas such as employment, industry, and trade. A single interface facilitates the creation of customizable tables and the use of various filters and search options to sort and locate specific statistical information.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

DATA AND STATISTICS--WESTERN EUROPE

European NUTS-Level Election Database – provides national and European parliamentary election results on the level of Eurostat’s Regional election results are presented according to the Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics (NUTS) level 2 and 3 administrative units, covering all EU (and associated) countries over the period 1990-2020. EU-NED is integrated with the Party Facts platform, allowing for a seamless integration of a wealth of party-level data.

European Regional Election Data – contains European, national, and regional election results and turnout for European Parliament elections, national parliamentary elections, and regional assembly elections all disaggregated at the regional level for thirty countries for elections held between 1945 and 2015, with some 2021 results as well. Also provides datasets comparing the national and regional vote in elections

EUROSTAT: Statistical Office of the European Communities – provides socioeconomic, demography, agricultural, environmental, and industry and trade statistics for the European Union and the euro-zone. Eurostat's main responsibilities are to provide statistical information to the institutions of the European Union (EU) and to promote the harmonization of statistical methods across its twenty-seven member states. The site’s Glossaries and Thesauri page may be a useful starting point for getting a handle on international statistical classifications.

International Historical Statistics. Europe, 1750-2005 [Doheny Library LA Times Reading Room, HA1107 .M5 2007] –  available only in print, this book provides key economic and social indicators for European countries over the last 255 years, serving as an essential reference source for historical data.

EUROPEAN STATISTICAL AGENCIES