Los Angeles and Southern California *

Part of Readex's Archive of Americana. Provides access to over 3,200 newspapers.
Collections include: Early American Newspapers Series 1-13 (1690-1922),; African American Newspapers, Series 1 & 2 1827-1998; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.

Includes 59 California newspapers (26 from L.A. area)
Dates available: 1850-2000; dates/issues vary by publication
Titles include:
California Courier (1958-2000), Daily Democratic State Journal (1853-1858), [San Jose] Evening News (1884-1900), Prensa (1917-1937), Heraldo de Mexico (1917-1928)

Published in Glendale, CA. Dates: 2006-present.

CDNC, from UC-Riverside’s Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research, contains over 1,500,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846 to present.

Holdings include:
- Amador Ledger (1852-1911)
- Imperial Valley Press (1901-1911
- Los Angeles Herald (1873-1910)
- Pacific Rural Press (1871-1922)
- Sacramento Daily Union (1851-1899)
- San Francisco Call (1890-1913), and more.

Spotty coverage through the Internet Archive.

The West's oldest African-American newspaper, published from 1879-1964. John James Neimore established it in Los Angeles as The California Owl in 1879, to ease black settlers' transition to the West. The paper evolved into one of the leading papers of the day while under the control of Charlotta A. Bass and her husband, Joe Bass. Charlotta Bass assumed control of The Owl following the death of Neimore in 1912, and renamed it The California Eagle.

This is a catalog that contains records for over 14,400 U.S. newspaper titles held in California repositories (libraries, museums, historical societies and publishers' offices) and close to 9,000 of these newspapers were or are published in California.

Newspapers include:
- Los Angeles Daily Herald (1873-1876), Daily Los Angeles Herald (1878-1884), Los Angeles Daily Herald (1884-1890), Los Angeles Herald (1890-1893), The Herald (1893-1898), Los Angeles Herald (1905-1910)
- Imperial Press (4/20/1901-10/26/1901), The Imperial Press and Farmer (1901-1903), The Imperial Press (1903-1905), Imperial Valley Press and The Imperial Press (1906-1907), and Imperial Valley Press (1907-1910).
- The Morning Call (1890-1895), The San Francisco Call (1895-1913), The Call-Chronicle-Examiner (4/19/1906),The San Francisco Call and Post (1913)
- Amador Ledger (1900-1910)
- Sacramento Daily Record-Union (1880-1891), The Record-Union (1891-1899)

Dates available (through the USC Digital Library): 1855-1859

The first Spanish-language newspaper in California after the American occupation. Founded by the former Spanish editor of the Los Angeles Star, Francisco P. Ramirez, a 19-year old printer. Published weekly.

Includes 43 newspapers from California.
Titles include: Chicano (1968-1977), Heraldo de Mexico (1917-1928), Prensa (1917-1937), Hispano America (1918-1931). Searchable by dates and "eras", article types, languages, place of publication, and newspaper title.

Available on microfilm, 1929-1993.
Current issues (1992-present) available in ProQuest.

Dates available (through the USC Digital Library): Late 1920-1961

Donated to USC in 1978 by the Los Angeles Herald Examiner Division of the Hearst Corporation. This collection consists of approximately 1.4 million prints and negatives from the Los Angeles Examiner newspaper, of which over 21,000 have been digitized. Coverage is broad including crime, sports, society, art, and entertainment. Note: USC Libraries does not hold full issues of the Los Angeles Examiner.

The Los Angeles Examiner was a daily newspaper, published in the afternoon on weekdays (Herald-Express) and in the morning on weekends (Examiner). The afternoon and morning papers merged in 1962 (Herald Examiner).

Dates covered in ProQuest Historical Newspapers: 1934-2005

One of the oldest, largest, and most influential African-American newspapers in the Western United States.

Dates available in ProQuest Historical Newspapers: 1881-2010

Provides access to over 200 newspapers published in California.

Key California Japanese American newspaper. USC currently has partial coverage of 1936-1953, and is continuing to build its collection for these years.

Dates available in ProQuest Historical Newspapers: 1865-1922

USC Digital library has digitized copies of the Daily Trojan from 1912-present.

The DT is also available on microform, 1912-2004 in USC's Archives (DML 209); or online from 11/2000 - 09/30/2009 via the Library's Access World News Database; or 5/2009-present on Daily Trojan Website: http://dailytrojan.com/archives/