Digital Theatre Plus is the immersive platform for English Literature and Performing Arts that brings contemporary theater to life. Digital Theatre collaborates with leading theater companies worldwide to develop their engaging collection of filmed and written content, including exclusive backstage insights.
Contains documentaries from leading film producers and distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, the BBC, the National Film Board of Canada, CBC, Television Trust for the Environment, MediaStorm, Terra Nova Films, KimStim, and Scorpion TV, and other independent filmmakers from around the world.
The Docuseek2 Collection has a focus on environmental studies and sciences, sociology, anthropology, global studies, area studies, women’s studies, history, political science, criminal justice, health, psychology, the arts, and more.
Kanopy is a streaming video service that provides access to videos on the following topics: Film & Popular; Education (k-12); Global Studies & Languages; Health; Media & Communication; and Social Sciences.
While the texts of plays can serve as lasting documents, the productions are ephemeral; a live performance is gone when the curtain falls. And yet the collaborative elements of theatre in performance—the work of the actors, directors, and designers—have tremendous scholarly and educational value long after a production closes. Now, faculty, scholars, and patrons of the performing arts will be able to revisit great performances again and again, and these landmark events can become a permanent part of the curriculum.
Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all.
Represented are hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Included are landmark performances such as The Iceman Cometh, Awake and Sing, Dom Juan, Krapp's Last Tape, and the complete works of Shakespeare as produced by the BBC and other theatrical companies. Notable actors Claire Bloom, Laurence Olivier, Colleen Dewhurst, Richard Dreyfuss, Walter Mathau, Meryl Streep, Anthony Hopkins, Helen Mirren and more. Students, instructors and researchers can bookmark specific scenes, monologues and staging.
This academic streaming collection offers film titles drawn mostly from popular production companies and includes films, documentaries and TV shows. USC Libraries will maintain a collection of at least 200 titles however the availability of titles may vary. Preference will be given to those titles that have been requested by faculty for reserves.
The Audio Drama Collection delivers more than three hundred important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation's premiere radio theatre company.
The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening. Specialized indexing at the track level for over half of these recordings links individual segments of plays to specific academic disciplines and subject keywords.