It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the guide to research resources on Latin America!
This guide offers an overview of research resources in the humanities and social sciences at USC for the study of Latin America. The term was originally coined in the 19th century by the French under Napoleon III as part of his grand scheme for the Americas. As used in this context it refers to all of the Americas south of the United States, including Mexico, the countries of Central and South America and the islands of the Caribbean.
Tips for getting started
Top Databases and Portals for Locating Information on Latin America. For a more complete list click on the Find Databases tab above.
A multidisciplinary database that provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles pertinent to the countries and people of the Caribbean region. The collection contains over 730 Caribbean-focused scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports and reference books making this the largest collection of full-text content available for the region.
See these fulltext resources which are available through the Credo General Reference collection:
--Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
--Companion to Latin American Studies
--Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean, 1900-2003
--Pop Culture Latin America! Media,m Arts and Lifestyle
Provides access to the tables of contents of more than 950 journals, in Spanish and Portuguese in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America. Use ILL to obtain articles.
LAPTOC consists of more than 800 academic and research journals published in 29 countries in the region, including bibliographic references to more than 250,000 articles in the area's major languages. Database searches can be made by journal title, keywords in author and article titles, and country of publication. The user can save citations, create bibliographies, and e-mail or download results of searches.
Offers information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to democracy in the Americas.
It offers information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to democracy in the Americas. With more than 1,500 pages of information, it is an important source of relevant to the 35 countries of the region including U.S., Canada, Mexico, Central America, South America and the Caribbean. Information is classified according to the themes: Political Constitutions and Comparative Constitutional Studies; Executive Branch; Legislative Branch ; Judicial Branch; Electoral Data and Systems; Political Parties; Decentralization and Local Governance; Democracy and Citizen Security; Indigenous Peoples, Democracy and Political Participation; Civil Society.
A bilingual space to discuss important news about human rights and peace in Colombia. Several articles are from prominent Colombian organizations and independent journalists. They encourage you to participate by posting comments