Updates and Known Issues
Please check this page for information and updates on Chemistry resources, services, and more.
Access to ChemDraw has been restored!
If you are experiencing any issues with your account, please refer to these instructions: https://dtssupport.usc.edu/support/solutions/articles/7000062233#loaded
Last Updated 8/26/2024
If you have any additional questions, please reach out to:
Jane Lah, Chemistry Librarian - jlah@usc.edu
Science & Engineering Librarians - selibs@lib.usc.edu
Science & Engineering Library - sci@usc.edu
Chemistry Resources Demo Recordings
Thank you for attending the live demonstrations for CAS SciFinder, Web of Science and Reaxys!
Please access the recordings here:
Interested in seeing more demonstrations? Have any questions?
Email jlah@usc.edu
Quick Links
- Chemistry Supplemental Instruction Supplemental Instruction (SI) is an academic support program designed to improve the student's academic success and increase retention. The SI program targets traditionally difficult courses and provides regularly scheduled, peer-led study sessions. These sessions are available to all students enrolled in the class at no cost.
ChemDraw Professional @ USC
Annual License Renewal
USC site licenses require annual renewal. If you have not done so, renew your license by following the steps to download the software and PerkinElmer will send a new license code to you via email.
For New Users:
1. Search for "University of Southern California" at the link below.
2. Register for an account.
3. Download package with the most recent start date.
License Information
All USC faculty, staff, and currently registered students may download ChemDraw Professional software on USC owned and operated computers and laptops, as well as on personal computers for home use. Upgrades to ChemDraw Professional will also be provided during the term of this license agreement. Upon termination of the ChemDraw Professional agreement, all users of the software are obligated to uninstall the software. By downloading the software, you agree to abide by these terms and conditions.
Download Instructions
After clicking the link below, you will enter your USC email address. Then you will be prompted to create a PerkinElmer account. This is a separate account, but you need to use your USC email address to register. Once you have finished registering, you will arrive at the download page. The license information will be emailed to you.
For more details, known issues, and FAQ please visit the ChemDraw Professional tab on the Chemistry Research Guide.
Shortcuts to Commonly Used Resources
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowArticles, patents, and white papers describing chemicals. Includes information on structures, reactions, compounds, drug development, and manufacturing. Requires separate login. Go to USC's create an account page to register.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowA chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data, navigated and displayed via an actionable interface.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowLarge abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowDatabase of dissertations and theses, including more than 1 million available full-text (PDF).
