Pharmacy Liaison Librarian
Amy Chatfield
she/her
Contact:
amychatf@usc.edu
Norris Medical Library
2003 Zonal Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90089-9130
Norris Medical Library
2003 Zonal Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90089-9130
323-442-1128
Website
Subjects: Health Sciences, Pharmacy
This page includes selected guidelines relating to common practice areas, practice settings, and disease states encountered during the PharmD degree.
Guidelines are updated on their own schedules and the most current version may not be linked here. Review the free websites of the groups listed as authors on these guidelines to find newer guidelines.
If the disease state you seek is not listed here, review guidelines published by groups named on this site as this is an effective way to find guidelines for other conditions, diseases, and drugs that are not included here. Or, search databases and other resources to find relevant guidelines: watch this video to learn more.
-
PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
-
Embase This link opens in a new windowEmbase provides access to over more than 29 million citations for biomedical articles and conference proceedings.
-
UpToDate This link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based resource covering multiple medical specialties. Includes topic monographs, patient education, practice updates, drug interactions, guidelines, and medical calculators. To obtain CME, create a personal profile and log in.
Cardiology
-
2018 AHA/ACC/AACVPR/AAPA/ABC/ACPM/ADA/AGS/APhA/ASPC/NLA/PCNA Guideline on the Management of Blood CholesterolThis guideline is very lengthy. This page includes a link to the full guideline and materials to help you interpret and apply the guideline.
-
2014 AHA/ACC Guideline for the Management of Patients With Non–ST-Elevation Acute Coronary SyndromesCirculation. 2014;130:e344-e426.
-
2013 ACCF/AHA Guideline for the Management of ST-Elevation Myocardial InfarctionCirculation. 2013;127:e362-e425.
-
Antithrombotic Therapy and Prevention of Thrombosis, 9th edChest. 2012;141(supp 2). This issue includes 21 separate guidelines that discuss antithrombotic therapy in a variety of different patient groups, with different co-morbid conditions, and in specific practice settings.
-
Cardiovascular Risk Assessment: A Systematic Review of GuidelinesKhanji MY, Bicalho VVS, Waardhuizen CN, Ferket BS, Petersen SE, Hunink MGM. Cardiovascular risk assessment: A systematic review of guidelines. Ann Intern Med. 2016. doi: 10.7326/M16-1110.
-
American College of Cardiology guidelinesThe American College of Cardiology produces many guidelines on all aspects of cardiology.
COPD
Diabetes
-
Summary of revisions: Standards of Medical Care in Diabetes- 2025.If you were familiar with the prior standard, this summary of the changes may be easier and shorter to read than the full standard.
-
Standards of medical care in diabetes- 2025.The annual standards of care for diabetes are produced as a single journal issue. Inside this issue, find 17 standards addressing all aspects of diabetes in all populations.
Dyslipidemia
-
2018 AHA/ACC/AACVPR/AAPA/ABC/ACPM/ADA/AGS/APhA/ASPC/NLA/PCNA Guideline on the Management of Blood CholesterolThis guideline is very lengthy. This page includes a link to the full guideline and materials to help you interpret and apply the guideline.
Gastroenterology
Hematology/Oncology
The National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) is a major creator and provider of evidence-based guidelines. Visit the NCCN Guidelines page and make a free account to access individual guidelines covering treatment; detection, prevention, and risk reduction; supportive care; age-related recommendations; and guidelines in patient-friendly language.
Hypertension
Infectious Disease
-
Practice Guidelines for the Diagnosis and Management of Aspergillosis: 2016 Update by the Infectious Diseases Society of AmericaCln Infect Dis. 2016;63(4):e1-e60
-
Clinical Practice Guideline for the Management of Candidiasis: 2016 Update by the Infectious Diseases Society of AmericaClin Infect Dis. 2016;62(4):e1-e50
-
International clinical practice guidelines for the treatment of acute uncomplicated cystitis and pyelonephritis in womenEuropean Society for Microbiology and Infectious Diseases.Clin Infect Dis. 2011:52(5);e103.
-
CDC Influenza.Click "health professionals" to see recommendations for clinicians. Other portions of this site have useful information for patient counseling.
Neurology
-
Practice Guideline update summary: Efficacy and tolerability of the new antiepileptic drugs I: Treatment of new onset epilepsyKanner AM, Ashman E, Gloss D, et al. Report of the American Epilepsy Society and the Guideline development, dissemination, and Implementation subcommittee of the American American Academy of Neurology. Epilepsy Curr. 2018;18(4):260-268.
-
Evidence-based guideline: intravenous immunoglobulin in the treatment of neuromuscular disordersPatwa HS, Chaudhry V, Katzberg H, Rae-Grant AD, So YT. Evidence-based guideline: intravenous immunoglobulin in the treatment of neuromuscular disorders: report of the Therapeutics and Technology Assessment Subcommittee of the American Academy of Neurology. Neurology. 2012:78(13);1009-1015.
-
Practice guideline update summary: Efficacy and tolerability of the new antiepileptic drugs II: Treatment-resistant epilepsyKanner AM, Ashman E, Gloss D, et al. Report of the American Epilepsy Society and the Guideline development, dissemination, and Implementation subcommittee of the American Academy of Neurology. Epilepsy Curr. 2018:18(4):269-278.
-
Evidence-based guideline update: pharmacologic treatment for episodic migraine prevention in adults.Silberstein SD, Holland S, Freitag F, Dodick DW, Argoff C, Ashman E. Evidence-based guideline update: pharmacologic treatment for episodic migraine prevention in adults: report of the Quality Standards Subcommittee of the American Academy of Neurology and the American Headache Society. Neurology. 2012:78(17);1337-1345.
Professional Practice of Pharmacy
-
Best Practices 2023-2024: Position and Guidance documents of ASHP
Publication Date: 2023ASHP positions and more than 80 ASHP guidance documents of varying scope that provide ongoing advice to practitioners and health systems to help improve the medication-use process, patient care and safety, and patient outcomes and quality of life.
Psychiatry
-
APA GuidelinesThe American Psychiatric Association (APA) is a major producer of practice guidelines providing evidence-based recommendations for the assessment and treatment of psychiatric disorders. View the APA's Guidelines page for additional guidelines in psychiatric care.
-
Canadian Network for Mood and Anxiety Treatments (CANMAT) and International Society for Bipolar Disorders (ISBD) 2018 guidelines for the management of patients with bipolar disorderYatham LN, Kennedy SH, Parikh SV, et al. Bipolar Disord. 2018;20(2):97-170.
-
Sateia MJ, Buysse DJ, Krystal AD, Neubauer DN, Heald JL. Clinical Practice Guideline for the Pharmacological Treatment of chronic insomnia in adults: an American Academy of Sleep Medicine Clinical Practice GuidelineJournal of Clinical Sleep Medicine. 2017. 13(2):307-349.
Toxicology
Many toxicology guidelines focus on specific agents. Search databases for words like acetaminophen, opioid, recreational drug, etc. and limit the results to guidelines to find additional materials.