KEYWORD SEARCHES IN THE RESEARCH DATABASES
The research databases listed below provide a rich and multifaceted array of search results on many aspects of AI in Education as well as its subset: Ai literacy.
Knowing how a specific database uses the terms entered in the search box may make all the difference in your being able to find what you need quickly and effectively. In addition, narrowing your search by selecting "Advanced Search" and by using boolean operators (logical operators like AND, OR, and NOT) to narrow or broaden search results) can also be productive.
For example: AI AND literacy and selecting the Abstract Field to limit the search should narrow your search effectively.
USC Libraries Guides to Help You in Your Searches
A. See the following USC Libraries Guide and Workshop:
--Kelsey Vukic: Searching Solutions: Keywords vs Indexed - Understanding how searching changes from search engine to database. (Research Guide)
--Bridgid Fennell and Kelsey Vukic : AI Literature Mapping Tools . (Slides of Workshop, 26 March 2025). Objectives: After attending this workshop, you will be able to: Explain how to use AI tools to find articles for your literature review; Use a “seed article” to retrieve relevant citations in an AI literature mapping tool; State the capabilities and drawbacks of AI literature mapping tools.
B. The USC Libraries' tutorial Developing Keywords can help you practice identifying potential keywords to search a database.
C. Please Note: if you are unable to access something you know we have, visit: When the Link Doesn't Work
RESEARCH DATABASES for AI LITERACY
- Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracting for articles in more than 100 journals related to the administration of primary, secondary and post-secondary educational facilities and programs. Subjects covered include: personnel, curriculum, school-community relations, supervision, minority group relations, and professional education. Educational levels include: early childhood education, K-12, community colleges, and higher education. Coverage: 2003 to present. Provided by EBSCO.
- Educational Research Abstracts Online This link opens in a new windowEducation Research Abstracts Online (ERA) is a comprehensive database, comprising fully indexed abstracts which cover the current international research in education.
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEducation database (including administration, teaching methods, and curriculum)
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowA full-text database covering all levels of education research and specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing and includes access to over 1,000 active full-text education journals. This database covers AI in education from different perspectives, including: Research on AI's effectiveness: Studies on how AI can improve learning outcomes, student engagement, and teacher workload; Practical applications: Examples of how AI is being used in classrooms and online learning environments; Policy and ethical considerations: Discussions on the implications of AI for education policy and how to ensure responsible use of AI in schools.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
- Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new windowThis collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. It focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, award winners, and more.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFiltered Google Search finding scholarly journal articles, books, citations, and case law.
- Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to hundreds of full-text humanities journals, along with abstracted and indexed journals including Open Access titles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals and books.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the complete content of hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. As of January 2012, Project MUSE has added thousands of university press ebooks to its collection. However, USC does not necessarily have access to all of them via Project MUSE. If you are interested in one of these titles, please search the general library catalog to see if we have access.
- ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new windowSupports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources. Coverage: 1988 - current.
- SAGE Knowledge Video - Education This link opens in a new windowComprised of 140 hours and over 500 videos, this collection offers a practical view into a full range of teaching settings and situations, from early years to educational leadership, to support students needing to understand theory or how to apply it in practice.
