Where to look?
Knowing where to look:
please click here
for an online tutorial
Databases and more
Comprehensive Searches
Search USC Libraries Online Collections for books and articles: USC Libraries: https://libraries.usc.edu
Google Scholar (searches for scholarly books and articles in scholarly journals both in USC Libraries and beyond). Make sure to log in on USC Libraries page before you search it from an off campus location
Individual Databases
ProQuest Multiple Databases (a mutli-disciplinary database with good coverage for scholarly journals and high quality non-scholarly sources such as, for example, Los Angeles Times; New York Times) See under DATABASE QUICKLINKS.
JSTOR: a mutli-disciplinary database with full-text coverage for scholarly journals) See under DATABASE QUICKLINKS.
RECOMMENDATION: Advanced search, and select your discipline and/or journal titles to search. NOTE: It is an archive, so please do not expect recent issues of journals in JSTOR.
Project Muse a mutli-disciplinary database with full-text coverage for scholarly journals. See under DATABASE QUICKLINKS.
More:
MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB)
MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) is an index to scholarly publications in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from over 4000 journals published worldwide. This bibliography is assembled under the auspices of the Modern Language Association, the leading professional association for literature and languages scholars. Mostly citation database, with limited access to full text.
Film and Television Literature
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals an essential tool for film studies, created by the International Federation of Film Archives, indexes more than 300,000 articles from 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward
Streaming Media: feature films, independent films and documentaries.
