General Databases
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowAcademic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch now includes two collections: 1) Ethnic NewsWatch, a current collection (1990-present) of newspapers,magazines and journals from ethnic and minority presses.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals and books.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowMUSE provides access to the complete content (including all images) of nearly 500 current scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Journals
- Kalfou: A Journal of Comparative and Relational Ethnic Studies (Most recent volume unavailable)Kalfou is a scholarly journal focused on social movements, social institutions, and social relations. We seek to build links among intellectuals, artists, and activists in shared struggles for social justice. The journal seeks to promote the development of community-based scholarship in ethnic studies among humanists and social scientists and to connect the specialized knowledge produced in academe to the situated knowledge generated in aggrieved communities. Kalfou is published by Temple University Press on behalf of the University of California, Santa Barbara.
Class Readings
- How Race Is Made in America byPublication Date: 2014-01-01How Race Is Made in America examines Mexican Americans--from 1924, when American law drastically reduced immigration into the United States, to 1965, when many quotas were abolished--to understand how broad themes of race and citizenship are constructed. These years shaped the emergence of what Natalia Molina describes as an immigration regime, which defined the racial categories that continue to influence perceptions in the United States about Mexican Americans, race, and ethnicity.
Relational Formations of Race by Publication Date: 2019-02-26Relational Formations of Race brings African American, Chicanx/Latinx, Asian American, and Native American studies together in a single volume, enabling readers to consider the racialization and formation of subordinated groups in relation to one another. These essays conceptualize racialization as a dynamic and interactive process; group-based racial constructions are formed not only in relation to whiteness, but also in relation to other devalued and marginalized groups.
South Central Dreams: Finding Home and Building Community in South L. A by Publication Date: 2021
Boyle Heights by Publication Date: 2021-05-25The radical history of a dynamic, multiracial American neighborhood. Boyle Heights is an in-depth history of the Los Angeles neighborhood, showcasing the potent experiences of its residents, from early contact between Spanish colonizers and native Californians to the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II, the hunt for hidden Communists among the Jewish population, negotiating citizenship and belonging among Latino migrants and Mexican American residents, and beyond.
Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks by Call Number: Doheny Library - Z471 .B45 2009Publication Date: 2009-01-20
