Foundational Texts
While these may not be referred to directly by faculty, these materials provide foundational information and knowledge for SLP study and practice. The USC Libraries subscribe to or own many other books; search the catalog to find holdings. Use Interlibrary Loan to order books and articles not owned by the USC Libraries.
A Coursebook on Scientific and Professional Writing for Speech-Language Pathology by ISBN: 9781635504019Publication Date: 2024A resource to help students develop the strong writing skills necessary for a successful clinical or academic career in speech-language pathology.
The Handbook of Language and Speech DisordersPublication Date: 2021This encyclopedia provides evidence-based, descriptive chapters succinctly covering the history, research approaches, and current clinical practice for common disorders of language and speech.
Introduction to Clinical Methods in Communication Disorders, Third EditionPublication Date: 2014A core textbook on communication disorders, research methods, and treatment, based on ASHA recommendations and ethical codes.
Medical Speech-Language Pathology: a desk referencePublication Date: 2018"An easily accessible quick reference providing brief definitions, descriptions, and explanations into the vernacular that is integral to those who work in a health care setting."
Medical speech-language pathology : a practitioner's guidePublication Date: 2017Thoroughly covers the pathology of voice, speech, language, cognitive, and swallowing disorders with practical guidance for patient management across the continuum of care.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Human Communication Sciences and DisordersPublication Date: 2019Includes brief entries on medical, psychological, and social issues related to identification, research, and treatment of communication disorders.
The Speech-Language Pathologist's Handbook for Inclusive School PracticesPublication Date: 2014This handbook include background information on goals, purposes, and organization of school speech-language pathology, plus ready-to-use resources like checklists and planning tools.
Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology, Sixth EditionPublication Date: 2019This detailed, evidence-based book includes complete coverage of common disorder characteristics, treatment approaches, information on reporting techniques, and patient profiles across a wide range of child and adult client populations.
Course textbooks
More course textbooks coming soon!
Voice Therapy: Clinical Case Studies (4th ed.) by ISBN: 159756558XPublication Date: 2014For students and practicing clinicians, this text reference is now extensively revised and updated with all new clinical case examples of voice therapy techniques from master clinicians in the field.
- Course Reserves ARESUSC Libraries uses Automated Reserves System (ARES) to manage course reserves including electronic reserves and physical reserve requests for both UPC (University Park Campus) and Health Sciences Campus (HSC) users.