It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This digital collection provides access to a variety of primary sources related to alcohol, temperance, and prohibition. The resource is provided by Brown University Library Center for Digital Scholarship.
Audio recordings of country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, western, old-time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, and shape-note singing. (Alexander Street / ProQuest)
The database includes songs by and aboutAmerican Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
This resource provides a range of visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from over twenty key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organizations. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
These original sources help scholars to explore the history of fifteen major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world. The fifteen commodities explored in this resource are: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, wheat, wine and spirits.
The Michigan State University Library and the MSU Museum presents this online collection of the most important and influential 19th and early 20th century American cookbooks. The digital archive will include page images of 75 cookbooks in the MSU Library's collection as well as searchable full-text transcriptions. The site will also feature a glossary of cookery terms, essays by culinary historian Jan Longone, and multidimensional images of antique cooking implements from the collections of the MSU Museum.
This Rotunda collection provides access to the papers of some of the major figures of the early republic: John Adams, Alexander Hamilton, Andrew Jackson, John Jay, Thomas Jefferson, Dolley and James Madison, John Marshall, Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney Horry, and George Washington.
This online collection also includes access to the Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution and the Founders Early Access project. All of these digital editions present material from published volumes, including editorial annotations and transcriptions of thousands of documents. This subscription collection also provides powerful advanced search features.
Part of the Archive of Americana, this collection contains legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.
The collection enables students and scholars to easily search and browse every legislative and executive document of the first fourteen U.S. Congresses, and more.
The collection has been compiled by consulting a number of bibliographies, including: A Biobibliography of Native American Writers, 1772-1924 by Daniel F. Littlefield, Jr. and James W. Parins Sources for the ethnography of northeastern North America to 1611, by David B. Quinn.
The French image of America: a chronological and subject bibliography of French books printed before 1816 relating to the British North American colonies and the United States by Durand Echeverria and Everett C. Wilkie, Jr. Wagner & Camp's The Plains and the Rockies, a critical bibliography of exploration, adventure and travel in the American West, 1800-1865 Robert Rogers Hubach's Early Midwestern Travel Narratives, An Annotated Bibliography, 1634-1850. Candiana.org, (www.canadiana.org), a full-text online collection that contains documents about Canada's history from the first European contact to the nineteenth century. Bibliography of Native North Americans, Human Relations Area Files, 1976. When complete it will include more than 1,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources, including online resources and microform. Subscribers to the collection are encouraged to participate in the maintenance of this bibliography by calling our attention to omissions, suggesting additions, and notifying us of newly discovered materials.
From feast to famine, explore five centuries of primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production.
Food Studies Online is a first-of-its-kind database, bringing together rare and hard-to-find archival content with visual ephemera, text, and video. Food studies is a relatively new field of study, and its importance is felt in many major disciplines. It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table.
Includes historical nutrition education materials from the federal government, such as posters, recipes, and radio transcripts, as well as current nutrition education materials reviewed by the Dietary Guidance Review Committee.