Recording, Click on "Sign in with SSO," type USC, and login with your USC id and password to view the recording.
The climate crisis is a valid concern for the whole world. Learn how to find background and legislative information on how climate change affects your community. This workshop will also provide an overview of data and statistical library resources related to climate change.
Theme(s): Finding Data
Learning Objective: Explore library databases to find background information related to climate change and locate legislative information.
Recording and slides: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1wgbiZPLEs8QygMY-8RtTrz7jRCldZqTc?usp=sharing
Click on "Sign in with SSO," type USC, and login with your USC id and password to view the recording.
Accessing government data and statistics can be challenging. Learn how to use census tools to easily access demographic, socioeconomic, housing statistics, and business data. This workshop will provide an overview of census surveys, such as the American Community survey and census tools like https://data.census.gov; Household Pulse Survey Interactive Tool; Census Reporter; and Census Business Builder.
Theme(s): Finding Data
Learning Objective: Participants will learn about census surveys and explore publicly available census tools for their research.
Click on "Sign in with SSO," type USC, and login with your USC id and password to view the recording.
Health data is important to advance our knowledge of Covid-19, but also to recognize the effects of a pandemic on businesses, the economy and other services. Scholars, the business sector, and the government utilize health data to determine the health of the U.S. population, health coverage, and health costs that are indicators at the intersection between health and the social sciences. Hence, this workshop will review free sources, along with library resources for U.S. health data and statistics that will be helpful for students, staff and faculty who are new to health research.
Theme(s): Finding Data
Learning Objective: Participants will learn how to access library resources and publicly available resources for health and data and statistics in the United States.
US Census: Past, Present and Future
Click on "Sign in with SSO," type USC, and login with your USC id and password to view the recording.
Where can I find U.S. data? Most likely the answer will be the US Census! This workshop will provide an overview of the history of the Census and historical Census resources. It will also provide information on the transition of Census tools such as the end of American Factfinder to its new platform, data.census.gov. Lastly, understand how Covid-19 impacted the 2020 Census, the first ever-online Census in the United States.
Theme(s): Finding Data
Learning Objective: Participants will learn the history of the Census and explore publicly available census resources and tools and library databases.
Click on "Sign in with SSO," type USC, and login with your USC id and password to view the recording.
Health data is important to advance our knowledge of Covid-19, but also to recognize the effects of a pandemic on businesses, the economy and other services. Scholars, the business sector, and the government utilize health data to determine the health of the U.S. population, health coverage, and health costs that are indicators at the intersection between health and the social sciences. Hence, this workshop will review free sources, along with library resources for U.S. health data and statistics that will be helpful for students, staff and faculty who are new to health research.
Theme(s): Finding Data
Learning Objective: Participants will learn how to access library resources and publicly available resources for health and data and statistics in the United States.
This workshop will give you a brief overview of some tools and resources that you can use to find data and use visualization tools to support your research and provide more context for addressing a social issue like homelessness and enacting change. This workshop will also cover local Los Angeles organizations and resources that work on issues such as, Covid-19, over policing of the homeless population, housing justice and more.
Learning Objective: Participants will be able to independently find and use data to address the social work grand challenge to End Homelessness and promote policy change and understand how to access basic mapping and visualization tools to explore the data.
Theme(s): Finding Data, Visualizing Data
Essential Resources for U.S. Health Data and Statistics for the Social Sciences
Click on "Sign in with SSO," type USC, and login with your USC id and password to view the recording.
Health data is important to advance our knowledge of Covid-19, but also to recognize the effects of a pandemic on businesses, the economy and other services. Scholars, the business sector, and the government utilize health data to determine the health of the U.S. population, health coverage, and health costs that are indicators at the intersection between health and the social sciences. Hence, this workshop will review free sources, along with library resources for U.S. health data and statistics that will be helpful for students, staff and faculty who are new to health research.
Theme(s): Finding Data
Learning Objective: Participants will learn how to access library resources and publicly available resources for health and data and statistics in the United States.
Click on "Sign in with SSO," type USC, and login with your USC id and password to view the recording.
Slides and handouts: https://tinyurl.com/data101fall2020
This interactive workshop will cover the basics of all things data, including the data life cycle, terminologies, public versus restricted data, research methods, and data management at USC.
Theme(s): Finding Data
Learning Objective: Participants will understand the data lifecycle and how to access public data and data and research resources available through USC Libraries.
Keywords: data, open access, datasets
Did you know that USC Libraries subscribes to 3 powerful mapping platforms that offer instant access to a wide range of data from sources such as, census, government agencies, and marketing firms? Moreover, each platform has sophisticated yet amazingly easy ways to produce maps that can be used for presentations and reports. In this workshop we will go over and compare each platform highlighting availability of data and mapping functionalities. Take advantage of these tools while you are a USC student!
Data and Maps: A quick intro to USC Library resources and workshops
Click on "Sign in with SSO," type USC, and login with your USC id and password to view the recording.
Do you work with data or maps? Attend this 30 minute webinar to learn more about USC Libraries resources and upcoming workshops. There will be plenty of time for questions and discussion. All new and returning undergraduates & graduates are welcome!
This QGIS workshop will provide hands-on experience learning the basics of the QGIS desktop software. Using pre-selected data you will learn how to create basic maps, style them, add layers, and generally get comfortable using the software.
This workshop does not require any previous knowledge of QGIS. Workshop will be approximately 1 hour but we will set aside 30 minutes for working with QGIS on your own and discussion/questions.
Download QGIS software from this page. It is recommended that you download the Long Term Release (most stable) for whatever OS you use - https://qgis.org/en/site/forusers/download.html
This workshop will introduce participants to Tableau Desktop. We will use some current datasets from Los Angeles city agencies focusing on unhoused individuals. Participants will walk through how to create some basic visualizations, utilize interactive elements within Tableau, learn how utilize the storyboard platform.
Data used - https://hub.arcgis.com/datasets/50227efa5f6d456eb85d5e7e0dc87ade_0
Click on "Sign in with SSO," type USC, and login with your USC id and password to view the recording.
Where can I find U.S. data? Most likely the answer will be the US Census! This workshop will provide an overview of the history of the Census and historical Census resources. It will also provide information on the transition of Census tools such as the end of American Factfinder to its new platform, data.census.gov. Lastly, understand how Covid-19 has impacted the 2020 Census, the first ever-online Census in the United States.
Theme(s): Finding Data
Learning Objective: Participants will learn the history of the Census and explore publicly available census resources and tools and library databases.
This workshop will be conducted via Zoom. After registration, you will receive the link and password via email one week before the workshop. This session will be recorded.
Introduction to OpenRefine
March 26, 2020, 10am - 11am
Instructor: Eimmy Solis
Have you ever spent hours cleaning a large dataset with excel? This workshop will provide an introduction to OpenRefine, a powerful open source tool for exploring, cleaning and manipulating “messy” data. This workshop will have several hands-on activities and a laptop is required to attend.
Theme(s): Cleaning and Preparing Data
Learning Objective: Participants will learn how to explore and identify patterns in a dataset; normalize data using facets and clusters; manipulate and generate new textual and numeric data; and transform and reshape datasets.
Hack the Census: Census Tools for Developers
March 10, 2020
Instructor: Eric Coyle, Data Dissemination Specialist U.S. Census Bureau
Bonus Recording on using the Census API Extractor in Tableau
Learn how to access to the most up-to-date demographic, socioeconomic, housing, economic, business, and geospatial data directly from the Census Bureau Application Programming Interface (API). The Census Bureau API includes data from the American Community Survey, the Economic Census, County Business Patterns, Quarterly Workforce Indicators, and more!
Presenter: Eric Coyle, Data Dissemination Specialist U.S. Census Bureau
Eric Coyle serves as the Data Dissemination Specialist for the U.S. Census Bureau. He is responsible for building and maintaining relationships with stakeholders through the dissemination of Census data and information. Mr. Coyle’s primary responsibilities are to plan, coordinate, and implement data dissemination, and outreach. He conducts data access workshops and presentations every month to a variety of organizations, local governments, tribal nations, businesses, media, universities, etc.
Census Tool: Longitudinal Employer-Household Dynamics (LED)
March 9, 2020, 2pm
Instructor: Eric Coyle, Data Dissemination Specialist U.S. Census Bureau
This workshop is designed for businesses, local planners and other data users who want to research local workforce and employment trends. The course content will include training on navigating the Longitudinal Employer-Household Dynamics (LEHD) website and explore Local Employment Dynamics (LED) products: QWI Explorer, OnTheMap, OnTheMap for Emergency Management, J2J Explorer and the LED Extraction Tool. These tools allow data users to analyze employment, hiring, job creation and destruction, earnings and much more for workers by industry. The workshop provides users with access to a wealth of time series data pertinent to understanding the local labor market, planning, managing and thriving in a competitive business environment.
Eric Coyle serves as the Data Dissemination Specialist for the U.S. Census Bureau. He is responsible for building and maintaining relationships with stakeholders through the dissemination of Census data and information. Mr. Coyle’s primary responsibilities are to plan, coordinate, and implement data dissemination, and outreach. He conducts data access workshops and presentations every month to a variety of organizations, local governments, tribal nations, businesses, media, universities, etc.
2020 Census Information Session
March 3, 2020, 3-4pm & January 28, 2020, 12-1pm
Instructor: Eimmy Solis
This event will be a presentation on all you need to know about the 2020 Census. Participants will understand the importance of the 2020 Census for the Los Angeles community, how the 2020 Census will be conducted, how to avoid scams, and understand the barriers to counting the LA community. Instructor: Eimmy Solis
Learning Objective: Participants will understand the importance of the 2020 Census; how to fill out the Census; and learn about the Census Data sources available through the USC Libraries.
Finding Los Angeles Neighborhood Data
August 27, 2019, 11-12pm
Instructor(s): Eimmy Solis, Andy Rutkowski
MMR
RSVP
Find neighborhood statistics and data via USC Libraries databases (Social Explorer and SimplyAnalytics) and publicly available tools like the Census American Factfinder [which is transitioning to Data.Census.Gov] and open data portals like City LA.
Theme(s): Finding Data, Visualizing Data
Learning Objective: Participants will understand how to navigate databases and open source data portals to find neighborhood statistics, data and maps.
Keywords: statistics, data, mapping
Maps 101: Intro to Social Explorer, PolicyMap, and SimplyAnalytics
August 28, 2019, 2 - 3pm
Instructor: Andy Rutkowski
MMR
RSVP
Did you know that USC Libraries subscribes to 3 powerful mapping platforms that offer instant access to a wide range of data from sources such as, census, government agencies, and marketing firms? Moreover, each platform has sophisticated yet amazingly easy ways to produce maps that can be used for presentations and reports. In this workshop we will go over and compare each platform highlighting availability of data and mapping functionalities. Take advantage of these tools while you are a USC student!
Learning objective: Understand what data is available via these platforms and learn how to create maps and tables that can be used for research, reports, and presentations.
Keywords: data, mapping
Data 101
Thursday, August 29, 2019, 11-12pm
Instructor: Eimmy Solis
MMR
RSVP
This interactive workshop will cover the basics of all things data, including the data life cycle, terminologies, public versus restricted data, research methods, data management and overview of statistical software available at USC.
Theme(s): Finding Data
Learning Objective: Participants will understand the data lifecycle and how to access public data and data and research resources available through USC Libraries.
Keywords: data, open access, datasets
Introduction to OpenRefine
Tuesday, September 17, 2019, 11-12pm
Instructor: Eimmy Solis
MMR
RSVP
Have you ever spent hours cleaning a large dataset with excel? This workshop will provide an introduction to OpenRefine, a powerful open source tool for exploring, cleaning and manipulating “messy” data. This workshop will have several hands-on activities and a laptop is required to attend.
Theme(s): Cleaning and Preparing Data
Learning Objective: Participants will learn how to explore and identify patterns in a dataset; normalize data using facets and clusters; manipulate and generate new textual and numeric data; and transform and reshape datasets.
Keywords: datasets, data, open source
US Census: Past, Present and Future
Tuesday, October 15, 2019, 11-12pm
Instructor: Eimmy Solis
MMR
RSVP
Where can I find USA data? Most likely the answer will be the US Census! This workshop will provide an overview of the history of the census and historical census resources. It will also provide information on the transition of census tools such as the end of American Factfinder to its new platform, data.census.gov. Lastly, get a sneak peek to the Census 2020 form and the possible implications of the first ever-online census in the United States.
Theme(s): Finding Data
Learning Objective: Participants will learn the history of the census and explore publicly available census resources and tools and library databases.
Census with R
Thursday October 17th, 2019 11-12:30pm
Instructor: Andy Rutkowski
MMR
RSVP
Learn about how to use R to download and visualize census data using the census.gov API.
Theme(s): Finding and Analyzing Data
Learning Objective: Participants will learn how to access census data using R Studio. In addition, you will learn about how to visualize and make maps with that data.
Mapping and Data at your Fingertips! An introduction to SocialExplorer, PolicyMap, and SimplyAnalytics - Monday, Jan 14, 2019, 1pm - 2pm
MMR
RSVP
Did you know that USC Libraries subscribes to 3 powerful mapping platforms that offer instant access to a wide range of data from sources such as, census, government agencies, and marketing firms? Moreover, each platform has sophisticated yet amazingly easy ways to produce maps that can be used for presentations and reports. In this workshop we will go over and compare each platform highlighting availability of data and mapping functionalities. Take advantage of these tools while you are a USC student!
Theme(s): Finding Data
Keywords: data, open access, datasets
Introduction to Data Sources - Thursday, Jan 17th, 2018, 12:30pm - 1:30
MMR
RSVP
Having trouble finding the data you need for your project? This workshop will describe the data landscape and give you tools to learn how to efficiently find data sources to suit your needs.
Learning Objective: Participants will understand how to access publically available data as well as data available through USC Libraries.
Keywords: data, open access, datasets
StoryMaps: What are they and how to get started making them! - Tuesday, Jan 22nd, 2019, 11:00am - noon
MMR
RSVP
Do you think your research might be a candidate for a storymap? Come learn more about how to engage, inspire, and connect with others through a storymap. We will walk through some example storymaps and break down the elements that are needed for you to make your own. We will focus on ESRI’s StoryMap platform but we will also take a look at two other popular alternatives StoryMap.JS and Odyssey.JS.
Theme(s): Visualing Data
Learning Objective: Understand basic elements of a storymap. Learn about different tools and methods for making a storymap.
Keywords: storymaps, ArcGIS Online, Odyssey.js, StoryMap.js
Finding Los Angeles Neighborhood Data - Thursday, Jan 24th, 2019, 11:00am - noon
MMR
RSVP
Find neighborhood statistics and data specifically for Los Angeles via USC Libraries databases (Social Explorer and Simplyanalytics) and publicly available tools like the Census American Factfinder and open data portals like City LA.
Theme(s): Finding Data, Visualizing Data
Learning Objective: Participants will understand how to navigate databases and open source data portals to find neighborhood statistics, data and maps.
Keywords: statistics, data, mapping
Introduction to OpenRefine (Part 1) - Tuesday March 19th, 2019, 10:00pm - 11:30
MMR
RSVP
Have you ever spent hours cleaning a large dataset with excel? This workshop will provide an introduction to OpenRefine, a powerful open source tool for exploring, cleaning and manipulating “messy” data. This workshop will have several hands-on activities and a laptop is required to attend.
Theme(s): Cleaning and Preparing Data
Learning Objective: Participants will learn how to explore and identify patterns in a dataset; normalize data using facets and clusters; manipulate and generate new textual and numeric data; and transform and reshape datasets.
Keywords: datasets, data, open source
OpenRefine using GREL (Part 2) - Wednesday March 20th, 2019, 10:00am - 11:30
MMR
RSVP
This workshop will focus on OpenRefine’s special language called ‘GREL’ (General Refine Expression Language). GREL is Regular Expressions for OpenRefine and will be used to manipulate datasets. This workshop will have several hands-on activities and a laptop is required to attend. It is recommended to attend ‘Introduction to OpenRefine’ (Part 1) prior to attending this workshop.
Theme(s): Cleaning and Preparing Data
Learning Objective: Participants will understand how to use GREL to manipulate datasets in OpenRefine.
Keywords: datasets, data, opensource, regular expressions
Introduction to Python: From Basics to Real-World Datasets
Tuesdays in February - 2/5, 2/12, 2/19, 2/26 all workshops from 11am - noon
MMR
RSVP
This four-part series will provide a great introduction to working with data in Python. From the basic Python environment, to wrangling data using the Numpy package, to plotting with Matplotlib and Seaborn, to more advanced data manipulation using real-world datasets. Check RSVP for more detailed workshop descriptions.
Theme(s): Cleaning and Preparing data, Visualizing data
Learning Objectives: Develop basic literacies in using Python in order to work with data.
Keywords: python, data, datasets
Having trouble finding the data you need for your project? This workshop will describe the data landscape and give you tools to learn how to efficiently find data sources to suit your needs.
Learning Objective: Participants will understand how to access publically available data as well as data available through USC Libraries.
Keywords: data, open access, datasets
Finding Government Data to Support Social Justice - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2018, 10am - 11
VKC MMR
RSVP (Love Data Week)
Want to have hard proof to fight for a social cause? Learn about the data that is collected by the federal government on issues like gay marriage, guns, immigration and homelessness. Gain skills on how to navigate complex online government resources to effectively campaign for your cause.
Learning objective: Participants will be able to independently find publicly available government data to support a social cause and raise awareness of a particular issue.
Keywords: government data, social justice, data
Research Data Management - Wednesday, March 7th, 10am - 11
VKC MMR
RSVP
Learn how to manage your data and discover tools, such as the Open Science Framework, to organize, promote, and preserve your data for future use.
Learning objective: Participants will learn strategies and tools on how to efficiently collect, document, preserve, share and reuse data.
Keywords: data, data management
Digital Mapping Ecosystems - Thursday, March 8th, noon - 1:30
MMR
RSVP
Do you have a mapping project that you want to put online? Learn more about how you can use CARTO, Mapbox, and Github to create and manage your own online digital project.
Learning objective: Understand the basic functionality of these platforms and how they can be used together. Walk away with a basic digital infrastructure in which you can plug-in your own research project.
Keywords: digital mapping, digital humanities, web-mapping, open source
Visualizing Los Angeles - Wednesday, March 14th, 10:00am - 11:30 and Wednesday March 21st, 10:00am - 11:30
MMR
RSVP - March 14th
RSVP - March 21st
In this workshop we will learn more about archival datasets offered through USC and other libraries that are focused on Los Angeles, such as the Los Angeles Time Photo Archive (UCLA), the Wayne Thom Photography Collection (USC), and the Robin Dunitz Mural Collection (USC). Using Palladio and Tableau we will explore these datasets, learning more about them as research data and in turn we will learning more about the tools and what they offer in terms of analysis and visualization.
Learning objective: Learn about various Los Angeles related datasets. Understand the basics steps of preparing data so that it can be used in different software. Learn how to visualize data in Palladio and Tableau.
Keywords: data visualization, Los Angeles, archives, collections as data
Focus on QGIS - Thursday, March 15th, noon - 1:30 and Thursday, March 22nd, noon - 1:30
MMR
RSVP - March 15th
RSVP - March 22nd
This workshop is a basic introduction to QGIS. We will take several datasets, walk through the process of joining them to Los Angeles area geography, and then visualize them. No prior experience with QGIS is necessary.
Learning objective: Learn basic functionality of QGIS. Be able to find, identify, and use relevant GIS data for research.
Keywords: QGIS, GIS, mapping, shapefiles, spatial join
Introduction to Data Sources - Wednesday, August 22, 2018, 11am-12pm
MMR
RSVP
Having trouble finding the data you need for your project? This workshop will describe the data landscape and give you tools to learn how to efficiently find data sources to suit your needs.
Learning Objective: Participants will understand how to access publically available data as well as data available through USC Libraries.
Keywords: data, open access, datasets
Introduction to OpenRefine - Wednesday, August 29th, 2018 10:30am - noon
MMR
RSVP
Have you ever spent hours cleaning a large dataset with excel? This workshop will provide an introduction to OpenRefine, a powerful open source tool for exploring, cleaning, and manipulating "messy" data. This workshop will have several hands-on activities and a laptop is required to attend.
Learning Objective: Participants will learn how to explore and identify patterns in a dataset; normalize data using facets and clusters; manipulate and generate new textual and numeric data; transform and reshape datasets.
Keywords: datasets, data, open source.
Finding Los Angeles Neighborhood Data - Wednesday, September 5, 2018, 11-12pm
MMR
RSVP
Find neighborhood statistics and data via USC Libraries databases (Social Explorer and Simplyanalytics) and publicly available tools like the Census American Factfinder and open data portals including Los Angeles Open Data.
Learning Objective: Participants will understand how to navigate databases and open source data portals to find neighborhood statistics, data and maps.
Keywords: statistics, data, mapping
Mapping with CARTO and Mapbox, Thursday, September 13, 2018, 11-12:30pm
MMR
RSVP
This workshop will walk you through how to use Carto and Mapbox together to create interactive and compelling maps using a variety of data.
Learning objective: Understand the basic functionality of these platforms and how they can be used together. Understand how to use and find GIS data. Walk away with a basic digital infrastructure in which you can plug-in your own research project.
Keywords: digital mapping, digital humanities, web-mapping, open source
Homelessness: Finding Data and Using it to Promote Policy Change - Thursday, September 20, 2018, 11:30-12:30pm
Montgomery Ross Fisher Building (MRF) Hamovitch, 1st Floor
RSVP
Want to learn how to find and integrate data from sources such as foster care and healthcare systems to investigate the risk factors of homelessness and promote policy change? Gain skills on navigating data resources to effectively approach the social work grand challenge to end homelessness. Learn about basic mapping and visualization tools that will help you explore the data that you find.
Learning Objective: Participants will be able to independently find and use data to address the social work grand challenge End Homelessness and promote policy change in that area.
Keywords: statistics, data, homelessness, healthcare, housing
Visualizing Los Angeles with Tableau, Tuesday, September 25th, 2018, 11-12:30pm
AFA Merendino Room
RSVP
In this workshop we will learn more about archival datasets offered through USC’s Digital Library, including the Wayne Thom Photography Collection, the Architectural Teaching Slide Collection, and the Robin Dunitz Mural Collection. Using Palladio and Tableau we will explore these datasets, learning more about them as research data and in turn we will learning more about the tools and what they offer in terms of analysis and visualization. *Please note this workshop takes place at the Art and Architecture Library’s Merendino Room.
Learning objective: Learn about various Los Angeles related datasets. Understand the basics steps of preparing data so that it can be used in different software. Learn how to visualize data in Palladio and Tableau.
Keywords: data visualization, Los Angeles, archives, collections as data
Introduction to SPSS - Wednesday, October 24, 2018, 11am - 1pm
MMR
RSVP
This workshop will provide a basic overview of SPSS. Participants will understand how to access SPSS and how it compares to other statistical software like STATA, R, etc. Participants will learn how to import a file and view data; analyze data; and create basic graphs. This workshop will have hands-on activities and a laptop is required to attend. Required: Please have SPSS already installed on your computer before attending the workshop.
Learning Objective: Participants will comprehend how to access SPSS and import data for analysis.
Keywords: statistics, dataset, statistical package
Introduction to R and data visualization - Tuesday, December 4th, 2018, 11am - 1pm
MMR
RSVP
This workshop will be a basic introduction to using R for data visualizations.
Learning Objective: Be able to use R for basic data visualizations.
Keywords: R, Rstudio, data visualization