USC Libraries
Google Scholar
Scholarly Sources
- ProQuestDatabases of resources for arts, business, humanities, social sciences, science and newspaper resources.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- JSTORA growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals and books.
Popular Sources
- Scientific AmericanScientific American publishes in-depth feature articles, timely news stories, expert opinion and commentary, podcasts, videos, multimedia, photo features and other forms of storytelling. In addition to our monthly flagship magazine and pieces published daily on our website, we produce special Collector’s Editions, the digital magazines Mind, Space & Physics and Health & Medicine, ebooks and other products. We also host live events and webinars featuring a diversity of experts and journalists who share their knowledge about current events the way that science and scholarly inquiry enhance our understanding of the world and shape our lives.
- New York TimesFull-text coverage, 1980-present, of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.
- Los Angeles TimesFull-text major daily newspaper from Los Angeles. With the nation's largest editorial department, it offers extensive coverage of national, international, and local news. Coverage: 1985-current.
- Wall Street JournalThe Wall Street Journal was founded in July 1889. Ever since, the Journal has led the way in chronicling the rise of industries in America and around the world. In no other period of human history has the planet witnessed changes so dramatic or swift. The Journal has covered the births and deaths of tens of thousands of companies; the creation of new industries such as autos, aerospace, oil and entertainment; two world wars and numerous other conflicts; profound advances in science and technology; revolutionary social movements; the rise of consumer economies in the U.S. and abroad; and the fitful march of globalization.
Free Online Newspapers
USC students, faculty, and staff may be eligible for free subscriptions to the digital editions of select newspapers. Offers are available to current USC affiliates.
New York Times
The USC Graduate Student Government offers free NY Times digital subscriptions to USC all students. Complete this form to start your NY Times subscription. Graduate students are eligible for complimentary NY Times Games access.
Los Angeles Times
As part of USC’s sponsorship of the LA Times Festival of Books, all students, faculty and staff are eligible for a free one-year subscription to the Los Angeles Times.
The trial offer includes unlimited access to latimes.com, as well as the LA Times app for mobile and tablet. In addition to award-winning storytelling, investigative reports, local news and commentary, this subscription includes early access to select LA Times podcasts, video series and special news projects, as well as subscriber-only editorial content.
Wall Street Journal
USC Libraries provides USC affiliates a free digital subscription to the Wall Street Journal. New users are required to create an individual user account using their USC email address. Refer to USC Libraries Wall Street Journal guide for details and to start your digital subscription.