Web Resources
- An Evening with Isabel Allende: A USC Visions & Voices Signature Event RSVP for the event here. Tickets are free to students, faculty and staff.
- Visions and Voices Web Site The USC Arts and Humanities Initiative.
- Isabel Allende's Official Website Books, Roots, Curiosities, and The Foundation.
Quick Basic Search
Beyond USC: Search Other Book Databases
- WorldCat Database
Search for Isabel Allende as an author or subject and search her works by title in English or Spanish. Contains materials held by libraries around the world.
Introduction
Chilean American, Isabel Allende, arrived in the United States when her first novel La casa de los espiritus (House of the Spirits) became a bestseller. Her international stature has remained firmly established with her later novels and she is one of the most widely read Latin American writers in this country. (see Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States: Literature and Art, p 353)
Allende's official website provides more information on her books and is available in the box on the left side of this guide.
Contents on this page will assist you in getting started with
I. searching selected databases and
II. with print and electronic sources of biographical and bibliographical information on Isabel Allende.
Getting Started I: Search Key Databases
Check these databases for books and articles by and about Isabel Allende.
- HAPI Online: The Database of Latin American Journal Articles Search for articles and book reviews related to Isabel Allende's works. Articles mainly in English, Spanish or Portuguese.
- HOMER USC Libraries online catalog. Find books by or about the author by searching "Allende, Isabel".
- JSTOR Articles in English language scholarly journals. Search can be limited to journals in languages and literatures and to Latin American studies journals.
- Latin American Periodicals Tables of Content (LAPTOC) Search Isabel Allende by "keyword" in this database to find many articles not indexed in other databases. Most are in Spanish.
- MLA Bibliography Index to scholarly publications in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4000 journals and series published worldwide. Indexing only: no full text.
Getting Started II : Find Bio-bibliographical Information
Consult these general reference sources for bio-bibliographical information on Isabel Allende.
- Latina and Latino voices in literature: lives and works. - Day, Frances Ann.
Call Number: Doheny or Leavey Z1229.H57D3 2003 - Making it in America : a sourcebook on eminent ethnic Americans - Barkan, Elliott Robert.
Call Number: Doheny Reference E184.A1M263 2001 - Spanish American Authors: The Twentieth Century
Call Number: Boeckmann Reference PQ7081.3.F57 1992
See page 27-30 for biographical information and comentary on her works. - Contemporary Hispanic Biography. vol. 1 [electronic resource]
This is an electronic book in the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Find the link in the HOMER online catalog record. - Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States, 4.vol.
Call Number: Boeckmann and Leavey E184.S75H365 1993 v.1-v.4
[1] Literature and art / edited and introduced by Francisco Lomelí -- [2] History / edited by Alfredo Jiménez -- [3] Sociology / edited by Félix Padilla -- [4] Anthropology / edited by Thomas Weaver.
Librarian, Latin American Studies |
Barbara RobinsonDoheny Memorial Library 250
(213) 821-2261
Send Email
Subjects:
Spanish and Portuguese; Latin American Studies; History: Latin America; Chicano and Latino Studies



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait