This is the "Home" page of the "Government Information *" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Information *   Tags: core_subject_guides  

This site lists links to databases and scholarly web sites that support access to and analysis of government information.
Last Updated: Jan 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/govdocs Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Resources for Basic Background Information

This database enables you to search the contents of handbooks, encyclopedias, and other reference books in a variety of subjects.

 

USC Library Catalogs

The library catalogs list materials owned by the USC Libraries and the libraries for Law and Health Sciences.

 

Saving Your Citations

  • Organize and store your citations
  • Share your citations with other researchers
  • Create quick bibliographies
  • Access your citations online from anywhere

 For more information go here.

 

Introduction

Federal Resources

The University of Southern California is one of the oldest federal depository collections in Southern California, having been a selective federal depository for government documents since 1932. The federal depository collection is a broad based multidisciplinary set of print and digital resources selected to support the curriculum and research needs of USC faculty, researchers, and students and the information needs of the general public. The core collection consists of over 500,000 monographs and serials, CD-ROMs, video tapes, and online resources; in addition, there are over 1,000,000 microfiche in the collection. The collection is especially rich in Congressional materials. Additional government documents are housed in specialized subject libraries and Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library, the main campus library. The print and microfiche collection is housed in the off-campus Grand Avenue Library and is accessed through HOMER (USC's online catalog), which allows our user community and the general public to request items either online or manually. In addition, walkup access to the collection is provided 10:00am - 2:00pm, Monday-Friday. All documents except those designated as reference or as serials, circulate for four weeks to USC faculty, staff, and students. Non-USC users may use materials in the library.

Access Policy: The general public is welcome to use materials in the library. Federal depository law guarantees free and unimpeded access to the collection (44 U.S.C. § 1911), however, there is a fee charged for photocopying materials. To access online electronic publications and electronic databases, the Library maintains public terminals meeting the Recommended Specifications for Public Access Workstations in Federal Depository Libraries.

California State Documents

The USC Libraries have been a depository for California State documents since 1947. The collection consists of publications of selected state agencies, and the executive and legislative branches. The types of publications collected emphasize public policy issues, especially budgetary and planning documents, statistical compilations and reports, analytical and investigative reports from the Legislative Analyst's Office, and Legislative hearings. Most of the collection is cataloged and appears in Homer, the library's on-line catalog. The core California collection is housed in Grand Avenue Library, an off campus site. Except for selected reference materials and journals, it is a circulating collection that can be paged electronically via Homer. Items in the collection that do not appear in the online catalog may be accessed through special indexes in the Von KleinSmid Center Library. Most California government agencies, as well as the executive, judicial, and legislative branches of state government, provide digital access to their current publications and resources.

European Union Regional Depository Collection

The VKC Library is the regional depository in Southern California for all materials produced by the European Union. The collection is part of a network of depository libraries intended to give Americans access to all official publications of the EU. The Library automatically receives one copy of most EU books, statistical reports and journals. The official publications contain information ranging from policy developments in all sectors of EU activity to statistics on trade, demographics, agriculture, transport, energy and economic indicators. Of particular importance is the Official Journal of the European Union, the EU equivalent of the United States Federal Register. The depository collection also contains legislative proposals and communications of the Commission in their original, "COM," document form, reports and debates of the European Parliament, Opinions of the European Economic and Social Committee, and decisions of the European Court of Justice.

 

Political Science / International Relations Librarian

Profile Image
Dr. Robert V. Labaree
Contact Info
Von KleinSmid Center Library for International and Public Affairs
213-740-5824
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sherry Mosley
Contact Info
VKC Library, Room 38A
3518 Trousdale Parkway
Los Angeles, CA 90089
(213)740-8810
smosley@usc.edu
Send Email
 
* Asterisk in guide title indicates core subject guide
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip