Skip to main content

POSC 130g: Law, Politics, and Public Policy: News Coverage and Research Databases

News Coverage

These databases access news sources and can be used to measure the impact of a court decision or regulatory ruling through the coverage it received in the media.

Access World News -- comprehensive news collection for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.

Los Angeles Times -- offer full-text coverage from 1985 to the present.

New York Times -- offers full-text coverage from 1980 to the present.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

Research Databases

Listed below are databases that provide access to resources that support research in administrative and regulatory law, public policy, and judicial affairs.


Google Scholar -- academic side of Google's search engine. Tips for effectively using the database can be found here.

JSTOR --  an archive of core, full-text journals in the  social sciences, humanities, and sciences.

ProQuest -- a database that simultaneously searches hundreds of subject areas, indexes thousands of scholarly journal articles as well as major newspapers and magazines.


ProQuest Congressional -- indexes and abstracts a broad spectrum of Congressional publications, including hearings (testimony), committee prints, reports, documents, and full text of bills and public laws.

Public Administration Abstracts -- provides information on public administration-related publications worldwide covering such areas as administration and economy, administration and politics, administration and society, administrative structures and organization, public and social services, public service personnel, and theory and method.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts -- provides indexing of the international journal literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Over 1,700 titles are monitored for coverage and, of these, 67% are published outside of the United States.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.