Skip to main content

POSC 437: Mass Media and Politics: Background Information and Media Coverage

Research guide for students enrolled in POSC 437.

Background Information and Identifying a Issue

Obtaining a broad overview or background information from books, government documents, and other materials about your topic can be found using the USC Libraries catalog.

The following databases can help you search for literature that identifies and describes national, state, or local political topics.

  • CQ Researcher -- in-depth, unbiased coverage of the political and public policy aspects of healthcare, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the economy, and much more. Reports are published 44 times a year.
  • Economist Intelligence Unit [EIU] Country Reports -- a source of business intelligence on political and economic trends in 200 countries from 1996 to the present. An overall profile of each country is provided annually and a current report is produced quarterly. Both include current detailed statistics.
  • Facts on File -- brings together an archival record of domestic and international news, updated weekly and containing more than one million internal hyperlinks and new features such as tabbed search results. The contents cover all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

Media Coverage

These databases can help you identify topics to investigate as well as help you assess how the media has covered a particular political topic.

  • Access World News -- comprehensive news collection for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national, and international level. Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts, and videos.
  • Global Newsstream -- enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the United States, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
  • LEXIS/NEXIS Academic -- full-text database of legal and news resources, including major newspapers and transcripts from television news programs.
  • ProQuest Newsstand -- provides access to the full-text of over 1,300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. Archives go back to the late 1970's for some newspapers. Similar to Access World News but not quite as comprehensive.
  • Vanderbilt Television News Archive -- television news archive that provides access to evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and NBC since 1968 and an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).

Listed below are full-text databases for individual newspapers:

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.