Skip to main content

Los Angeles and Southern California *: USC Archival Collections

USC's Regional History Special Collections, A-Z

Abolish Cross Filing in California Papers of the group formed to advocate abolishing thepractice in California of candidates cross-filing in elections.

Alphonzo Bell
Papers of Alphonzo Bell, U.S. Congressman, 1961-1977. 

Bunker Hill Redevelopment Project
Papers related to the Bunker Hill Redevelopment Project in Los Angeles, California.

California Hands Across America
Papers of the California leg of Hands Across America, a benefit event staged on May 25, 1986 in which millions of people held hands for fifteen minutes.

California Historical Society
On long-term loan from the California Historical Society. Prints and negatives of the TICOR and Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce collections. Manuscript materials from the Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce.

Catherine Stern Collection
Papers related to her work with the Los Angeles County Commission on Human Relations, Community Relations Conference of So. Cal., KCET, the U. S. Commission on Civil Rights, and other civic, educational, and artistic organizations.

Century Freeway
Papers related to the planning and building of the Century Freeway in Los Angeles, California.

Chet Holifield
Papers of Chester Earl Holifield (1903-1995), U.S. Congressman, 1943-1975.

Christopher Commission/Independent Commission
Papers of the Christopher Commission. The commission, headed by attorney Warren Christopher was created to conduct "a full and fair examination of the structure and operation of the LAPD," including its recruitment and training practices, internal disciplinary system, and citizen complaint system. This was following the videoptaped beating of Rodney G. King by policement in 1991, the subsequent acquittal and civil disturbance in Los Angeles, California.

Citizens Committee to Save Elysian Park
Founded in 1965 to organize public and official awareness and to raise support to preserve Elysian Park land as public open space, and to develop it for the recreational activities.

Craig Hosmer
Papers of Craig Hosmer (1915 - 1982), U.S. Congressman, 1953-1974.

David Rose Papers
Papers and original artwork of David Rose, renowned courtroom sketch artist.

Edmund G. Brown, Jr. Archives of former California Governor Jerry Brown (1936 - ).

Ernst Matray
Hungarian born choreographer and director who worked in Hollywood 1933-1955.

Eugene Biscailuz
Photographic scrapbooks of Eugene Biscailuz (1883 – 1969), Sheriff of Los Angeles County, 1932-1958.

Frank Lanterman
Papers of Frank Lanterman (1902 - 1981), California Assemblyman, 1965-1978.

Gregory Freeman Stone
Collected materials of the Robert F. Kennedy assassination.

Hearst Collection - Los Angeles Examiner, Los Angeles Express
Photographs and clippings morgue from the Examiner, late 1920s - 1961; negatives from the Examiner 1951 - 1961; bound volumes of the Los Angeles Express 1872 – 1899.

Homefront
Research, administrative materials, audiotape interviews, and film reels from a project by the USC Department of History for a book and a ninety minute television special for PBS entitled The Homefront.

Household Survey, 1939
The 1939 Works Progress Administration comprehensive household survey of the Los Angeles area.

Houston Flournoy
California State Controller, 1967-1975.

Institute for the Study of Homelessness and Poverty Collection
Publications from the Institute for the Study of Homelessness and Poverty at the Weingart Center, Los Angeles.

John Rousselot
Papers of John Rousselot (1927 – 2003), U.S. Congressman, 1970-1983.

K. Garrison Clarke Collection: Scenes of Southern California 1948-1975
Approximately 130 4X5 black and white prints in one binder, and on a CD. Includes images of Los Angeles, Inglewood, Thousand Oaks, and Baja California. Donated by Mr. Clarke

KNXT Channel 2
Press Releases 1961 - 1962

Larchmont Chronicle, 1963 - 1995
Bound volumes of the newspaper, serving residents of Hancock Park, Windsor Square and the Wilshire District

Lillian I. Allard Collection of Historic Pictures of California
A collection of approximately 800 vintage post cards of Southern California, arranged geographically in seven scrapbooks. Donated by Mrs. Allard's son, USC alumnus Frank A. Allard.

Los Angeles Board of Education
Papers related to Crawford v. LAUSD to end segregation in the district.

Los Angeles City Directories, 1888 - 1988

Los Angeles Press Photographers Association
Yearbooks, 1952 -1988.

Los Angeles Theater
Notes, lists, clippings documenting the history of theater in Los Angeles

Los Angeles Union Station Collection
Papers, reports, blueprints of the planning and construction phases of the project, between 1930 and 1940. 

Lynn Schenck
U.S. Congresswoman, 1993-1995, Chief of Staff for Governor Gray Davis, 1999.

Michael Several Papers
Research materials focusing on public art in Los Angeles.

Paul Christopher Collection of Studio Portraits and Outdoor Scenes Taken by Carl W. Knight, 1920s-1970s
The collection includes black and white prints and negatives of portraits and scenic views of Missouri and Southern California. Donated by former USC University Archivist, Paul Christopher

R.R. Spear Collection
Approximately 30 sketches and blueprints created by Spear of single family dwellings built in the Athens area of South-Central Los Angeles, 1910-1930.

Ralph Story's L.A.
130 reels of out-takes. Ralph Story's Los Angeles aired from 1964-1970 on the local CBS affiliate KNXT (now KCBS).

Robert Reese
Office of Municipal Research, Los Angeles

Saunders/Boelsems Collection
Film of Muscle Beach, Santa Monica, shot by Russell M. Saunders, one of the star performers there. He was also a renowned stunt man and doubled for many of Hollywood's most famous actors.

Scribes
Rosters, minutes, by-laws, members' correspondence, 1926-55, from the exclusive newspaperman's club (founded 1897) in Los Angeles.

Southern California Rapid Transit
Fiscal and planning documents, special reports of the regional agency, 1967-69.

Thomas Rees
Papers of Thomas Rees (1925 - ), U.S. Congressman, 1965-1976.

Union Pacific
Materials related to the Union Pacific Railroad generated in the 40s and 50s as part of the Tidelands controversies, concerning the Los Angeles / Long Beach / Wilmington harbor areas.

Webster Commission Records
Chaired by William Webster, the Webster Commission studied the causes and effects of the April 1992 Los Angeles civil unrest.

Whittington Collection
Photographs and negatives from the "Dick" Whittington Studio, one of the largest and finest photography studios in the Los Angeles area from the mid-1920's to early 1980's.

Women's Suffrage (Amy Ransome Coll.)
National Suffrage Bulletin, 1897-1901; material connected with Sarah Ware Whitney, editor of the Women’s Standard in Waterloo, Iowa; correspondence and organizational material from the Iowa Equal Suff

Yvonne Brathwaite Burke
Papers of Yvonne Brathwaite Burke (1932 - ). U.S. Congresswoman, 1973-1979 and member of the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors, 1992-2008.

Materials related to Los Angeles and Southern California are available in USC Special Collections, which includes the Regional History Collection, the Boeckmann Center, University Archives and others. Other USC Libraries, including the Art and Architecture and Cinematic Arts Libraries also hold materials related to Los Angeles. For non-USC resources select the “Other Archival Collections” tab above.