Skip to main content

Cinematic Arts *: Performing Arts

The Cinematic Arts Library is located on the ground floor of the Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library. The Cinematic Arts Collection supports teaching and research through the Doctoral and post-graduate levels.

Contact Info

Sandra Garcia-Myers
Director of Archival Collections
Phone: (213) 740-8383
 
Location
Doheny Memorial Library, G4
3550 Trousdale Parkway
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0185

Overview

The Cinema Library’s Archives of Performing Arts contains the studio collections of MGM, Universal Studios, Twentieth Century-Fox, Hal Roach, Republic Pictures and Carolco Pictures, and, in an affiliated collection, the complete Warner Bros. Archives. Additionally the archive contains the papers and materials of some 300 individual practitioners of the art of the motion picture. Included are such varied materials as scripts, production records, memos and correspondence, stills, scrapbooks, pressbooks, sketches and drawings, music scores, editing notes and much more, reflecting the diversity of artistry in the fields of film and television. Over the years, members of the Hollywood community, such as directors Robert Wise and George Cukor; agent Stanley Musgrove; composers Dimitri Tiomkin, Alfred Newman, and Maurice Jarre; and actors Clark Gable, Edward G. Robinson and Burt Lancaster campaigned to enhance the library’s collection of primary resource materials devoted to motion pictures and television.

Collections List

Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Library Lewis, Burton
AFI Script Collection Lewis, Jerry
Aherne, Brian Lewis, Milton
Ahn, Philip Lipstone, Lewis R.
Allen, Steve Lord, Jack
Anhalt, Edward MacKenzie, Elizabeth
Anthony, John J. Mann, Ahby
Audley, Eleanor Marion, Frances
Backus, Jim Martin, Ross
Bainter, Fay Matray, Ernst
Band Music May, Billy
Bergen, Edgar Mayo, Virginia
Bickford, Charles MGM Cartoon Music Collection
Bolger, Ray MGM Film Scripts
Boyle, James MGM Music Collection
Brahm, John MGM Production Department Files
Burke, Billy MGM Scripts
Burns, Ronnie MGM TV Scripts
Burton, Jay Milius, John
Candid Camera Moore, Ron
Carlock, Marvin and Mary Motion Picture Patent Materials
Carolco Publicity Photo Collection Motion Picture Soundtrack
Carr, Alan Newman, Alfred
Clatworthy, Robert Norris Collections
Clipping Files Norris, Jean
CNN Film/Television Files Oakie, Jack
Cole, Nat King Olson, Ole
Comic Book Collection Pacific Pioneer Broadcasters
Connors, Chuck Paramount Research Stills
Cooper, Gladys Parker Advertising
Cotton, Joseph Parsons, Louella
David, Mack Pasternak, Joe
Davis, Elias Pearce, Alice
Davis, Luther Personality Files
Defore, Don Playbills
Dekker, Albert Polaire, Hal
Devine, Andy Polan, Dana
DeWolfe, Billy Pommer, Erich
Dieterle, William Powers, Sally
Doniger, Walter Pressbook Collection
Doolittle, James Radio Script Collection
Duning, George Radnitz, Robert
Dunne, Irene Raskin, Ruby
Dunne, Philip Reagan, Neil
Durante, Jimmy Records from Various Collections
Duryea, Dan Redford, J. A. C.
Eddy, Nelson Republic Pictures Collection
Edens, Roger Reynolds, Adeline De Walt
Film Facts Reynolds, Dyer
Fine, Morton Riesenfeld, Hugo
Fisch, Al Roach, Hal
Fleischer, Richard Roberts, Marty
Flood Damaged Materials (Norris) Robinson, Edward G.
Florey, Robert Romero, Cesar
Folio Materials (Misc.) Rose, David
Ford, Helen Rosenberg, E. J.
Foster, David Sale, Richard
Freed, Arthur Sardonis, Steve
Freiberger, Fred Schaefer, William and Margaret
Fritz, Ken Scheuer, Stanley
Gable, Clark Segal, Alec
Garrison, Greg Seltzer, Walter
General Service Studios Shagan, Steve
Glucksman, Ernest Shearer, Norma
Goldsmith, Stan Sheet Music
Goodman, Hal; Klein, Larry Sheldon, Sidney
Gordon, Al Shepard, David
Gordon, Bernard Sisk, Robert
Gosden, Freeman; Correll, Charles Slide, Anthony
Grauman, Walter Small, Edward
Greenwood, Charlotte Squire, Richard
Hajos, Karl Stahl, John
Hamner, Robert Stern, Leonard
Harnell, Joe Stern, Stewart
Hellinger, Mark Stills/Lobby Cards
Higham, Charles Stone, Andrew
Hollywood Classics Videos Stromberg Jr., Hunt
Hollywood Museum Collection Susskind, David
Hollywood Reporter Technicolor Library
Houston Poster Collection Tiomkin, Dimitri
Humphrey, Hal Tokar, Norman
Jarre, Maurice Turner/MGM Scripts
Jeffries, Fran UCLA Radio Collection
Jerry's Re-Run Video Collection Udoff, Yale
Jolley, Stan Universal
Julien, Mac University Film Association Archives
Kanter, Bernard Victor, David
Kaufman, Millard Vidor, King
Klynn, Herb Vidor, King
Knight, Arthur Vogel, Virgil
Kovacs, Ernie Wald, Jerry
Krizman, Serge Warner, Jack L.
L.A. Department of Parks and Recreation Radio Collection Wayne, John
Lang, Fritz Weddle, David
Laurie Jr., Joe Weingarten, Lawrence
Leader, Anton Weisbart, David
Lehman, Ernest Wilbur, Crane
Lerner, Irving Windsor, Claire
Lesser, Sol Wise, Robert
Levant, Oscar Wolper, David
Lewin, Albert Wray, Fay
Lewis, Arthur Zamecnik, John